Cyberpunk is booming, at least it's still being talked about. A crowdfunding campaign for the miniature board game Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone is currently running on Kickstarter. In cooperation with R. Talsorian Games - the publisher behind the Cyberpunk 2020 series, among other things - Monster Fight Club has started a project in which the cyberpunk license is combined with miniatures and fast skirmish fights. “Crowd financing” is not going through the roof (yet). That should be mainly due to the price. 


Monster Fight Club has not done much so far, most recently it financed crowdfunding campaigns for tabletop terrain and the board game Tentacle Town - and now Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone is not a licensing heavyweight on the program, which is also a hype, is it at least should be, because the Kickstarter campaign does not want to fully ignite yet. The understanding of a “successful” launch phase also depends somewhat on expectations - and these are high. Cyberpunk. Hype. Or?

Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone - Funded in 30 minutes

Admittedly, the campaign has already exceeded the set funding target of around 25.000 euros, and clearly. And yes, the campaign reached the minimum contribution in just under 30 minutes. Nevertheless: In view of the supposedly hyped cyberpunk setting, it could have looked very different, maybe it should - even from the Monster Fight Club's point of view.

More than 550 fans pumped three times the minimum amount into the miniatures skirmish project. The “swarm” is now heading for a first milestone of 100.000 euros. The fact that no more players spontaneously jump on the bandwagon may be due to the prices. Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone as an all-in-pledge, known as “Dark Future”, costs the equivalent of 290 euros without taxes and shipping as much as a cyberpunk implant.

The monetary hurdle is therefore comparatively high, because with miniature board games the motto often applies: either all or nothing. So far, this has also been noticeable in this campaign. Of almost 565 fans, only 40 support the entry-level pledge - and even that costs just under 100 euros without additional costs. Most fans grab the second most expensive pledge for 166 euros and the miniature maxi package for the aforementioned 290 euros. The support level between the two pledges hardly seems to be of interest to fans, presumably the additional price is not also a real added value at the same time.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

 

However, there is no way around the cool style of the miniature board game. The title has the typical Cyberpunk Red charm: colorful, wrecked, weird and at the same time gloomy. It's all about fast skirmish games; characters crammed with cyberware that seem to have been imported directly from the role-playing game template are available for this.

The process is described comparatively quickly: It's about wild close and long-range combat and wounds. This is also the highlight of the game system. Counterattacks are used to hit the attacker back if there are action points left. That leaves room for maneuvering. Movements can also be used strategically; they are determined and dealt with on the gaming table by a three-colored measure.

Why did we expect a bigger launch for the board game? This is mainly due to the hype about Cyberpunk 2077. Or has the drama about CD Projekt Red's hated-loved action role-playing game already worn out as a trending topic? The campaign on Kickstarter may just have gone under the radar so far, so that overall too few players have heard of the title. So: the miniatures tabletop game Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone will run as a crowdfunding campaign through May 13th on Kickstarter.

If everything goes well, supporters should hold the board game in their hands sometime from April 2022, when it will start shipping worldwide. Maybe by then CD Projekt Red has polished up to Cyberpunk 2077 and released the versions for Xbox Series X | S and Playstation 5. At the latest this should give the cyberpunk topic a boost and - this time hopefully positive - provide material for discussion.


Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Cyberpunk boomt, bleibt zumindest im Gespräch. Auf Kickstarter läuft derzeit eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne zum Miniaturen-Brettspiel Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone. In Kooperation mit R. Talsorian Games – dem Verlag unter anderem hinter der Cyberpunk 2020-Serie – hat Monster Fight Club ein Projekt gestartet, bei dem die Cyberpunk-Lizenz mit Miniaturen und schnellen Skirmish-Kämpfen kombiniert wird. Durch die Decke geht die „Schwarmfinanzierung“ (noch) nicht. Das dürfte vor allem am Preis liegen. 


Viel gemacht hat Monster Fight Club bislang nicht, zuletzt hatte man Crowdfunding-Kampagnen zu Tabletop-Terrain finanziert sowie das Brettspiel Tentacle Town – und nun steht mit Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone nicht Lizenz-Schwergewicht auf dem Programm, das gleichzeitig ein Hype ist, oder zumindest sein sollte, denn so ganz zünden will die die Kickstarter-Kampagne noch nicht. Wobei das Verständnis einer „erfolgreichen“ Launch-Phase auch etwas von der Erwartungshaltung abhängig ist – und die ist hoch. Cyberpunk. Hype. Oder?

Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone – In 30 Minuten finanziert

Zugegeben, die Kampagne hat bereits das gesteckte Finanzierungsziel von rund 25.000 Euro überschritten, und zwar deutlich. Und ja, die Kampagne hatte nach knapp 30 Minuten den Mindestbeitrag erreicht. Dennoch: Angesichts des vermeintlich gehypten Cyberpunk-Settings hätte das auch ganz anders aussehen können, vielleicht müssen – auch der Sicht von Monster Fight Club gerne dürfen.

Den dreifachen Mindestbetrag haben über 550 Fans in das Miniaturen-Skirmish-Projekt gepumpt. Inzwischen steuert der „Schwarm“ einen ersten Meilenstein von 100.000 Euro an. Dass nicht mehr Spieler spontan auf den Zug aufspringen, ist möglicherweise den Preisen geschuldet. Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone kostet nämlich als All-in-Pledge, „Dark Future“ genannt, mit umgerechnet 290 Euro ohne Steuern und Versand so viel wie ein Cyberpunk-Implantat.

Die monetäre Hürde ist also vergleichsweise hoch, denn bei Miniaturen-Brettspielen gilt oft die Devise: Entweder alles oder gar nichts. Das macht sich bislang auch bei dieser Kampagne bemerkbar. Von knapp 565 Fan unterstützen nur 40 den Einstieg-Pledge – und selbst der kostet ohne Zusatzkosten bereits knapp 100 Euro. Die meisten Fans greifen zu zweitteuersten Pledge für 166 Euro sowie zum Miniaturen-Maxi-Paket für die erwähnten 290 Euro. Die Unterstützer-Stufe zwischen den beiden Pledges scheint für Fans kaum interessant zu sein, vermutlich ist der Mehrpreis nicht gleichzeitig auch ein echter Mehrwert.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

 

Am coolen Style des Miniaturen-Brettspiels kommt man dennoch nicht vorbei. Der Titel hat den typischen Cyberpunk Red-Charme: Bunt, abgewrackt, schräg und zugleich düster. Um schnelle Skirmish-Partien geht es; zur Verfügung stehen dafür mit Cyberware vollgestopfte Charaktere, die man direkt aus der Rollenspielvorlage importiert zu haben scheint.

Der Ablauf ist vergleichsweise schnell beschrieben: Es geht um wilde Nah- und Fernkampfgefechte und Verwundungen. Darin liegt gleichzeitig der Clou des Spielsystems. Durch Konterangriffe schlägt man nämlich auf die Angreifer zurück, sofern Aktionspunkte übrig sind. Das lässt Raum fürs Taktieren. Auch strategisch nutzen lassen sich Bewegungen, die werden auf dem Spieltisch durch ein dreifarbiges Maß bestimmt und abgehandelt.

Warum wir einen Launch im größeren Stil für das Brettspiel erwartet haben? Das liegt vor allem am Hype um Cyberpunk 2077. Oder hat sich das Drama um CD Projekt Reds gehasst-geliebtem Action-Rollenspiel bereits als Trendthema abgenutzt? Die Kampagne auf Kickstarter lief möglicherweise bislang auch einfach unter dem Radar, sodass insgesamt zu wenig Spieler etwa von dem Titel mitbekommen haben. Also: das Miniaturen-Tabletop-Spiel Cyberpunk Red: Combat Zone läuft bis zum 13. Mai als Crowdfunding-Kampagne auf Kickstarter.

Geht alles glatt, dürften Unterstützer das Brettspiel irgendwann ab April 2022 in den Händen halten, dann nämlich beginnt der weltweite Versand. Vielleicht hat CD Projekt Red bis dahin auf Cyberpunk 2077 ordentlich aufpoliert und die Versionen für Xbox Series X|S und Playstation 5 veröffentlicht. Spätestens das dürfte dem Cyberpunk-Thema wieder Auftrieb bescheren und für – diesmal hoffentlich positiven – Diskussionsstoff sorgen.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 18.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API