The seemingly non-aging Keanu Reeves stays true to the action genre in many ways. While a fourth John Wick part has already been scheduled for 2022 in collaboration with Chad Stahelsky, Keanu Reeves does not remain idle off the big screen either: In Cyberpunk 2077, published by CD Projekt RED, he played the role of NPC Johnny Silverhand; But Reeves actually went among the comic book authors and published in March 2021 with co-author and Eisner Award nominee Matt Kindt (including Pistolwhip and Super Spy) as well as illustrator and Marvel veteran Ron Garney (Captain America, Hulk, Uncanny X-Force) his 12-part debut: Brzrkr is an ultra-brutal parforcer ride in which an immortal cursed demigod is on behalf of the US Army in search of the reason for his blood-soaked existence. The comic series was published by Boom Studios and was published via Kickstarter financed.


In fact, the series could be the next big action franchise for Reeves: Because VoD giant Netflix has secured the rights to the comic series and is planning big things in this context: In addition to a live-action feature film, there will also be an anime series for Brzrkr . In the film, Keanu Reeves will also play the leading role, while he will set the character of the demigod in the cartoon version to music. The choice is obvious: Not only is Brzrkr the brainchild of the US actor, the character is also optically based on Reeves. And because that's not enough, the jack of all trades also produces both productions.

Brzrkr - Artwork for the ultra-tough action comic Image: Boom Studios

Brzrkr - Artwork for the ultra-tough action comic Image: Boom Studios

How bloodthirsty the (cartoon) film adaptations will be remains to be seen: With the purchase of the Brzrkr rights, Netflix apparently wants to establish a similarly large action franchise as John Wick or the MCU productions at Disney +. There should be potential for public success: Crowdfunders supported the comic project with almost 2 million US dollars at the time. The first issue sold more than 600.000 times - for a comic that's a great success. It will be interesting to see how long the film franchise will last.

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Der scheinbar nicht alternde Keanu Reeves bleibt dem Action-Genre in vielerlei Weise treu. Während  für 2022 in Zusammenarbeit mit Chad Stahelsky bereits ein vierter John Wick-Teil angesetzt wurde, bleibt Keanu Reeves auch abseits der Kinoleinwand nicht untätig: Im von CD Projekt RED veröffentlichten Cyberpunk 2077 spielte er bekanntlich die Rolle des NPCs Johnny Silverhand; Doch tatsächlich ist Reeves auch unter die Comicautoren gegangen und veröffentlichte im März 2021 mit Co-Autor und Eisner Award Nominee Matt Kindt (u.a. Pistolwhip und Super Spy) sowie Zeichner und Marvel-Veteran Ron Garney (Captain America, Hulk, Uncanny X-Force) sein 12-teiliges Debüt: Brzrkr ist ein ultra-brutaler Parforceritt, in dem ein unsterblicher verfluchter Halbgott im Auftrag der US Army auf der Suche nach dem Grund für seine blutgetränkte Existenz ist. Die Comicreihe ist über die Boom Studios erschienen und wurde via Kickstarter finanziert.


Tatsächlich könnte die Reihe das nächste große Action-Franchise für Reeves sein: Denn VoD-Gigant Netflix hat sich die Rechte an der Comicreihe gesichert und plant in diesem Zusammenhang Großes: Zu Brzrkr soll es nämlich neben einem Live-Action-Spielfilm auch eine Animeserie geben. In dem Film soll Keanu Reeves auch die Hauptrolle übernehmen, während er die Figur des Halbgottes in der Trickfilm-Fassung vertonen wird. Die Wahl liegt nahe: Nicht nur ist Brzrkr das geistige Kind des US-Schauspielers, die Figur ist auch optisch Reeves nachempfunden. Und weil das nicht genug ist, produziert der Tausendsassa auch noch beide Produktionen.

Brzrkr - Artwork zum ultraharten Actioncomic   Bild: Boom Studios

Brzrkr – Artwork zum ultraharten Actioncomic Bild: Boom Studios

Wie blutrünstig die (Trick-)filmadaptionen ausfallen werden, wird sich zeigen: Mit dem Kauf der Brzrkr-Rechte will Netflix offenbar ein ähnlich großes Action-Franchise begründen wie John Wick oder die MCU-Produktionen bei Disney +.  Potential für den Publikumserfolg dürfte es geben: Crowdfunder haben das Comic-Projekt seinerzeit mit fast 2 Mio. US-Dollar unterstützt. Die erste Ausgabe hat sich über 600.000-mal verkauft – Für einen Comic ist das als großer Erfolg zu verbuchen. Man darf gespannt sein, wie langlebig das Film-Franchise sein wird.