With Diablo 2 Resurrected, Blizzard has revived the classic of yore for PC and consoles. By the way, what also needs an urgent revival is Battle.net - little to nothing is currently going on. Blizzard is keeping an eye on the issues and working to fix them. Still, you can't play. 


Press A to begin - it sounds that simple on the Diablo 2 Resurrected for Xbox Series X | S home screen. If you press the promising button, - exactly - nothing happens. Communication problems with Blizzard's in-house service “battle.net” persist weeks after the action RPG was released. They are working on solutions, the customer service on Twitter publishes almost tirelessly. 

Diablo 2 Resurrected: Problems for Weeks

Again and again, Blizzard investigates reports of login problems, it says regularly on Twitter. The servers are apparently overwhelmed with the success that seems to have come as a surprise to the developers. Small and large failures have accompanied the gaming experience since the release on September 23rd. Diablo 2 Resurrected has been revived, but obviously not yet arrived in modern times. Most of the time it works offline, sometimes nothing works online. Blizzard even has it for that Explanations supplied: Among other things, the problems are due to the original Diablo 2 code, which was used as the basis - and it is old. As it turns out: too old. 

And the databases are also overloaded. This is due to the player behavior, which is completely different today than it was then. Blizzard had expected the problems according to its own information and made preparations, but not enough. Last week's update revealed a particularly big problem that caused frustration in the community. It has not yet subsided, because the “battle.net” is simply not running smoothly. In any case, the anger on the part of the fans is great. Understandable, after all the fear of rollbacks is great - in the worst case, what has been won would then be gone. According to Murphy's law, you would find a valuable unique item at the most problematic time, which the server then “takes away” from you. That makes for a lot of noise in the network. 

So you have to be patient if you want to play Diablo 2 Resurrected online. Blizzard is working on solutions and they are buying it from the developers. From the disaster around Warcraft 3 Reforged one has learned from new editions: Queues should now fix it and relieve the server. The new update 10.15 implements the “feature”. Blizzard fans know queues anyway, at World of Warcraft the developers relieve the servers with a similar system. For PC gamers, the waiting service comes first, console gamers obviously have to queue up in real-life queues - it should be ready in the next week. The queues should only be displayed if the server load is too high. Offline players are not affected by the measure, they can just close the queues and begin. 


Author

Last updated on 18.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit Diablo 2 Resurrected hat Blizzard den Klassiker von einst für PC und Konsolen wiederbelebt. Was auch einer dringenden Wiederbelebung bedarf, ist übrigens das Battle.net – da geht derzeit wenig bis gar nichts. Blizzard hat die Probleme im Blick, arbeitet an deren Behebung. Spielen kann man trotzdem nicht. 


A drücken, um zu beginnen – so einfach klingt es auf dem Startbildschirm von Diablo 2 Resurrected für Xbox Series X|S. Drückt man den verheißungsvollen Knopf, passiert – genau – gar nichts. Kommunikationsprobleme mit Blizzards hauseigenem Service “battle.net” halten auch Wochen nach dem Release des Action-Rollenspiels an. Man arbeite an Lösungen, veröffentlicht der Kundenservice auf Twitter nahezu unermüdlich. 

Diablo 2 Resurrected: Probleme über Wochen

Immer wieder untersucht Blizzard Meldungen zu Login-Problemen, heißt es regelmäßig auf Twitter. Die Server sind offenbar überfordert mit dem für die Entwickler scheinbar überraschenden Erfolg. Kleine und große Ausfälle begleiten seit Release am 23. September das Spielerlebnis. Diablo 2 Resurrected ist wiederbelebt worden, offensichtlich aber noch nicht in der Neuzeit angekommen.  Offline läufts meist, online geht bisweilen nichts. Blizzard hat dafür sogar Erklärungen geliefert: Unter anderem bestehen die Probleme aufgrund des Original-Codes von Diablo 2, den man als Basis verwendet hat – und der ist alt. Wie sich nun zeigt: zu alt. 

Und auch die Datenbanken seien überlastet. Das liegt am dem Spielerverhalten, das heute völlig anders ist als damals. Blizzard hatte die Probleme nach eigenen Angaben erwartet und auch Vorbereitungen getroffen, aber nicht ausreichend. Bei dem Update in der vergangenen Woche ist es zu einem besonders großen Problem gekommen, das in der Community für Frust sorgte. Der hat sich noch nicht gelegt, denn es läuft einfach nicht rund mit dem “battle.net”. Der Ärger auf Seiten der Fans ist jedenfalls groß. Verständlich, immerhin ist vor allem die Furcht vor Rollbacks groß – Erspieltes wäre dann im schlimmsten Fall weg. Nach Murphys Gesetz würde man genau zur problematischsten Zeit ein kostbares Unique Item finden, das der Server einem dann wieder “wegnimmt”. Das sorgt für mächtig Stunk im Netz. 

Man muss also Geduld aufbringen, wenn man Diablo 2 Resurrected online spielen will. Blizzard arbeitet an Lösungen und man kauft es den Entwicklern ab. Aus dem Desaster um Warcraft 3 Reforged hat man bei Neuauflagen gelernt: Warteschlangen sollen es nun richten und die Server entlasten. Das neue Update 10.15 implementiert das “Feature”. Blizzard-Fans kennen Warteschlangen ohnehin, bei World of Warcraft entlasten die Entwickler die Server mit einem ähnlichen System. Für PC-Spieler kommt der Warteservice zunächst, Konsolenspieler müssen sich offenbar in eine Reallife-Warteschlangen einreihen – in der nächsten Woche soll es soweit sein. Angezeigt werden, sollen die Warteschlangen nur, wenn die Serverlast zu groß ist. Offline-Spieler betrifft die Maßnahme nicht, sie können die Warteschlangen einfach schließen und beginnen. 


Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API