It would be no less than a surprise if a remaster of Diablo 2 was released later this year. The chances have been rather bad so far, but now the new edition of the Hack'n Slay classic should be so advanced that a release could be realized this year, at least that's what current rumors say. 


When Blizzard announced a remaster for Starcraft, voices were raised that a corresponding revision for the action-RPG classic Diablo 2 should be implemented directly. Since then, a Diablo remaster has been discussed again and again, but there has never been any specific information. Last but not least, this was due to the fact that Blizzard itself did not believe so much in the possibility of a really successful implementation. David Brevik stated over two years ago that it could be difficult to produce a remaster that feels like the original Diablo 2.

Subsidiary is working on a remake for Diablo 2

Now there is cause for hope for all those fans who never gave up the idea of ​​a Diablo 2 remaster completely. The French gaming website Actugaming* reports that Vicarious Visions, as a subsidiary of Activision-Blizzard, is working on a remaster for D2 and that the game should be released this year, more precisely in the fourth quarter of 2020.

The information cannot be completely dismissed. The French portal already had over in advance About Diablo 4 and Overwatch 2 reported - even before Blizzards had released exactly these details to the public. It could therefore be more than just community rumors.

The intro to Diablo 2 exudes eight minutes of nostalgia:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

The Vicarious Visions development studio actually does exist. For 30 years. The developers have been working on handheld titles and, most recently, implementations of Destiny 2 responsible for the PC, as well as the Crash Bandicoot N Sane Trilogy.

However, there have been no official announcements by Blizzard yet. Perhaps the Californians are after the messed up start of the Warcraft 3 remasters became careful not to disappoint fans again.

[atkp_product id = '9814 ′ template =' secondwide '] [/ atkp_product]


  • [stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

Author

Es wäre nicht weniger als eine Überraschung, wenn ein Remaster zu Diablo 2 noch in diesem Jahr veröffentlicht werden würde. Die Chancen stand bislang eher schlecht, nun soll die Neuauflage des Hack’n Slay-Klassikers allerdings bereits soweit fortgeschritten sein, dass ein Release noch in diesem Jahr realisiert werden könne, das zumindest besagen aktuelle Gerüchte. 


Als Blizzard ein Remaster zu Starcraft ankündigte wurden Stimmen laut, dass man direkt auch eine entsprechende Überarbeitung für den Action-RPG-Klassiker Diablo 2 umsetzen solle. Seitdem ist ein Diablo  Remaster immer mal wieder im Gespräch, konkrete Informationen gab es allerdings nie. Nicht zuletzt lag das daran, dass Blizzard selbst nicht so sehr an die Möglichkeit einer wirklich gelungenen Umsetzung geglaubt hat. David Brevik erklärte bereits vor über zwei Jahren, dass es schwierig werden könnte, ein Remaster zu produzieren, das sich wie das ursprüngliche Diablo 2 anfühlt.

Tochterunternehmen arbeitet an Remake zu Diablo 2

Nun gibt es Anlass zur Hoffnung für all jene Fans, die die Idee eines Diablo 2 Remaster niemals so ganz aufgeben hatten. Die französische Gaming-Webseite Actugaming* berichtet davon, dass Vicarious Visions als Tochterunternehmen von Activision-Blizzard an einem Remaster zu D2 arbeite und das Spiel noch in diesem Jahr, genauer im vierten Quartal 2020, auf den Markt kommen solle.

Ganz von der Hand weisen kann man die Information nicht. Das französische Portal hatte bereits im Vorfeld über Infos zu Diablo 4 und Overwatch 2 berichtet – und zwar noch bevor Blizzards genau diese Details an die Öffentlichkeit getragen hatte. Es könnte sich daher um mehr als nur Community-Gerüchte handeln.

Acht Minuten Nostalgie versprüht das Intro zu Diablo 2:

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Das Entwicklerstudio Vicarious Visions gibt es darüber hinaus tatsächlich. Und zwar bereits seit 30 Jahren. Die Entwickler haben an Handheld-Titeln gearbeitet sowie jüngst die Umsetzungen von Destiny 2 für den PC verantwortet, ebenso wie die Crash Bandicoot N Sane Trilogy.

Offizielle Ankündigungen seitens Blizzard gibt es bislang allerdings nicht. Möglicherweise sind die Kalifornier nach dem verkorksten Start des Warcraft 3 Remaster vorsichtig geworden, um Fans nicht erneut zu enttäuschen.

[atkp_product id=’9814′ template=’secondwide‘][/atkp_product]


  • [stextbox id=’autor‘ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion‘]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]