The fact that successful board games receive digital adaptations is now more of a standard than a surprise. Now it is Alexander Pfister's Maracaibo turn. The developers at Spiral Burst Studios have announced this. Accordingly, Maracaibo will appear as a digital board game for mobile devices with the iOS or Android operating system before the end of this year, probably in the fourth quarter.


Alexander Pfister, the man behind board games like Great Western Trail or Blackout: Hong Kong, is also the man behind the board game Maracaibo, which was published in 2019 by dlp Games in Germany. Now the strategy game is getting a digital offshoot which, according to Spiralburst Studio, should be a “complete adaptation”, ie a 1: 1 implementation of the successful concept.

Maracaibo digital comes with tutorial and Automa-AI

The developers at Spiralburst Studio use the advantages that digital 1: 1 adaptations bring with them, including a detailed tutorial that introduces new players in particular to the rules. Alexander Pfister's board game Maracaibo is set with its theme in the Caribbean of the 17th century. Players slip into the roles of sailors and sail across the Caribbean Sea to deliver goods to ports. In this way, they earn money from different nations and increase their influence.

The idea is not just focused on the trade in goods. For example, players can upgrade their ship to run tours more efficiently. In addition, pirates have to be fended off. The gameplay is based on playing cards to move the ship from town to town. The real highlight of the board game, which lasts four rounds per game, is that there are several ways to win. Each player has around 45 minutes of playing time - depending on the length of their actions within the round.

As a digital version, Maracaibo should play like the original. Copyright: Spiralburst Studio

As a digital version, Maracaibo should play like the original. Copyright: Spiralburst Studio

According to Spiralburst Studio, the Maracaibo app was developed in close cooperation with Alexander Pfister and the publisher. As in the template, one to four players set sail on their trading barge, either in a standard mode or in a campaign. In any case, there will be a “pass and play” function, so you will be able to play with friends by handing over your smartphone or tablet for the next move. The solo game should be possible in three different difficulties via Automa-AI.

“Maracaibo Digital” will be released for Apple's iOS and Google Android, probably in the fourth quarter of 2020. It is not known whether a PC version will also be available - at least there is no corresponding announcement. Information and the opportunity to subscribe to a newsletter are available at maracaiboapp.com.


Offers board games video games gaming discounts

Author

Dass erfolgreiche Brettspiele digitale Adaptionen erhalten, ist mittlerweile eher Standard als Überraschung. Nun ist Alexander Pfisters Maracaibo an der Reihe. Das haben die Entwickler von Spiral Burst Studios bekannt gegeben. Demnach erschein Maracaibo als digitales Brettspiel für mobile Endgeräte mit den Betriebssystem iOS oder Android noch in diesem Jahr, voraussichtlich im vierten Quartal.


Alexander Pfister, der Mann hinter Brettspiele wie Great Western Trail oder Blackout: Hong Kong, ist eben auch der Mann hinter dem Brettspiel Maracaibo, das hierzulande im Jahr 2019 im Verlag dlp Games erschienen ist. Nun bekommt das Strategiespiel einen digitalen Ableger, der laut Spiralburst Studio eine „komplette Adaption“ sein soll, also eine 1:1-Umsetzung des erfolgreichen Konzepts.

Maracaibo digital kommt mit Tutorial und Automa-KI

Die Entwickler bei Spiralburst Studio nutzen die Vorteile, die digitale 1:1-Adaptionen mit sich bringen, unter anderem ein ausführliches Tutorial, das insbesondere neuen Spielern das Regelwerk näherbringt. Alexander Pfisters Brettspiel Maracaibo ist mit seinem Thema angesiedelt in der Karibik des 17. Jahrhunderts. Spieler schlüpfen in die Rollen von Matrosen und schippern so über das Karibische Meer, um Waren in Häfen zu liefern. Auf diese Weise machen sie sich verdient bei unterschiedlichen Nationen und steigern ihren Einfluss.

Nicht allein der Warenhandel steht im Fokus der Idee. So können Spieler etwa ihr Schiff aufrüsten, um Touren effizienter zu fahren. Zudem müssen Piraten abgewehrt werden. Das Spielprinzip basiert darauf, Karten auszuspielen um das Schiff von Stadt zu Stadt zu bewegen. Der eigentliche Clou des Brettspiels, das pro Partie vier Runden dauert, ist, dass es mehrere Wege zum Sieg gibt. Rund 45 Minuten Spielzeit entfällt auf jeden Spieler – abhängig von der Länge seiner Aktionen innerhalb der Runden.

Maracaibo soll sich als digitale Version so spielen wie die Vorlage. Bildrechte: Spiralburst Studio

Maracaibo soll sich als digitale Version so spielen wie die Vorlage. Bildrechte: Spiralburst Studio

Die App zu Maracaibo ist laut Spiralburst Studio in enger Abstimmung mit Alexander Pfister und dem Verlag entstanden. Wie in der Vorlage setzen ein bis vier Spieler die Segel ihre Handelskahns, wahlweise in einem Standard-Modus oder einer Kampagne. Geben wird es in jedem Fall eine „Pass and play“-Funktion, man wird also mit Freunden spielen können, indem man sein Smartphone oder Tablet für den nächsten Zug weiterreicht. Das Solo-Spiel soll via Automa-KI in drei unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeiten möglich sein.

Erscheinen wird „Maracaibo Digital“ für Apples iOS sowie Google Android, voraussichtlich im vierten Quartal 2020. Ob auch eine PC-Version kommt, ist nicht bekannt – eine entsprechende Ankündigung gibt es jedenfalls nicht. Informationen und die Möglichkeit, sich für einen Newsletter einzutragen, gibt es unter maracaiboapp.com.

Auch interessant:
Digitales Brettspiel zu Root: Flussvolk-Erweiterung kommt

Angebote Brettspiele Videospiele Gaming Rabatte