After a few shifts it is now clear: The board game for Metal Gear Solid will not appear. The publishing house IDW had already stopped production in December. Still, there is at least a glimmer of hope for fans. The creator of the game, Emerson Matsuuchi, is now working with Nazca Games to buy the license from Konami in order to be able to publish an adaptation of the successful video game. 


Metal Gear Solid is one of the most popular video game franchises. The game first appeared in 1998 with a focus on stealth and action sequences. The offshoots of the series brought Konami several high ratings from critics and awards.

Metal Gear Solid board game could take a detour

Board game author Emerson Matsuuchi (including Reef and Century) planned to publish a board game on Metal Gear Solid in collaboration with IDW Games. You'd think that, given the license, that would go smoothly - it wasn't. The publisher has now discontinued the project.

Emerson Matsuuchi announced the bad news on Board Game Geek. The board game for Metal Gear Solid was discontinued by IDW Games as early as December 2020. The exact reasons are unclear, the author did not comment. So not only is the adaptation not looking very good - it is currently on hold. Sometimes this is due to the license that Matsuuchi would have to be able to use in order to bring the project to a conclusion.

So far this has not been successful. Masuuchi had even wanted to divert capital from his own publishing house, Nazca Games, in order to be able to cope with the final stage of the production of the board game on Metal Gear Solid via IDW Games. That was just as unsuccessful as the attempt to trigger the previous components at IDW. Nevertheless, the author does not give up: He now wants to acquire the license for Metal Gear Solid from Konami himself in order to be able to implement a board game adaptation.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

 

According to Masuuchi, there are no guarantees that the plan will work and that the board game will still be launched, but the author is optimistic.

In any case, the adaptation was not going well from the start. So initially there was a postponement from 2019 to summer 2020, then the game would be pushed back again - this time to the year 2021. The publisher IDW confirmed to Polygon that the game is on the home straight, but that it still needs some time Make changes.

Metal Gear Solid was to be a game for up to four players based on the debut of Hideo Kojima's Stealth franchise; a solo mode would also have been available as an option. Players would have tried together to infiltrate a nuclear weapons factory. Solid Snake and Meryl Silverburgh, among others, were available as characters. Each character could have drawn on their own set of skills in order to gradually bring a campaign to a successful conclusion. A highlight: There should be different ways to reach the goal. The price for the Metal Gear Solid board game should have been around $ 125.

Source: Polygon / BGG


Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Nach einigen Verschiebungen ist nun klar: Das Brettspiel zu Metal Gear Solid erscheint nicht. Der Verlag IDW hatte die Produktion bereits im Dezember eingestellt. Dennoch gibt es für Fans zumindest noch einen Funken Hoffnung. Der Schöpfer des Spiels, Emerson Matsuuchi, arbeitet nun mit Nazca Games daran, die Lizenz von Konami einzukaufen, um doch noch eine Adaption des erfolgreichen Videospiels veröffentlichen zu können. 


Metal Gear Solid ist eine der populärsten Videospiel-Reihen. Erstmals im Jahr 1998 erschien das Spiel mit einem Fokus auf Schleich- und Action-Sequenzen. Die Ableger der Reihe brachten Konami mehrfach hohe Wertungen von Kritikern sowie Auszeichnung ein.

Brettspiel zu Metal Gear Solid könnte über Umwege kommen

Der Brettspiel-Autor Emerson Matsuuchi (unter anderem Reef oder Century) plante, ein Brettspiel zu Metal Gear Solid in Zusammenarbeit mit IDW Games zu veröffentlichen. Man sollte meinen, dass das angesichts der Lizenz problemlos verlaufen würde – dem war nicht so. Inzwischen hat der Verlag das Projekt eingestellt.

Emerson Matsuuchi hatte auf Board Game Geek die schlechten Nachrichten verkündet. Bereits im Dezember 2020 sei demnach das Brettspiel zu Metal Gear Solid seitens IDW Games eingestellt worden. Die genauen Gründe sind unklar, der Autor äußerte sich dazu nicht. Es steht also nicht nur nicht besonders gut um die Adaption – sie ist momentan auf Eis gelegt. Mitunter liegt das an der Lizenz, die Matsuuchi nutzen dürfen müsste, um das Projekt doch noch zu einem Abschluss zu bringen.

Bislang ist das nicht gelungen. Masuuchi hatte sogar Kapital aus seinem eigenen Verlag, Nazca Games, abzweigen wollen, um die letzte Etappe der Produktion des Brettspiels zu Metal Gear Solid über IDW Games stemmen zu können. Das war ebenso wenig erfolgreich wie der Versuch, die bisherigen Bestandteile bei IDW auszulösen. Dennoch lässt der Autor nicht locker: Er will nun bei Konami selbst die Lizenz für Metal Gear Solid erwerben, um so doch noch eine Brettspiel-Adaption umsetzen zu können.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

 

Garantien dafür, dass der Plan aufgeht und das Brettspiel doch noch auf den Markt kommt, gebe es laut Masuuchi zwar nicht, optimistisch zeigt sich der Autor allerdings.

Ohnehin stand es von Beginn an nicht gut um die Adaption. So erfolgte zunächst eine Verschiebung von 2019 auf den Sommer 2020, anschließend würde das Spiel erneut nach hinten gerückt – diesmal auf das Jahr 2021. Gegenüber Polygon bestätigte der Verlag IDW, dass sich das Spiel auf der Zielgeraden befinde, man allerdings noch Zeit benötige um einige Änderungen vorzunehmen.

Metal Gear Solid sollte ein Spiel für bis zu vier Spieler werden sollen, das auf dem Debüt von Hideo Kojimas Stealth-Reihe basiert; wahlweise hätte auch ein Solo-Modus zur Verfügung gestanden. Spieler hätten gemeinsam versucht, eine Atomwaffenfabrik zu infiltrieren. Als Charaktere hätten unter anderem Solid Snake und Meryl Silverburgh zur Verfügung gestanden. Jeder Charakter hätte dabei auf sein eigenes Set aus Fähigkeiten zurückgreifen dürfen, um eine Kampagne schrittweise erfolgreich zum Abschluss zu bringen. Ein Clou: Es sollte verschiedene Wege zum Ziel geben. Der Preis für das Brettspiel zu Metal Gear Solid hätte bei rund 125 US-Dollar liegen sollen.

Quelle: Polygon/BGG


Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.05.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API