Dire Wolf Digital, involved as co-designer on the deck building game “Klong!” announced a new title with a concept between deck building and worker placement based on the science fiction classic Dune. There is no release date yet.


Dire Wolf Digital has announced a new game called “Dune Imperium” that will be played in the world of Frank Herbert's “The Desert Planet”. The developers confirmed their work on the game via a short teaser on Twitter. Much information is not yet available. What is certain, however, is that Dire Wolf will rely on a mix of deck building game and worker placement.

Dune: Imperium relies on a wild mix

The board game appears to be based on Denis Villeneuve's new Dune film, which is slated to hit theaters in December 2020. The short teaser shows the logo of Dire Wolf next to that of the Legendary Pictures, which are behind the remake.

The history of Dune is long. Originally published as a series of novels by Frank Herbert in the 1960s, the basic idea has since been filmed and made into games. The subtitle “Imperium” of the board game by Dire Wolf Digital refers to the different empires that ruled the Dune universe.

Dire Wolf could playfully make use of this. Corresponding questions are asked in the teaser: Who will you influence? Who will be betrayed? It is possible that a traitor mechanism is used in the game; in any case, the interactive component between the parties embodied by the players could probably play a noticeable role.

It was not until 2019 that the publisher Gale Force Nine brought a parlor game about Dune onto the market after decades of license disputes. It is a revised new edition of the board game from 1979. Role-playing games based on the brand are also available: the British publisher Modiphius Entertainment, for example, is planning appropriate sets of rules. A tabletop RPG is to appear under the title Dune: Adventures in the Imperium, so far there is no release date.

Dire Wolf Digital is behind the deck building game “Klong!” - published in Germany by the Schwerkraft publishing house - was also able to gain experience in the field of digital board games. Among other things, the developers made adaptations to Robbers of the North Sea or the digital implementation Rootwhich will appear later this year.

When Dune: Imperium should appear and what exactly it is about is still unknown. A release date is also not known, and the game may even be rolled out parallel to the start of the movie.

[atkp_product id = '11323 ′ template =' secondwide '] [/ atkp_product]


[stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

Author

Dire Wolf Digital, als Co-Designer beteiligt am Deckbauspiel „Klong!“ hat einen neuen Titel mit einem Konzept zwischen Deckbuilding und Worker-Placement angekündigt, der auf dem Science-Fiktion-Klassiker Dune basieren soll. Einen Veröffentlichungstermin gibt es noch nicht.


Dire Wolf Digital hat mit „Dune Imperium“ ein neues Spiel angekündigt, das in der Welt von Frank Herberts „Der Wüstenplanet“ spielen wird. Über einen kurzen Teaser über Twitter bestätigten die Entwickler ihre Arbeit an dem Spiel. Viele Informationen gibt es bislang nicht. Sicher ist allerdings, dass Dire Wolf auf einen Mix aus Deckbauspiel und Worker-Placement setzen wird.

Dune: Imperium setzt auf wilden Mix

Das Brettspiel scheint auf dem neuen Dune-Film von Denis Villeneuve zu basieren, der im Dezember 2020 in die Kino kommen soll. Der kurze Teaser zeigt das logo von Dire Wolf neben dem der Legendary Pictures, die hinter der Neuverfilmung stecken.

Die Geschichte von Dune ist lang. Ursprünglich als Romanreihe in den 1960ern von Frank Herbert veröffentlicht, wurde die Grundidee in der Zwischenzeit verfilmt und auch zu Spielen verarbeitet. Der Untertitel „Imperium“ des Brettspiels von Dire Wolf Digital nimmt Bezug auf die unterschiedlichen Reiche, die im Dune-Universum herrschten.

Spielerisch könnte sich Dire Wolf das zunutze machen. Im Teaser werden entsprechende Fragen gestellt: Wen wird man beeinflussen? Wen wird man verraten? Möglich ist, dass in dem Spiel ein Verräter-Mechanismus zum Einsatz kommt, jedenfalls könnte die interaktive Komponente zwischen den von den Spielern verkörperten Parteien vermutlich eine spürbare Rolle spielen.

Erst im Jahr 2019 brachte der Verlag Gale Force Nine – nach jahrzehntelangen Lizenzstreitigkeiten – ein Gesellschaftsspiel zu Dune auf den Markt. Es handelt sich dabei um eine überarbeitete Neuauflage des Brettspiels aus dem Jahr 1979. Ebenfalls erhältlich sich Rollenspiele, die auf der Marke basieren: So hat unter anderem der britische Verleger Modiphius Entertainment entsprechende Regelwerke in Planung. Unter den Titel Dune: Adventures in the Imperium soll ein Tabletop-RPG erscheinen, bislang gibt es noch keinen Veröffentlichungstermin.

Dire Wolf Digital steckt hinter dem Deckbauspiel „Klong!“ – hierzulande erschienen im Verlag Schwerkraft -, konnte zudem Erfahrungen im Bereich der digitalen Brettspiele sammeln. So stammen von den Entwicklern unter anderem Adaptionen zu Räuber der Nordsee oder die digitale Umsetzung zu Root, die noch in diesem Jahr erscheinen wird.

Wann Dune: Imperium erscheinen soll und worum es genau geht, ist bislang unbekannt. Auch ein Veröffentlichungsdatum ist nicht bekannt, möglicherweise wird das Spiel sogar parallel zum Start des Kinofilm ausgerollt.

Auch interessant:
Digitales Brettspiel zu Root: Flussvolk-Erweiterung kommt

[atkp_product id=’11323′ template=’secondwide‘][/atkp_product]


[stextbox id=’autor‘ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion‘]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]