In cooperation with the English publisher Stonemaier Games, Tierra del Fuego will launch the German version of Pendulum this autumn. A board game that makes time one of the decisive game factors.


The English version can be ordered from August, the German version at the Tierra del Fuego from September and the first copies should be available in specialist shops in October. Both publishers are known for their more demanding expert games, such as Scythe, Tapestry and Flügelschlag.

Asymmetrical worker placement

Tierra del Fuego Games is currently publishing more and more information about the board game on social media channels. So you now know that the 90 minutes of playing time can be spent with two to five players. And that there will also be a solo version. The game is written by Travis Jones and illustrated by Robert Leask. The age limit is twelve years.

In terms of game mechanics, Pendulum is a worker placement game, but it has some special features. There is no fixed number of rounds, because the playing time determines the game. Noticeable are three small hourglasses that ensure the asymmetrical game events. These run with different times and each stand for different strong actions. So you have to decide whether to give away a worker for longer to play a strong action or quickly perform a weak one.

The game material is promising. Image rights: @jameystegmaier, BGG

Basically, each player chooses one of ten characters, each with different strengths, which can be seen on the player boards. Then it is time to win the battle for the throne in Dünya. The actions are first chosen and as soon as the time runs out, they can then be implemented.

Four scales give the victory points: prestige, power, popularity and special achievements. In order to achieve this, the workers have to be strategically deployed and the time must be kept in view. Whoever manages to build the best “engine” will win.

During the test days of Stonemaier Games, meaning the "Game Design Day (s)", Pendulum received the best rating of all test copies: a score of 9,3. So one can be curious.


[stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem englischen Verlag Stonemaier Games wird Feuerland noch diesen Herbst die deutsche Version von Pendulum auf den Markt bringen. Ein Brettspiel das Zeit zu einem der entscheidenden Spielefaktoren macht.


Ab August ist die englische Variante bestellbar, ab September die Deutsche bei Feuerlandspiele und im Oktober sollen die ersten Exemplare in Fachgeschäften verkäuflich sein. Beide Verlage kennt man durch anspruchsvollere Kennerspiele, wie Scythe, Tapestry und Flügelschlag.

Asymmetrisches Worker-Placement

Feuerland Spiele veröffentlicht zur Zeit immer mehr Informationen zu dem Brettspiel auf den Social-Media-Kanälen. So weiß man jetzt, dass die 90 Minuten Spielzeit mit zwei bis fünf Spielern verbracht werden können. Und das es auch eine Solo Variante geben wird. Der Autor des Spiels ist Travis Jones und die Illustrationen von Robert Leask. Die Altersbegrenzung liegt bei zwölf Jahren.

Pendulum ist in Punkto Spielemechanik ein Worker-Placement-Spiel, dass aber einige Besonderheiten aufweist. Es gibt keine feste Rundenzahl, denn die Spielzeit bestimmt das Spiel. Auffällig sind drei kleine Sanduhren, die für die asymmetrischen Spielereignisse sorgen. Diese laufen mit verschiedenen Zeiten und stehen jede für verschieden starke Aktionen. So muss man sich entscheiden ob man einen Arbeiter länger weggibt um eine starke Aktion zu spielen oder schnell eine schwache ausführt.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Das Spielmaterial ist vielversprechend. Bildrechte: @jameystegmaier, BGG

Im Grunde genommen wählt jeder Spieler einen von zehn Charakteren, jeder mit anderen Stärken, die auf den Spielertableaus erkennbar sind. Dann heißt es den Kampf um den Thron in Dünya zu gewinnen. Die Aktionen werden erst gewählt und sobald die Zeit läuft können diese dann umgesetzt werden.

Vier Skalen bringen die Siegespunkte: Prestige, Macht, Popularität und besondere Errungenschaften. Um diese zu erringen müssen die Arbeiter strategisch klug eingesetzt und die Zeit im Blick behalten werden. Gewinnen wird, wer es schafft, die beste „Engine“ aufzubauen.

Während der Testtage von Stonemaier Games, gemeint sind die „Game Design Day(s)“, hat Pendulum die beste Bewertung aller Testexemplare jemals erhalten: einen Score von 9,3. Man kann also gespannt sein.


[stextbox id=’autor‘ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion‘]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]