Gamescom 2021 will take place exclusively as an online event. Koelnmesse announced this. The plans to offer the world's largest consumer fair for computer games as a hybrid event are thus off the table. The reason for switching to the Internet is the current pandemic situation. But there is also good news for fans: Gamescom 2021 will take place free of charge.


The Cologne Trade Fair (proper spelling: Cologne Fair) and the Federal Game Association had given intensive advice and, after discussions with exhibitors and partners, decided to allow Gamescom 2021 to take place exclusively digitally. The organizers base their decision on the current pandemic situation. The focus is not only on incidences or vaccination numbers, but on the fact that “many companies cannot take part in physical events this year due to the still difficult development”, says the Cologne fair. This is how you meet the need for planning security.

Oink Games digital not inexperienced

The original plan was to offer Gamescom in 2021 as a hybrid event, i.e. to offer a digital and an on-site part. That would have been done together with a specially developed hygiene and safety concept. The organizers initially left it open for a long time as to how to proceed with Gamescom this year. The elaboration and preparation of the hybrid event as an alternative is now followed by another adjustment with the rejection of the plans - this time for good.

In the previous year, the fair took place purely digitally, so the focus is now on: Gamescom 2021 is free for all fans. In 2020 it celebrated numerous successes with this format: over 100 million video views across all formats and channels, over 50 million unique users from 180 countries and 370 partners from 44 countries. However, there will be changes for this year: The digital offering is to be expanded further.

"As a games industry, we want to show with Gamescom that innovations and bold developments are the best way to deal with such crises."
Felix Falk, Managing Director Game

“Together with the game association, we have given everything to enable the fans and the industry to have a hybrid Gamescom 2021,” said Oliver Frese, Managing Director of Koelnmesse. “But even if the hybrid concept was very well received by the partners, we had to recognize that Gamescom will come too early for many companies in the industry due to the planning security required. One thing is crystal clear: everyone involved now needs planning security. That is why we are again relying on a purely digital Gamescom this year and, with sufficient lead time for the gaming community, we will be able to offer an even stronger online event at the end of August 2021 ”. All partners can now book their participation.

Felix Falk, Managing Director of the Association of the German Games Industry, also sees the decision as the right step: “As the games industry, we want to show with Gamescom that innovations and courageous further developments are the best way to deal with such crises. The Gamescom team has been working hard on Gamescom 2021 for months, especially on the digital elements. We will only be able to implement many of the new concepts for the hybrid Gamescom, such as digital queue management, in the coming year. "

For the digital Gamescom 2021, the focus will be on offering even more games, reach and a community atmosphere, explains Falk. “For example, with 'Gamescom Epix' we are relying on a completely new concept that sends the community on a joint quest journey on social media before Gamescom starts. With this we want to transfer even more of the unique Gamescom atmosphere into the digital world. Together with our numerous partners, we want to make Gamescom the largest games event in the world again in 2021. "

Gamescom: Opening Night Live again with Geoff Keighley

With Gamescom 2021, the Cologne trade fair and the game association want to follow up on the success of last year's online event. Gamescom will be opened again with the show Gamescom: Opening Night Live with Geoff Keighley. The Gamescom now content hub will be completely redesigned and made even more attractive with numerous additional features for fans and partners. Also new is Gamescom epix, a community campaign that fans can use to immerse themselves in the Gamescom universe in a playful way on the “Road to Gamescom”. Overall, Gamescom fans can look forward to a full program from the start of Gamescom: Opening Night Live on Wednesday evening to Friday evening, August 27th, of which some highlights and promotions will also run on the weekend.

Instead of gambling on site, this year there is only watching from home again. Photo: Volkmann

Thanks to Corona: Instead of gambling on site, this year there is only watching from home again. Photo: Volkmann

The “devcom” as the first point of contact for developers and their ecosystem will also come up with an extensive online program and give the games industry a central business platform. Several all-day business matchmaking events, such as the popular “Indies meet Investors and Publishers” format devcom Pitch it! or special matchmaking and pitching events with devcom's international joint stands will be significantly expanded. Another new feature is that on the first two days, devcom will have a clear focus on content and the extensive conference program, while Wednesday to Friday will be all about business, networking and the popular devcom digital expo.

The start of the new online B2B platform Gamescom biz, on the other hand, will be postponed by a year, since the platform's features can only be rolled out comprehensively in a hybrid concept. The Gamescom congress, Europe's leading conference on the social, economic and cultural potential of games, will once again take place entirely digitally this year on Thursday, August 26th.

First information on the Gamescom 2021 program

In 2020 Gamescom: Opening Night Live in cooperation with Geoff Keighley, according to Cologne-Messe, captivated over two million live viewers on the screens at the same time. World premieres and dozens of brand new news on the most anticipated game titles were unveiled during the grand opening show. Geoff Keighley and his team are again producing Gamescom this year: Opening Night Live, the preparations are already in full swing. The show will be postponed by one day this year - it will take place on Wednesday, August 25th.

Geoff Keighley is already looking forward to: 2Gaming fans worldwide can already look forward to this year's Gamescom: Opening Night Live: After the great success last year, the developers are very interested in being able to present their world premieres in the ONL this year and thus to become an important part of Gamescom 2021. "

That was the Gamescom show last year:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

As in previous years, other international Gamescom shows such as Gamescom Studio and Gamescom: Awesome Indies, which will be shown for the first time in 2020, will again be produced by IGN. Peer Schneider, IGN's Chief Content Officer, says: “Whether in person in Cologne or in digital form, Gamescom is an annual highlight for our team! The entire IGN crew is excited and ready to bring the gaming community to exciting game reveals, news, interviews with developers, and hours of new gameplay for the gaming community in August. There won't be a better way to celebrate the biggest games of the year - and beyond - than Gamescom 2021. ”

Gamescom partners have the opportunity to become part of the shows with their games and content. For indie developers there will be an extensive range in cooperation with the Indie Arena Booth Online, which will be integrated as an interactive game in Gamescom now as the central platform.

"Gamescom now" format revised

As in previous years, Gamescom now is the first port of call for gaming fans worldwide in 2021. This is where the Gamescom shows and all of the partners' content are bundled in a clear and easily accessible manner - this is where the heart of Gamescom 2021 beats. The platform was completely redesigned in terms of content and technology after last year. Visitors can look forward to revised and significantly improved user guidance, customized schedules, numerous live streams, events, shows and information about all games and Gamescom partners.

Even if everything is purely digital: There are indie games at Gamescom this year too. Photo: Volkmann

Even if everything is purely digital: There are indie games at Gamescom this year too. Photo: Volkmann

The latter benefit from a new, easy-to-use content management system with which they can maintain their content even better and present it to visitors in an appealing way. With the new CMS partners get numerous, individual integration options for content, the digital reach increases accordingly with the optimized display options and other measures.

Gamescom Epix: United with the community before and during Gamescom

Immerse yourself in the Gamescom universe during the “Road to Gamescom”, contest epic quests with the entire community, achieve success and thus revive the Gamescom feeling? This is exactly what the new Gamescom Epix community campaign aims to achieve. Via playful, interactive social media campaigns throughout the Gamescom cosmos, fans can already interact with content and partners of Gamescom 2021 before the Gamescom week and collect points in order to then win unique prizes during Gamescom in August. The winnings are guarded in the large Gamescom Gault, which opens its doors with the start of Gamescom.

The organizers will publish detailed information on the program in the coming weeks. Information is also available at www.gamescom.de.


Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Gamescom 2021 findet ausschließlich als Online-Event statt. Das hat Koelnmesse mitgeteilt. Die Pläne, die weltgrößte Publikumsmesse für Computerspiele als Hybrid-Veranstaltung anzubieten, sind damit vom Tisch. Grund für das Ausweichen ins Internet ist die aktuelle Pandemie-Lage. Doch es gibt auch eine gute Nachricht für Fans: Die Gamescom 2021 findet kostenfrei statt.


Die Köln-Messe (Eigenschreibweise: Koelnmesse)  und der Bundesverband Game hatten intensiv beraten und nach Gesprächen mit Ausstellern und Partner nun entschieden, die Gamescom 2021 doch ausschließlich digital stattfinden zu lassen. Die Organisatoren beziehen sich bei ihrer Entscheidung auf die aktuelle pandemische Lage. Dabei stehen nicht ausschließlich Inzidenzen oder Impfzahlen im Mittelpunkt, sondern der Umstand, dass „viele Unternehmen auf Grund der nach wie vor schwierigen Entwicklung in diesem Jahr nicht an physischen Veranstaltungen teilnehmen können“, heißt es von der Köln-Messe. Man komme damit dem Bedürfnis nach Planungssicherheit nach.

Oink Games digital nicht unerfahren

Ursprünglich war geplant, die Gamescom 2021 als Hybrid-Event anzubieten, also einen digitalen sowie einen Vor-Ort-Part anzubieten. Das wäre dann zusammen mit einem speziell ausgearbeiteten Hygiene- und Sicherheitskonzept erfolgt. Die Organisatoren hatten zunächst lange offen gelassen, wie man mit der Gamescom in diesem Jahr verfahren würde. Auf die Ausarbeitung und Vorbereitung der Hybrid-Veranstaltung als Alternativ folgt nun mit der Absage an die Pläne erneut eine Anpassung – diesmal endgültig.

Bereits im Vorjahr fand die Messe rein digital statt, daran orientiert man sich nun: Die Gamescom 2021 ist für alle Fans kostenfrei. 2020 feierte sie mit diesem Format zahlreiche Erfolge: Über 100 Millionen Video-Views über alle Formate und Kanäle, über 50 Millionen Unique-User aus 180 Ländern sowie 370 Partner aus 44 Ländern. Veränderungen wird es für dieses Jahr dennoch geben:  Das Digital-Angebot soll weiter ausgebaut werden.

„Als Games-Branche wollen wir auch mit der Gamescom zeigen, dass Innovationen und mutige Weiterentwicklungen der beste Weg sind, um mit solchen Krisen umzugehen.“
Felix Falk, Geschäftsführer Game

„Gemeinsam mit dem game-Verband haben wir alles gegeben, den Fans und der Branche eine hybride Gamescom 2021 zu ermöglichen“, so Oliver Frese, Geschäftsführer der Koelnmesse. „Doch auch, wenn das hybride Konzept bei den Partnern sehr gut ankam, mussten wir doch erkennen, dass die Gamescom auf Grund der benötigten Planungssicherheit für viele Unternehmen der Branche noch zu früh kommt. Glasklar ist: Alle Beteiligten benötigen jetzt Planungssicherheit. Deshalb setzen wir auch in diesem Jahr auf eine erneut rein digitale Gamescom und werden mit dem ausreichenden Vorlauf der Gaming-Community Ende August 2021 ein noch stärkeres Online-Event bieten können“. Alle Partner könnten ab sofort ihre Beteiligung buchen.

Auch Felix Falk, Geschäftsführer des Verbandes der deutschen Games-Branche sieht die Entscheidung als richtigen Schritt: „Als Games-Branche wollen wir auch mit der Gamescom zeigen, dass Innovationen und mutige Weiterentwicklungen der beste Weg sind, um mit solchen Krisen umzugehen. Dafür arbeitet das Gamescom-Team seit Monaten hart an der Gamescom 2021, insbesondere an den digitalen Elementen. Viele der neuen Konzepte für die hybride Gamescom, etwa das digitale Warteschlangenmanagement, werden wir nun erst im kommenden Jahr umsetzen können.“

Für die digitale Gamescom 2021 konzentriere man sich darauf, noch mehr Games, Reichweite und Community-Atmosphäre zu bieten, erklärt Falk. „Dafür setzen wir beispielsweise mit ‚Gamescom Epix‘ auf ein komplett neues Konzept, das die Community noch vor dem Start der Gamescom auf eine gemeinsame Quest-Reise in den sozialen Medien schickt. Hiermit wollen wir noch mehr der einzigartigen Gamescom-Atmosphäre ins Digitale übertragen. Gemeinsam mit unseren zahlreichen Partnern wollen wir die Gamescom auch 2021 wieder zum größten Games-Event der Welt machen.“

Gamescom: Opening Night Live wieder mit Geoff Keighley

Mit der Gamescom 2021 wollen die Köln-Messe und der Game-Verband direkt an den Erfolg des letztjährigen Online-Events anschließen. Eröffnet wird die Gamescom wieder durch die Show Gamescom: Opening Night Live mit Geoff Keighley. Der Content-Hub Gamescom now wird komplett neu aufgesetzt und mit zahlreichen, zusätzlichen Features für Fans und Partner noch attraktiver gestaltet. Ebenfalls neu ist Gamescom epix, eine Community-Aktion, über die Fans schon auf der „Road to Gamescom“ spielerisch ins Gamescom-Universum eintauchen können. Insgesamt können sich Gamescom-Fans vom Start der Gamescom: Opening Night Live am Mittwochabend bis zum Freitagabend, 27. August, auf ein volles Programm freuen, von dem einige Highlights und Aktionen auch noch am Wochenende laufen werden.

Statt Zocken vor Ort gibt es dieses Jahr wieder nur Gucken von zu Hause. Foto: Volkmann

Dank Corona: Statt Zocken vor Ort gibt es dieses Jahr wieder nur Gucken von zu Hause. Foto: Volkmann

Auch die „devcom“ als erste Anlaufstelle für Entwickler und ihr Ökosystem wird ebenfalls mit einem umfangreichen Online-Programm aufwarten und der Games-Branche eine zentrale Business-Plattform geben. Mehrere ganztägige Business-Matchmaking-Events, wie das beliebte „Indies meet Investors and Publishers”-Format devcom Pitch it! oder spezielle Matchmaking- und Pitching-Events mit den internationalen Gemeinschaftsständen der devcom, werden deutlich ausgebaut. Neu ist zudem, dass die devcom an den ersten beiden Tagen einen klaren Fokus auf Content und das umfangreiche Conference-Programm legt, während Mittwoch bis Freitag ganz im Zeichen von Business, Networking und der beliebten digitalen Expo der devcom stehen.

Der Start der neuen Online-B2B-Plattform Gamescom biz wird dagegen um ein Jahr verschoben, da die Features der Plattform umfassend nur in einem hybriden Konzept ausrollbar sind. Der Gamescom congress, Europas führende Konferenz rund um die gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Potenziale von Games, findet in diesem Jahr am Donnerstag, 26. August erneut vollständig digital statt.

Erste Informationen zum Programm der Gamescom 2021

2020 fesselte die Gamescom: Opening Night Live in Zusammenarbeit mit Geoff Keighley laut Köln-Messe über zwei Millionen Live-Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer gleichzeitig an die Bildschirme. Weltpremieren und dutzende brandneue News zu den am heißesten erwarteten Spieletiteln wurden während der großen Eröffnungsshow vorgestellt. Auch dieses Jahr produzieren Geoff Keighley und sein Team die Gamescom: Opening Night Live, die Vorbereitungen laufen bereits auf Hochtouren. Dabei wird die Show in diesem Jahr um einen Tag verschoben – sie findet am Mittwoch, 25. August statt.

Geoff Keighley freut sich bereits: 2Die Gaming-Fans weltweit können sich bereits jetzt auf die diesjährige Gamescom: Opening Night Live freuen: Nach dem großen Erfolg im vergangenen Jahr ist das Interesse der Entwickler riesig, in diesem Jahr ihre Weltpremieren in der ONL präsentieren zu können und somit zu einem wichtigen Teil der Gamescom 2021 zu werden.“

Das war die Gamescom-Show im vergangenen Jahr:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Wie in den Vorjahren werden zudem weitere, internationale Gamescom-Shows wie das Gamescom-Studio und die 2020 erstmals gezeigte Show Gamescom: Awesome Indies wieder von IGN produziert. Peer Schneider, IGNs Chief Content Officer meint hierzu: „Ob persönlich in Köln oder in digitaler Form, die Gamescom ist ein jährliches Highlight für unser Team! Die gesamte IGN-Crew ist aufgeregt und bereit, der Gaming-Community im August spannende Spiele-Enthüllungen, News, Interviews mit Entwicklern und stundenlanges neues Gameplay zu bieten. Es wird keinen besseren Weg geben, die größten Spiele des Jahres – und darüber hinaus – zu feiern als die Gamescom 2021.“

Partner der Gamescom haben die Möglichkeit, mit ihren Games und Inhalten Teil der Shows zu werden. Für Indie-Entwicklerinnen und -Entwickler wird es ein umfangreiches Angebot in Zusammenarbeit mit der Indie Arena Booth Online geben, die als interaktives Spiel in Gamescom now als zentraler Plattform integriert wird.

Format „Gamescom now“ überarbeitet

Wie in den Vorjahren ist 2021 Gamescom now die erste Anlaufstelle für Gaming-Fans weltweit. Hier werden die Gamescom-Shows sowie alle Inhalte der Partner übersichtlich und leicht zugänglich gebündelt – hier schlägt das Herz der Gamescom 2021. Die Plattform wurde dabei nach dem vorigen Jahr inhaltlich und technisch komplett neu aufgesetzt. Besucherinnen und Besucher erwartet eine überarbeitete und deutlich verbesserte Benutzerführung, passgenau individualisierbare Zeitpläne, zahlreiche Live-Streams, Events, Shows sowie Informationen über alle Games und Gamescom-Partner.

Auch wenn alles rein digital abläuft: Indie-Spiele gibt es auch dieses Jahr auf der Gamescom. Foto: Volkmann

Auch wenn alles rein digital abläuft: Indie-Spiele gibt es auch dieses Jahr auf der Gamescom. Foto: Volkmann

Letztere profitieren von einem neuen, leicht zu bedienenden Content-Management-System, über welches sie ihre Inhalte noch besser pflegen und den Besucherinnen und Besuchern ansprechend präsentieren können. Mit dem neuen CMS bekommen Partner so zahlreiche, individuelle Integrationsmöglichkeiten für Inhalte, die digitale Reichweite steigt entsprechend mit den optimierten Darstellungsmöglichkeiten und weiteren Maßnahmen.

Gamescom Epix: Vor und während der Gamescom mit der Community vereint

Schon während der „Road to Gamescom“ in das Gamescom-Universum eintauchen, gemeinsam mit der ganzen Community epische Quests bestreiten, Erfolge erzielen und so das Gamescom-Feeling aufleben lassen? Genau das soll mit der neuen Community-Aktion Gamescom Epix erreicht werden. Über spielerische, interaktive Social-Media-Aktionen im gesamten Gamescom-Kosmos können Fans bereits vor der Gamescom-Woche mit Inhalten und Partnern der Gamescom 2021 interagieren und Punkte sammeln, um damit dann während der Gamescom im August einzigartige Gewinne zu ergattern. Die Gewinne werden im großen Gamescom Gault gehütet, der mit Beginn der Gamescom seine Tore öffnet.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Programm werden die Organisatoren in den kommenden Wochen veröffentlichen. Infos gibt es auch unter www.gamescom.de.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 12.06.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API