As the Twitter user Protodude recently discovered, the Japanese publisher Capcom had the trademark protection for the arcade evergreen Ghosts' n Goblins renewed with the American trademark and patent office. Whether it will be a collection of the old classics or whether a completely new Ghosts' n Goblins will be developed is currently unclear. There is a handful of evidence for both possibilities.


Capcom could dig deep into the classics and revive Ghosts' n Goblins, at least an entry at American Trademark and Patent Office that has now been renewed.

Recently, Capcom faced a massive ransomware attack. Since Capcom did not respond to the hackers' demands, a lot of data from the publisher was leaked. A comprehensive collection of this data can be found on the Resetera board again.

Is there a new part in the Ghosts' n Goblins series coming?

In addition to top-class players such as Dragons Dogma 2, Monster Hunter 6 and Resident Evil Village, there are also unexpected surprises such as a Power Stone remake and a new Ghosts' N Goblins in the list. The latter is said to be powered by the RE engine, which also formed the technical substructure for the younger Resident Evil and Devil May Cry parts. The title is to appear exclusively for the Nintendo Switch on February 25, 2021. Versions for PS4 and Xbox One are to follow on June 1, 2021.

The NES version of Ghosts'n Goblins on the Wii U Virtual Console Image: Capcom / Nintendo

The NES version of Ghosts'n Goblins on the Wii U Virtual Console Image: Capcom / Nintendo

Although Capcom naturally did not comment further on the leaks, the renewed trademark protection strengthens the potential new announcement. On the other hand, a port of the classic for the current generation of consoles or a collection of previous franchise titles is also conceivable. This would be supported by the fact that only Last Gen consoles are mentioned in the list, while a RE Engine title, contrary to this, would certainly suggest AAA budgeting.

Ghosts' n Goblins is a traditional run-and-gun series by Tokuro Fujiwara, which has its origins in the arcades, but was later revised and continued on countless stationary consoles and home computers. The main series currently comprises seven games: Ghosts' n Goblins, Ghouls' n Ghosts, Super Ghouls' n Ghosts (SNES and GBA), Makaimura for Bandai's WonderSwan handheld, Ultimate Ghosts' n Goblins for the PSP, Ghosts' n Goblins: Gold Knights I and II for Apple's iOS devices. The games in the main series are mostly about Knight Arthur's mission to save Princess Prin Prin from the clutches of the demon lord Astaroth. There are also prominent spin-offs such as the three-part Gargoyle's Quest series for Game Boy and SNES and the Maximo games for the PlayStation 2.

The series is best known for its infamous difficulty level. The entire series has sold over 4,2 million times worldwide. An AAA comeback with decent technology that breathes the spirit of the original games would be a very good thing.


Preview Product Rating Price
Ultimate Ghosts'n Goblins Ultimate Ghosts'n Goblins * 44,90 EUR

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Wie der Twitter-User Protodude kürzlich entdeckte, ließ der japanische Publisher Capcom den Markenschutz für den Spielhallen-Evergreen Ghosts ’n Goblins beim amerikanischen Marken- und Patentamt erneuern.  Ob es eine  Sammlung der alten Klassiker wird, oder ob gar ein gänzlich neues Ghosts ’n Goblins entwickelt wird, das ist derzeit unklar. Für beide Möglichkeiten gibt es eine Handvoll Indizien.


Capcom könnte ganz tief unter den Klassikern kramen und Ghosts ’n Goblins wiederbeleben, darauf könnte zumindest ein Eintrag beim amerikanischen Marken- und Patentamt hinweisen, der nun erneuert worden ist.

Kürzlich sah sich Capcom mit einem massiven Ransomware-Angriff konfrontiert. Da Capcom nicht auf die Forderungen der Hacker einging, wurden zahlreiche Daten des Publishers geleakt. Eine umfassende Sammlung dieser Daten findet sich auf dem Resetera-Board wieder.

Kommt ein neuer Teil der Ghosts ’n Goblins-Reihe?

Neben Hochkarätern wie Dragons Dogma 2, Monster Hunter 6 und Resident Evil Village, finden sich auch unverhoffte Überraschungen wie ein Power Stone-Remake  und eben ein neues Ghosts ‚N Goblins in der Liste. Letzteres soll den Berichten zufolge von der RE-Engine befeuert werden, die auch den technischen Unterbau für die jüngeren Resident Evil- und Devil May Cry-Teile bildete. Der Titel soll am 25. Februar 2021 zeitexklusiv für die Nintendo Switch erscheinen. Versionen für PS4- und Xbox One sollen dann am 1. Juni 2021 folgen.

Die NES-Fassung von Ghosts'n Goblins auf der Wii U Virtual Console Bild: Capcom/Nintendo
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Die NES-Fassung von Ghosts’n Goblins auf der Wii U Virtual Console Bild: Capcom/Nintendo

Obgleich Capcom die Leaks naturgemäß nicht weiter kommentierte, bestärkt der erneuerte Markenschutz die potentielle Neuankündigung. Andererseits ist auch ein Port des Klassikers für die aktuellen Konsolengenerationen oder eine Sammlung der bisherigen Franchise-Titel denkbar. Dafür würde etwa sprechen, dass ausschließlich Last Gen-Konsolen in der Liste genannt werden, ein RE-Engine Titel konträr dazu aber durchaus auf AAA-Budgetierungen schließen lassen würde.

Ghosts ’n Goblins ist eine traditionsreiche Run-and-Gun Reihe von Tokuro Fujiwara, die ihren Ursprung in den Spielhallen hat, später aber auch auf unzähligen stationären Konsolen und Heimcomputern  um- und fortgesetzt worden ist. Die Hauptreihe umfasst aktuell sieben Spiele: Ghosts ’n Goblins, Ghouls ’n Ghosts, Super Ghouls ’n Ghosts (SNES und GBA), Makaimura für Bandais WonderSwan-Handheld, Ultimate Ghosts ’n Goblins für die PSP, Ghosts ’n Goblins: Gold Knights I und II für Apples iOS-Geräte. In den Spielen der Hauptreihe geht es meist um Ritter Artus‘ Mission, Prinzessin Prin Prin aus den Fängen des Dämonenlords Astaroth zu retten. Ferner gibt es prominente Spin-Offs wie die dreiteilige Gargoyle’s Quest-Reihe für Game Boy und SNES sowie die Maximo-Spiele für die PlayStation 2.

Die Reihe ist vor allem für ihren berüchtigten Schwierigkeitsgrad bekannt. Die gesamte Serie hat sich weltweit über 4,2 Mio. Mal verkauft.  Ein AAA-Comeback mit anständiger Technik, das den Geist der Urspiele atmet, wäre eine denkbar gute Sache.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Ultimate Ghosts'n Goblins
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
Ultimate Ghosts'n Goblins * 39,98 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 23.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API