Asmodee is helping the local game trade with a support campaign. One would think that this offer comes at just the right time so that traders can resume their day-to-day business after the week-long lockdown. There is a catch: the third corona wave is approaching. Nevertheless, the “Back in the game” campaign remains a positive signal for the market.


Asmodee is supporting the local game trade for the second time. The Essen-based publisher launched the first "back in the game" campaign shortly after the end of the first corona lockdown at the end of April last year. Following a customer survey, various measures to support retailers were devised at the time. Among other things, Asmodee issued 33.000 free games for participating retailers and accompanied the entire campaign with advertising on the social media channels and on the project homepage www.wieder-im-spiel.de.

Game packages for trading in uncertain times

Now there are 18.000 titles that Asmodee is making available to dealers. The campaign initially wants to be a supportive measure for the specialist game trade, which has been shaken by the pandemic: "For the local game trade, the second corona lockdown was an immense burden," says Asmodee. In order to give the dealers a helping hand when the loosening occurs, the "Back in the game" campaign has been started again.

36 games are sent per package. These include special items, such as the Drunken Sailor packaged in a high-quality wooden box, the card game adaptation of the well-known video game God of War or the Panic Mansion nominated for Children's Game of the Year 2018. Asmodee has prepared a total of 500 packages that dealers can access free of charge.

“Asmodee supports retailers in these difficult times with offers and conditions specially created for stationary specialist retailers, as well as free game packages for promotions in stores,” the publisher explains about the promotion.

As a result of the lockdown, many retailers, including game dealers, had been able to record little or no income for a long time. Nevertheless, it was still true: Those who had not already bet on the Internet business in advance, were left behind during the lockdown. What was particularly bitter for local game retailers was the fact that the Germans' desire to shop was unbroken - but they migrated to online trading.

Stationary retailers had a hard time: rents and salaries were still to be paid, so that the financial cushion is thin for many. The aid payments from politics got off to a slow start. Now Asmodee wants to help the retailers again and at least help to stimulate day-to-day business - the next corona wave is rushing in with force. All signs are currently pointing to lockdown again. On March 16, Asmodee announced the second round of the campaign that the world was still all right for retailers, but the first dark clouds were already emerging in the form of increasing incidence values ​​and an R-value that did not want to decrease. Now we are waiting again for the decisions of the decision-makers.

The card game for the video game God of War is one of the titles included in the free package. Image rights: Asmodee

The card game for the video game God of War is one of the titles included in the free package. Image rights: Asmodee

Asmodee's campaign nevertheless gives a direction and presents a message: Anyone who wants to buy board or card games from the dealer around the corner in the post-corona period must support - as a customer as well as a publisher. The core of the “Back in the game” program includes a special condition model that helps retailers to order and sell goods despite a possible financial emergency.

On the one hand, Asmodee offers its stationary customers 90 days until they have to pay for the games they have ordered. In addition, retailers receive special discounts on their first order when they showcase Asmodee games in their store. In addition, retailers can pre-order the new products that have already been announced and receive a special Corona discount for them. So the free games are just a sidekick that you like to take with you. The greatest support lies in the payment and order modalities.

“Board games were and are in greater demand than ever in the Corona crisis. The industry has benefited from this demand, but unfortunately our local dealers are repeatedly locked down and have to contend with adverse circumstances. With the “Back in the game” campaign, we as Asmodee want to strengthen stationary demand and expand it further in the future. We firmly believe that our games should be able to be experienced on site, ”says Yvette Vaessen, Commercial Director of Asmodee. “We hope that the players will support their stores together with us and buy novelties or gifts there. We want to reward this loyalty with the free games. "


 

Author

Last updated on 9.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Asmodee greift dem lokalen Spielehandel mit einer Unterstützungsaktion unter die Arme. Man könnte meinen, dass dieses Angebot genau zur richtigen Zeit kommt, damit Händler nach dem wochenlangen Lockdown wieder ihr Tagesgeschäft aufnehmen können. Die Sache hat einen Haken: die dritte Corona-Welle rauscht heran. Dennoch bleibt die Aktion “Wieder im Spiel” ein positives Signal für den Markt.


Bereits zum zweiten Mal unterstützt Asmodee den lokalen Spielhandel. Die erste „Wieder im Spiel“-Aktion hatte der Essener Verlag kurz nach dem Ende des ersten Corona-Lockdowns Ende April des vergangenen Jahres ins Leben gerufen. Im Anschluss an eine Kundenbefragung hatte man damals verschiedene Maßnahmen zur Handelsunterstützung erdacht. Unter anderem gab Asmodee 33.000 kostenlose Spiele für teilnehmende Händler aus und begleitete die gesamte Aktion durch Werbung auf den Social-Media-Kanälen sowie auf der Projekt-Homepage www.wieder-im-spiel.de.

Spielepakete für den Handel in unsicheren Zeiten

Nun sind es 18.000 Titel, die Asmodee den Händlern zur Verfügung stellt. Die Aktion will zunächst eine unterstützende Maßnahme für den durch die Pandemie gebeutelten Spielefachhandel sein: “Für den lokalen Spielehandel war der zweite Corona-Lockdown eine immense Belastung”, heißt es von Asmodee. Um den Händlern mit Eintreten von Lockerungen unter die Arme zu greifen, habe man erneut die Aktion „Wieder im Spiel“ gestartet.

Pro Paket werden 36 Spiele verschickt. Darunter finden sich besondere Artikel, wie das in einer hochwertigen Holzbox verpackte Drunken Sailor, die Kartenspielumsetzung zum bekannten Videospiel God of War oder das zum Kinderspiel des Jahres 2018 nominierte Panic Mansion. Insgesamt hat Asmodee 500 Pakete vorbereitet, die die Händler gratis abrufen können.

“Mit extra für den stationären Fachhandel erstellten Angeboten und Konditionen sowie kostenlosen Spielepaketen für Aktionen in den Läden, unterstützt Asmodee den Handel in dieser schwierigen Zeit”, erklärt der Verlag zu der Aktion.

Durch den Lockdown hatten viele Einzelhändler, darunter auch Spielehändler, lange Zeit keine oder kaum Einnahmen verzeichnen können – allenfalls eilig installierte Lieferservices oder Abholmöglichkeiten konnten einen kleinen Teil der weiterlaufenden Kosten auffangen. Dennoch galt: Wer nicht bereits im Vorfeld auf das Internetgeschäft gesetzt hatte, hatte das Nachsehen während des Lockdown. Für lokale Spielehändler besonders bitter war die Tatsache, dass die Shopping-Lust der Deutschen ungebrochen war – sie wanderten jedoch zum Online-Handel ab.

Stationäre Händler hatten es schwer: Mieten und Gehälter waren weiterhin zu zahlen, so dass das finanzielle Polster bei vielen dünn ist. Die Hilfszahlungen aus der Politik kamen nur schleppend zum Laufen. Nun will Asmodee den Händlern erneut unter die Arme greifen und zumindest dabei helfen, das Tagesgeschäft wieder anzukurbeln – da rauscht mit Wucht die nächste Corona-Welle heran. Alle Zeichen stehen derzeit wieder auf Lockdown. Am 16. März hatte Asmodee über die zweite Runde der Aktion informiert, da war die Welt für die Einzelhändler noch in Ordnung, erste dunkle Wolken zeichneten sich allerdings bereits in Form von steigenden Inzidenzwerten und einem nicht sinken wollenden R-Wert ab. Nun wartet man erneut auf die Beschlüsse der Entscheidungsträger.

Das Kartenspiel zum Videospiel God of War ist einer der im Gratis-Paket enthaltenen Titel. Bildrechte: Asmodee

Das Kartenspiel zum Videospiel God of War ist einer der im Gratis-Paket enthaltenen Titel. Bildrechte: Asmodee

Asmodees Aktion gibt dennoch eine Richtung vor und präsentiert eine Botschaft: Wer in der Post-Corona-Zeit überhaupt noch Brett- oder Kartenspiele beim Händler um die Ecke kaufen will, muss unterstützen – als Kunde wie als Verlag. Zum Kern des Programms „Wieder im Spiel“ gehört ein besonderes Konditionsmodell, das den Händlern hilft, trotz eventueller finanzieller Notlage Waren zu bestellen und zu verkaufen.

Zum einen bietet Asmodee im Rahmen der Aktion seinen stationären Kunden 90 Tage Zeit, bis sie bestellte Spiele bezahlen müssen. Darüber hinaus erhalten die Händler Sonderrabatte auf die erste Bestellung, wenn sie Asmodee Spiele in ihrem Laden präsentieren. Außerdem können die Händler bereits jetzt angekündigte Neuheiten vorbestellen und dafür ebenfalls einen speziellen Corona-Rabatt erhalten. Die kostenlosen Spiele sind also nur ein “Sidekick”, den man gern mitnimmt. Die größte Unterstützung liegt bei den Zahlungs- und Bestellmodalitäten.

„Gesellschaftsspiele waren und sind in der Corona-Krise so gefragt wie nie. Die Branche hat von dieser Nachfrage profitiert, aber leider sind unsere lokalen Händler immer wieder im Lockdown und müssen mit widrigen Umständen kämpfen. Mit der Aktion „Wieder im Spiel“ wollen wir als Asmodee die stationäre Nachfrage stärken und in Zukunft weiter ausbauen. Wir glauben fest daran, dass unsere Spiele vor Ort erlebbar sein sollten“, sagt Yvette Vaessen, Commercial Director von Asmodee. „Wir hoffen, dass die Spieler zusammen mit uns ihre Läden unterstützen und Neuheiten oder Geschenke dort kaufen. Diese Treue wollen wir mit den kostenlosen Spielen zusätzlich belohnen.“


 

Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API