CD Projekt Reds Cyberpunk 2077 is now available for around a week. The launch was marked by bugs and crashes at least for the last-gen consoles Xbox One and Playstation 4. In the meantime, improvements have been made, but that didn't really help: Now Sony is taking a drastic step and throws the game from the Playstation store due to the deficiencies. 


It's a small sensation, albeit in a negative sense: Electronics giant Sony is otherwise rather conservative when it comes to refunds and is preventing further refund requests and taking Cyberpunk 2077 directly out of its Playstation store. The measure is a reaction to the shortcomings that cause crashes and errors for many players of the Xbox and Playstation 4 versions. For CD Projekt Red, the unsuccessful launch is more expensive; the markets are reacting dramatically: the share is currently on a downward slide and plunged within a week to currently 59 euros.

Cyberpunk 2077: Fans collect under # CyberBug2077

That could have gone better for CD Projekt Red. As much as one can praise the developers for their commitment, the launch of Cyberpunk 2077 went anything but good for Playstation 4 and Xbox One. The criticism of the players is increasing, CD Projekt Red had meanwhile offered to help with refunds, even want to process them itself - meanwhile at least Sony is taking a drastic step and prevents further refund requests by simply removing the game entirely from the Playstation -Store removed. Those who have already bought the game will of course still be able to access it.

If you search for “Cyberpunk” in the PS shop, the most popular hit is missing. On the official blog, Sony announced the move and announced that it would start offering full refunds to all buyers. Sony announces:

Sony Interactive Entertainment always strives to ensure a high level of customer satisfaction. That's why we're now offering a full refund to all players who purchased Cyberpunk 2077 from PlayStation Store. SIE will also remove Cyberpunk 2077 from PlayStation Store until further notice.

Once we've verified that you purchased Cyberpunk 2077 from PlayStation Store, we'll start processing your refund. Please note that the time it takes to complete your refund may vary depending on the payment method and credit institution.

After there was initially anger about rejected refunds, Sony is now giving in and is taking this far more drastic measure.

How well Cyberpunk 2077 runs currently depends a lot on the platform. Errors are visible everywhere, but the older consoles of the last generation are particularly affected. On the other hand, the action RPG runs well overall on the PC. The backward compatible version on Xbox Series X | S and Playstation 5 run solidly for the most part, but here and there players also report bugs and graphical defects. The reviews for the PC version are mostly good to very good.

The platform “Open Critic” reacted and issued a purchase warning for Cyberpunk 2077 - for the first time in the history of the website: Accordingly, the release was “misleading, selfish and exploitative”, commented Open Critic co-founder Matthew Enthoven about the start.

Cyberpunk 2077 is currently available for Playstation 4, Xbox One, PC and Google Stadia.


Author

Rund eine Woche ist CD Projekt Reds Cyberpunk 2077 nun erhältlich. Der Launch war mindestens für die Last-Gen-Konsolen Xbox One und Playstation 4 gezeichnet von Bugs und Abstürzen. Inzwischen wurde nachgebessert, richtig geholfen hat das aber nicht: Nun geht Sony einen drastischen Schritt und wirft das Spiel aufgrund der Mängel aus dem Playstation-Store. 


Es ist eine kleine Sensation, wenn auch eine im negativen Sinne: Der ansonsten bei Rückerstattungen eher konservativ agieren Elektronikriese Sony beugt weiteren Refund-Anfragen vor und nimmt Cyberpunk 2077 direkt vollständig aus sein Playstation-Store. Die Maßnahme ist eine Reaktion auf die Mängel, die bei vielen Spielern der Xbox- und -Playstation 4-Versionen für Abstürze und Fehler sorgen. CD Projekt Red kommt der missglückte Launch teurer zu stehen; die Märkte reagieren dramatisch: Die Aktie befindet sich derzeit auf Talfahrt und sackte binnen einer Woche auf derzeit 59 Euro ab.

Cyberpunk 2077: Fans sammeln unter #CyberBug2077

Das hätte besser laufen können für CD Projekt Red. So sehr man die Entwickler für ihren Einsatz loben kann, der Launch von Cyberpunk 2077 ist für Playstation 4 und Xbox One alles andere als gut verlaufen. Die Kritik der Spieler häuft sich, CD Projekt Red hatte zwischenzeitlich angeboten, bei Rückerstattungen zu helfen, diese sogar selbst abwickeln zu wollen – inzwischen geht zumindest Sony einen drastischen Schritt und beugt weiteren Refund-Anfragen vor, indem man das Spiel einfach gänzlich aus dem Playstation-Store entfernt. Wer das Spiel bereits gekauft hat, wird selbstverständlich weiterhin darauf zugreifen können.

Sucht man im PS-Shop nach „Cyberpunk“, fehlt nun der wohl populärste Treffer. Auf dem offiziellen Blog kündigte Sony die Maßnahme an und gab bekannt, dass man beginnen werde, eine volle Rückerstattung für alle Käufer anzubieten. Sony teilt dazu mit:

Sony Interactive Entertainment ist stets bestrebt, eine hohe Kundenzufriedenheit zu gewährleisten. Deshalb bieten wir ab sofort allen Spielern, die Cyberpunk 2077 im PlayStation Store gekauft haben, eine vollständige Rückerstattung an. Außerdem wird SIE Cyberpunk 2077 bis auf Weiteres aus dem PlayStation Store entfernen.

Sobald wir verifiziert haben, dass du Cyberpunk 2077 im PlayStation Store gekauft hast, beginnen wir mit der Bearbeitung deiner Rückerstattung. Bitte beachte, dass die Dauer bis zum Abschluss deiner Rückerstattung je nach Zahlungsmethode und Kreditinstitut variieren kann.

Nachdem es zunächst Ärger um abgelehnte Rückerstattungen gab, lenkt Sony nun ein und greift mit dieser weitaus einschneidenderen Maßnahme vor.

Wie gut Cyberpunk 2077 läuft, hängt derzeit stark von der Plattform ab. Fehler sind zwar überall sichtbar, besonders betroffen sind allerdings die betagten Konsolen der letzten Generation. Auf dem PC läuft das Action-Rollenspiel hingegen insgesamt gut. Die abwärtskompatible Version auf Xbox Series X | S und Playstation 5 läuft größtenteils solide, hier und da berichten Spieler jedoch ebenfalls von Fehlern und grafischen Mängeln. Die Reviews für die PC-Version sind vorwiegend gut bis sehr gut ausgefallen.

Auch interessant:
Konsolenverkäufe: Playstation 5 so schnell wie keine andere

Die Plattform „Open Critic“ reagierte und sprach eine Kaufwarnung für Cyberpunk 2077 aus – zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte der Webseite: Demnach sei der Release „irreführend, egoistisch und ausbeuterisch“ gewesen, so kommentierte Open Critic-Mitgründer Matthew Enthoven den Start.

Cyberpunk 2077 ist derzeit erhältlich für Playstation 4, Xbox One, PC und Google Stadia.