A bitter conflict has been smoldering in our society for decades, unnoticed by the general public. It is more than just a confrontation between different worldviews. It is about nothing less than the question of which icons our children should emulate and who has the authority to interpret style and beauty in art. And about whether Batman or Spider-Man is the cooler one.


We are, of course, talking about the rivalry between the comic book universes of Marvel and DC. The debate about which of these fantasy worlds is better has sparked over comic books, continued on the big screen, and has now reached video games as well. So it is high time to clarify once and for all which side is right.

Console, PC, smartphone

Shortly after the first game consoles saw the light of day, Marvel and DC conquered them with the first action games. DC started in 1979 super man In 1982, Marvel went along with it Spider-Man after. Since then, game developers have launched dozens of games for both sides, including platform games, puzzle games, and role-playing games.

But software manufacturers for casino games also like to use superheroes as a theme for new slot machines. For a long time now it is no longer enough to just build fruit symbols and jokers into the machines, because here too, in addition to profitable functions, players expect action-packed gameplay. On top of that is the Awarding of free spins Not uncommon in online casinos and with these slots can be tested free of charge, at least for a short time. There are offers from both sides for every platform and for every type of gamer. The individual games are sometimes better, sometimes worse. But which of the two conflicting parties is most convincing overall?

By numbers

While DC was a little faster in getting into video game marketing, Marvel clearly has the edge when it comes to the numbers. More than 150 Marvel games have appeared since 1982, while DC only has 90 titles. Most of the digital appearances can also be claimed by a Marvel superhero, namely Spider-Man. He has swung across the screen 47 times and kicked criminals in the buttocks, not counting guest appearances.

Whether Batman and Superman are cool enough, that question remains with toys too. Photo: pixabay

Whether Batman and Superman are cool enough, that question remains with toys too. Photo: pixabay

The number 1 at DC, Batman, is hot on his heels with 43 games. He can also score points with the critics: on the platform Metacritic is Batman: Arkham City With 96 out of 100 points the best rated comic game of all time. Still, the winner by the numbers is arguably Marvel.

By genre

But numbers are not everything, of course. Because among so many comic book games there are also some real rivets. But what about the flagship titles? Who delivers the better overall show here? In the open world games category, DC clears away with Arkham City. They also have the best MMO online with DC Universe.

In the crossover fighters, however, Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom clearly wins. And the best too Lego adaptation Marvel can claim for itself, because there is no DC adaptation so far. Overall, DC is probably ahead in terms of the quality of the games, if only by a small margin. Otherwise, Marvel would have to be declared the clear winner, and it would be a real shame to just settle this traditional feud.


Author

Unbemerkt von der breiten Öffentlichkeit schwelt seit Jahrzehnten ein erbitterter Konflikt in unserer Gesellschaft. Es handelt sich um mehr als nur eine Konfrontation zwischen verschiedenen Weltanschauungen. Es geht um nichts weniger als die Frage, welchen Ikonen unsere Kinder nacheifern sollen und wer die Deutungshoheit über Stil und Schönheit in der Kunst inne hat. Und darum, ob jetzt Batman oder Spider-Man der coolere ist.


Die Rede ist natürlich von der Rivalität zwischen den Comic-Universen von Marvel und DC. Die Debatte darüber, welche dieser Fantasiewelten nun die bessere ist, hat sich über Comicbücher entfacht, sich vor der Kinoleinwand fortgesetzt und hat nun auch das Videospiel erreicht. Höchste Zeit also, ein für alle Mal zu klären, welche Seite recht hat.

Konsole, PC, Smartphone

Schon kurz nachdem die ersten Spielkonsolen das Licht der Welt erblickten, wurden sie von Marvel und DC mit den ersten Actionspielen erobert. Den Anfang machte für DC 1979 Superman, 1982 zog Marvel mit Spider-Man nach. Seither haben Spieleentwickler für beide Seiten dutzende Spiele ins Rennen gebracht, darunter Jump‘n‘Run-Varianten, Puzzlespiele und Rollenspiele.

Aber auch Software-Hersteller für Casino-Spiele nehmen Superhelden gern zum Thema für neue Spielautomaten. Schon lange reicht es nicht mehr, nur Fruchtsymbole und Joker in die Automaten einzubauen, denn die Spieler erwarten auch hier neben profitablen Funktionen einen actionreichen Spielverlauf. Obendrein ist die Vergabe von Freispielen in Online Casinos keine Seltenheit und mit diesen können Slots zumindest für kurze Zeit kostenlos angetestet werden. Für jede Plattform und für jeden Gamer-Typ gibt es also von beiden Seiten Angebote. Die einzelnen Spiele sind mal besser, mal schlechter. Aber welche der beiden Konfliktparteien kann insgesamt am meisten überzeugen?

Nach Zahlen

Auch wenn DC beim Einstieg in die Videospielvermarktung ein wenig schneller war, hat Marvel ganz klar die Nase vorne, wenn es nach Zahlen geht. Mehr als 150 Marvel-Games sind seit 1982 erschienen, während es DC nur auf knapp 90 Titel bringt. Auch die meisten digitalen Auftritte kann ein Marvel-Superheld für sich beanspruchen, nämlich Spider-Man. 47 Mal schwang er bislang über den Bildschirm und trat Verbrechern in den Hintern, Gastauftritte nicht mit eingerechnet.

Ob Batman und Superman cool genug sind, diese Frage bleibt auch beim Spielzeug. Foto: pixabay

Ob Batman und Superman cool genug sind, diese Frage bleibt auch beim Spielzeug. Foto: pixabay

Die Nummer 1 bei DC, Batman, ist ihm mit 43 Spielen aber dicht auf den Fersen. Außerdem kann er bei den Kritikern punkten: Auf der Plattform Metacritic ist Batman: Arkham City mit 96 von 100 Punkten das bestbewertete Comic-Game aller Zeiten. Trotzdem ist der Sieger nach Zahlen wohl eindeutig Marvel.

Nach Genre

Aber Zahlen sind natürlich nicht alles. Denn unter so vielen Comic-Games befinden sich auch einige echte Nieten. Aber wie schaut es eigentlich mit den Flaggschiff-Titeln aus? Wer liefert hier insgesamt die bessere Show ab? In der Kategorie Open World-Spiele räumt ganz klar DC mit Arkham City ab. Auch das beste MMO haben sie mit DC Universe online im Angebot.

Bei den Crossover-Fightern gewinnt hingegen ganz klar Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom. Und auch die beste Lego-Adaption kann Marvel für sich beanspruchen, denn eine DC-Adaption gibt es bislang nicht. Insgesamt liegt DC bei der Qualität der Spiele wohl vorne, wenn auch nur knapp. Denn ansonsten müsste jetzt Marvel zum eindeutigen Sieger erklärt werden, und es wäre wirklich schade, diese traditionsreiche Fehde einfach so beizulegen.