The German version of the dice game Dice Throne is being crowdfunded at the Spieleschmiede - and it is successful. Almost three quarters of the financing amount has already been raised by around 300 supporters to make the project a success. It is therefore very likely that the campaign will ultimately reach the target market of 72.000 euros.


With Dice Throne, Roxley Games had a Kickstarter success at the time: they only wanted to collect 15.000 US dollars in order to be able to implement the fantasy dice game. In the end, over 3.600 backers invested a total of more than 180.000 US dollars. But that's not all: Dice Throne - Season Two was far more successful - the campaign brought in over 730.000 US dollars, the equivalent of a little over 600.000 euros.

Dice Throne: Grimspire is putting together packages

Compared to the Kickstarter sums, the crowdfunding campaign of the game company of the game offensive almost looks like a low-budget project. Nevertheless: fans have taken the pricing as an occasion for criticism. The basic game is too expensive, it was said several times on social media; The “all-in” package is more attractive in terms of price, but many fans have decided not to support the game for the fun it offers.

You can argue about taste, but there is a reason for the price: “In the Dice Throne shop, a hero box currently costs 25 US dollars - the latest, Treant vs Ninja Rerolled even costs 28 US dollars,” says crowdfunding project manager Sven Göhlich. Grimspire is also targeting 25 euros as an RRP per box.

Otherwise it is basically more of a 'David versus Goliath' price war, which you can hardly win at the Spieleschmiede: “There is no question that a Kickstarter, in which almost 8.000 people participate, ensures a better circulation, with which we cannot compete ”Explains Sven Göhlich. But: "The all-in level is extremely attractive in terms of price."

Frank Noack explained why this is so in a comment: The production is very special and the quantities and constellations of the articles and the quantities of articles are set rather rigidly so that the project can work at all. “Especially the many special cubes cause a lot of headache. That's why everything only works seasonally and, if possible, in such a way that many people also use both seasons, because in the end it has to be produced in the right proportion ”.

Roxley Games initially had quality concerns. Grimspire should take care of the localization first. This is related to the lack of “adventures”, because crowdfunding could also follow if the swarm financing is successful. “We'll see when Adventures comes to the forge, unfortunately I can't say that yet,” said Sven Göhlich on Facebook.

Around 70.000 euros have to be collected in order to produce the German version of Dice Throne. Image: Grimspire / Roxley Games

Around 70.000 euros have to be collected in order to produce the German version of Dice Throne. Image: Grimspire / Roxley Games

Even if some critics describe Dice Throne as a “better trick”, the game is comparatively well received overall. At Boardgamegeek, for example, the average rating is 7.8.

Dice Throne is a fast, strategic game in which two to six players, ages eight and up, compete against each other with their characters using dice and the tactical use of their cards. Depending on the number of players, it is possible to play 1 against 1, 2 against 2, 3 against 3 or everyone against everyone in the arena.

The focus is on the characters - divided into seasons: Each character plays differently and has individual skills and attacks that players can activate by combining the different dice. By playing cards you can manipulate thrown dice, trigger status effects or your abilities in the course of the game
verbessern.

And then there is the “Battle Chest” as a lure. In the Spieleschmiede, the deluxe box could be realized if enough supporters join in, as the minimum number of copies is very high, reveals the project website. However, one does not give a value in numbers, not even when asked. At least on this point it remains exciting: “The improvement target will be made public as soon as the financing target has been reached,” says project manager Göhlich.

The dice game costs 90 euros each for season 1 or 2, an all-in package costs as part of the Dice Throne crowdfunding campaign 179 euros. For 479 euros there is an all-round carefree package that includes all 16 heroes, card sleeves and 20 playmats. Currently over 50.000 euros of the required 72.000 euros have already been generated through the campaign.


Preview Product Rating Price
Super-Motherload - The Board Game - Roxley Super-Motherload - The Board Game - Roxley * 63,95 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die deutsche Version des Würfelspiels Dice Throne läuft in der Spieleschmiede als Crowdfunding – und das erfolgreich. Knapp dreiviertel der Finanzierungssumme haben rund 300 Unterstützer bereits aufgebracht, um dem Projekt zum Erfolg zu verhelfen. Es ist damit sehr wahrscheinlich, dass die Kampagne letztendlich die gesteckte Zielmarkt von 72.000 Euro erreicht.


Mit Dice Throne hat Roxley Games seinerzeit einen Kickstarter-Erfolg hingelegt: 15.000 US-Dollar hatte man lediglich sammeln wollen, um das Fantasy-Würfelspiel umsetzen zu können. Am Ende haben über 3.600 Unterstützer eine Gesamtsumme von mehr als 180.000 US-Dollar investiert. Damit nicht genug: Dice Throne – Season Two war ungleich erfolgreicher – die Kampagne brachte über 730.000 US-Dollar ein, umgerechnet etwas über 600.000 Euro.

Dice Throne: Grimspire schnürt Pakete

Im Vergleich zu den Kickstarter-Summen wirkt die Crowdfunding-Kampagne der Spieleschmiede der Spiele-Offensive fast schon wie ein Low-Budget-Projekt. Dennoch: Fans haben die Preisgestaltung zum Anlass für Kritik genommen. Zu teuer sei das Grundspiel, hieß es mehrfach in den Sozialen Medien; preislich attraktiver sei zwar das „All-in“-Paket, aber für den gebotenen Spielspaß hatten viele Fans dennoch auf eine Unterstützung verzichtet.

Über Geschmack kann man streiten, der Preis hat einen Grund:  „Im Dice Throne-Shop kostet eine Heldenbox aktuell 25 US-Dollar  – die aktuellste, Treant vs Ninja Rerolled sogar 28 US-Dollar“, so Crowdfunding-Projektmanager Sven Göhlich. Grimspire peile ebenfalls 25 Euro als UVP je Box an.

Ansonsten ist es grundsätzlich eher ein Preiskampf à la ‚David gegen Goliath‘, den man bei der Spieleschmiede kaum gewinnen kann: „Dass ein Kickstarter, bei dem fast 8.000 Personen mitmachen für eine bessere Auflage sorgt, steht außer Frage, damit können wir nicht konkurrieren“, erklärt Sven Göhlich. Aber: „Die All-In-Stufe ist preislich dafür äußerst attraktiv.“

Warum das so ist, hat Frank Noack in einem Kommentar erklärt: Die Produktion sei sehr speziell und die Stückzahlen und Konstellationen der Artikel und Artikelmengen ziemlich starr festgelegt, damit das Projekt überhaupt funktionieren könne. „Besonders die vielen speziellen Würfel machen da eine Menge Kopfzerbrechen. Daher geht auch alles nur season-weise und möglichst so, dass viele Leute auch beide Seasons nehmen, weil das am Ende im richtigen Verhältnis produziert werden muss“.

Roxley Games hatte zunächst Qualitätsbedenken. Grimspire solle sich zunächst um die Lokalisierung kümmern. Bezogen ist das auf das Fehlen von „Adventures“, da könnte bei Erfolg der Schwarmfinanzierung ebenfalls ein Crowdfunding folgen. „Wann Adventures in die Schmiede kommt, wird man sehen, das kann ich leider noch nicht sagen“, so Sven Göhlich über Facebook.

Rund 70.000 Euro müssen gesammelt werden, um die deutsche Version von Dice Throne realisieren zu können. Bild: Grimspire/Roxley Games
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Rund 70.000 Euro müssen gesammelt werden, um die deutsche Version von Dice Throne realisieren zu können. Bild: Grimspire/Roxley Games

Auch wenn so mancher Kritiker Dice Throne als ein „besseres Kniffel“ bezeichnet, kommt das Spiel insgesamt vergleichsweise gut an. Bei Boardgamegeek liegt der Wertungsschnitt beispielsweise bei 7.8.

Auch interessant:
Nintendo Switch: Über 30 neue Spiele in den kommenden Monaten

Dice Throne ist ein schnelles, durchaus strategisches Spiel, bei dem zwei bis sechs Spieler ab acht Jahren mithilfe von Würfeln und dem taktischen Einsatz ihrer Karten mit ihren Charakteren gegeneinander antreten. Je nach Spielerzahl ist es möglich, 1 gegen 1, 2 gegen 2, 3 gegen 3 oder jeder gegen jeden in die Arena zu treten.

Im Fokus stehen dabei die – in Seasons aufgeteilten – Charaktere: Jeder Charakter spielt sich anders und verfügt über individuelle Fähigkeiten und Angriffe, die Spieler durch Kombinieren der jeweils unterschiedlichen Würfel aktivieren können. Durch das Ausspielen von Karten können sie geworfene Würfel zusätzlich manipulieren, Statuseffekte auslösen oder ihre Fähigkeiten im Laufe des Spiels
verbessern.

Und dann ist da noch die „Battle Chest“ als Lockmittel. In der Spieleschmiede könnte die Deluxe-Schachtel realisiert werden, wenn genug Unterstützer mitmachen, da die Mindestauflage dafür sehr hoch sei, verrät die Projektseite. Einen Wert in Zahlen nennt man allerdings nicht, auch nicht auf Nachfrage. Es bleibt zumindest in diesem Punkt spannend: „Das Verbesserungsziel wird öffentlich, sobald das Finanzierungsziel erreicht ist“, meint Projektmanager Göhlich.

Das Würfelspiel schlägt mit jeweils 90 Euro für Staffel 1 oder 2 zu Buch, ein All-in-Paket kostet im Rahmen der Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu Dice Throne 179 Euro. Für 479 Euro gibt es ein Rund-um-sorglos-Paket, das alle 16 Helden, Kartenhüllen sowie 20 Spielmatten umfasst. Derzeit sind über die Kampagne bereits über 50.000 Euro von benötigten 72.000 Euro generiert worden.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 25.02.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API