CMON presented a board game about Cyberpunk 2077 in its current Insider Stream. It is now known: The planned board game will be financed via crowdfunding on Kickstarter - and it uses the license of the video game Cyberpunk 2077 from CD Projekt Red and is not loosely based on the template for the action role-playing game. Some details are also known, but much remains open - that offers space for a look into the crystal ball.

Cyberpunk 2077 - the not undisputed action role-playing game by CD Projekt Red for PC and console serves as a link for a miniature board game that CMON - the game studio behind board games such as Ankh, Zombicide, Blood Rage or Rising Sun - wants to finance via Kickstarter. Both the crowdfunding and the miniatures game approach emerge from the latest CMON insider stream that the studio recently broadcast.

Cyberpunk 2077 as a board game: can it be good?

Cyberpunk 2077 fans should celebrate the cooperation between CD Projekt Red and CMON. Anyone who has not been or not completely satisfied with the video game should at least be skeptical. One thing is clear: The brand offers an excellent breeding ground for a story-intensive board game experience with weird characters, role-playing elements and crazy quests. But it is also clear: If CMON concentrates too much on the action aspect, “Cyberpunk 2077: Gangs of Night City” could become an average skirmisher, which differs little from already available board games of this genre. Andrea Chiarvesio already explained in the stream that it will be an area control board game about the gangs in Night City. It's about controlling areas and thus becoming the goose's most feared ones.

In the implementation, everything stands and falls with CMON's ability to capture the atmosphere of the template. That's where Cyberpunk 2077's great strength lies. Because hardly any details about the board game for Cyberpunk 2077 are known so far, you can use the time to take a look into the crystal ball - or to help yourself to the wish tree. What does CMON have to do so that Cyberpunk 2077 can become a good or even a great board game?

The miniature by Johnny Silverhand shown in the stream (Keanu Reeves took on this leading role in Cyberpunk 2077) already indicates that well-known characters from the original will also find their way into the board game. Johnny Silverhand is unlikely to be the only known character. CMON would do everything right: putting the weird characters from Night City in the hands of the players would be an atmospheric trick that the video game cannot do. There players always act as “V”, protagonists of the game. Being able to take control of other pieces in a board game would close a playful gap.

In the end, it will have to be about capturing the mood of the video game world and not just the bullying action. Yes, it would be exciting to beat board game opponents with mantis blades or gorilla arms, but that would hardly be of any use as a sole quality feature. A skirmisher in Cyberpunk 2077 guise? That wouldn't do the brand justice. Although CMON is not undisputed as a game maker, it is at least experienced: It is therefore hardly to be assumed that the authors break down the board game into such a simple action framework.

The focus must be on the characters, their developments and, above all, the opportunities for interaction with Night City - a city as a melting pot for grandiose story experiences. Basically, CMON should find this easy, after all, Cyberpunk 2077 is based on the pen & paper role-playing game Cyberpunk 2020, so it has its roots in the analog world. For the game designers, it has to be about finding a way back to the original idea of ​​creating and developing characters against the background of exciting game tasks.

Game designer Chiarvesio has already made it clear that players would slip into the roles of gang leaders - whether these are well-known characters from the template or no-name leaders is unknown. In any case, the board game offers the approach of being able to experience Night City from the gangs' point of view, which is at least not possible in a video game.

As a board game, Cyberpunk 2077 would probably be best as a mixture of the presentation of the video game with a maximum of elements from the pen-and-paper template - at least in terms of atmosphere. But because CMON is CMON, gamers can be as positively surprised as negatively. An action skirmisher with an attached cyberpunk look is therefore possible, even if not desirable for die-hard board game fans. The other way around: A beginner-friendly board game on Cyberpunk 2077 should appeal more to the large group of video gamers.

In the end, it's all pure speculation - the more fans will find out the closer the release of the crowdfunding campaign gets. A date is not yet known, according to the stream, however, a short-term start is not to be expected - it will still “take some time”.

What is known about the Cyberpunk 2077 board game:
  • It's not a card game (CMON had previously planned one, but abandoned the idea.
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Gangs of Night City is a board game
  • The authors are Alexio Schneeberger and Eric. M Lang, Andrea Chiarvesio
  • area control
  • “Night City” will react to the actions of the players. A “living city” has been created
  • A strong connection to the video game should be palpable
  • The work is still ongoing: fine-tuning, improvements
  • Clearly strategic aspect

From minute 27 the current “CMON Insider” is about the board game on Cyberpunk 2077:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Preview Product Rating Price
Cyberpunk 2077 Comics: Vol. 1: Trauma Team Cyberpunk 2077 Comics: Vol. 1: Trauma Team * Currently no reviews 15,00 EUR

Author

Last updated on 2.12.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Ein Brettspiel zu Cyberpunk 2077 hat CMON in seinem aktuellen Insider-Stream vorgestellt. Bekannt ist nun: Das geplante Brettspiel wird via Crowdfunding auf Kickstarter finanziert – und es bedient sich der Lizenz des Videospiels Cyberpunk 2077 von CD Projekt Red und basiert nicht etwa lose auf der Vorlage zu dem Action-Rollenspiel. Einige Details sind zudem bekannt, vieles bleibt allerdings offen – das bietet Raum für einen Blick in die Glaskugel.

Cyberpunk 2077 – das nicht unumstrittene Action-Rollenspiel von CD Projekt Red für PC und Konsole dient an Anknüpfungspunkt für ein Miniaturen-Brettspiel, das CMON – das Spielestudio hinter Brettspielen wie Ankh, Zombicide, Blood Rage oder Rising Sun – über Kickstarter finanzieren will. Sowohl das Crowdfunding als auch der Ansatz als Miniaturenspiel gehen aus dem aktuellen Insider-Stream von CMON hervor, den das Studio jüngst übertragen hatte.

Cyberpunk 2077 als Brettspiel: Kann das gut werden?

Fans von Cyberpunk 2077 dürfte die Kooperation zwischen CD Projekt Red und CMON feiern. Wer bereits mit dem Videospiel nicht oder nicht gänzlich zufrieden gewesen ist, dürfte zumindest skeptisch sein. Klar ist: Die Marke bietet einen hervorragenden Nährboden für ein storyintensives Brettspielerlebnis mit schrägen Charakteren, Rollenspielelementen und verrückten Quests. Klar ist aber auch: Konzentriert CMON sich zu sehr auf den Action-Aspekt, könnte aus „Cyberpunk 2077: Gangs of Night City“ ein durchschnittlicher Skirmisher werden, der sich wenig von bereits erhältlichen Brettspielen dieses Genres unterscheidet. Andrea Chiarvesio erläuterte im Stream bereits, dass es sich um ein Area-Control-Brettspiel rund um die Gangs in Night City handeln wird. Es geht als darum, Gebiete zu kontrollieren und so zu gefürchtetsten der Gans zu werden.

Alles steht und fällt bei der Umsetzung demnach mit CMONs Fähigkeiten, die Atmosphäre der Vorlage einzufangen. Darin liegt bei Cyberpunk 2077 nämlich die große Stärke. Weil bislang kaum Details zu dem Brettspiel zu Cyberpunk 2077 bekannt sind, kann man die Zeit nutzen, um einen Blick in die Glaskugel zu wagen – oder sich am Wunschbaum zu bedienen. Was muss CMON tun, damit aus Cyberpunk 2077 ein gutes oder gar grandioses Brettspiel werden kann?

Die im Stream gezeigte Miniatur von Johnny Silverhand (diese Hauptrolle in Cyberpunk 2077 übernahm Keanu Reeves) deutet bereits an, dass bekannte Charaktere aus der Vorlage auch den Weg ins Brettspiel finden werden. Johnny Silverhand wird vermutlich nicht die einzige bekannte Figur bleiben. CMON würde damit alles richtig machen: die schrägen Charaktere aus Night City in die Hände der Spieler zu legen wäre ein atmosphärischer Kniff, den das Videospiel nicht leisten kann. Dort agieren Spieler stets als „V“, Protagonisten des Spiels. Im Brettspiel die Kontrolle über andere Figuren übernehmen zu können, würde eine spielerische Lücke schließen.

Am Ende wird es drum gehen müssen, die Stimmung der Videospielwelt einzufangen und nicht die bloße Haudrauf-Action. Ja, es wäre spannend mit Mantisklingen oder Gorillaarmen auf Brettspielgegner einzukloppen, als alleiniges Qualitätsmerkmal würde das aber kaum taugen. Ein Skirmisher im Cyberpunk 2077-Gewand? Das würde der Marke nicht gerecht. Zwar ist CMON als Spieleschmiede nicht unumstritten, immerhin aber erfahren: Dass die Autoren das Brettspiel auf ein derart simples Action-Gerüst herunterbrechen, ist daher kaum anzunehmen.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen müssen die Charaktere, deren Entwicklungen und vor allem die Interaktionsmöglichkeiten mit Night City – eine Stadt als Schmelztiegel für grandiose Story-Erfahrungen. Grundsätzlich dürfte CMON das leicht fallen, immerhin basiert Cyberpunk 2077 auf dem Pen-&-Paper-Rollenspiel Cyberpunk 2020, hat also seine Wurzeln in der analogen Welt . Für die Spieleautoren muss es darum gehen, einen Weg zurück zu finden zu der originären Idee um Charaktererschaffung und -entwicklung vor dem Hintergrund spannender Spielaufgaben.

Spieleautor Chiarvesio stellte bereits klar, Spieler würden in die Rollen von Ganganführern schlüpfen – ob es sich dabei um bekannte Charaktere aus der Vorlage handelt oder um No-Name-Leader ist nicht bekannt. In jedem Fall bietet das Brettspiel den Ansatz, Night City aus der Sicht der Gangs erleben zu können, was im Videospiel so zumindest nicht möglich ist.

Als Brettspiel wäre Cyberpunk 2077 vermutlich am besten als eine Mischung aus der Präsentation des Videospiels mit einem Maximum an Elementen aus der Pen-and-paper-Vorlage – zumindest bezüglich der Atmosphäre. Weil CMON aber CMON ist, können Spieler positiv genauso überrascht werden wie negativ. Ein Action-Skirmisher mit aufgesetzter Cyberpunk-Optik ist daher möglich, wenn auch für eingefleischte Brettspielfans nicht wünschenswert. Andersherum: Ein einsteigerfreundliches Brettspiel zu Cyberpunk 2077 dürfte eher die Große Gruppe der Videospieler ansprechen.

Am Ende ist alles reine Spekulation – mehr erfahren werden Fans, je näher der Release der Crowdfunding-Kampagne rückte. Ein Datum ist bislang nicht bekannt, mit einem kurzfristigen Start ist laut Stream allerdings nicht zu rechnen – es werde noch „einige Zeit dauern“.

Was bekannt ist zum Cyberpunk 2077-Brettspiel:
  • Es handelt sich nicht um ein Kartenspiel (CMON hatte vormals eines geplant, die Idee jedoch verworfen.
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Gangs of Night City ist ein Brettspiel
  • Als Autoren fungieren Alexio Schneeberger, Eric. M Lang, Andrea Chiarvesio
  • Area Control
  • „Night City“ wird auf die Handlungen der Spieler reagieren. Man habe eine „lebendige Stadt“ erschaffen
  • Starke Verbindung zum Videospiel soll spürbar sein
  • Die Arbeiten laufen noch: Feintuning, Verbesserungen
  • Deutlich strategischer Aspekt

Ab Minute 27 geht es im aktuellen „CMON Insider“ um das Brettspiel zu Cyberpunk 2077:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Cyberpunk 2077 Comics: Bd. 1: Trauma Team Cyberpunk 2077 Comics: Bd. 1: Trauma Team * 15,00 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 21.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API