The deck builder Dominion has received a new digital version. After a beta phase, the game from Studio Temple Gates Games is now in an Early Access phase. The game currently runs on Steam (PC), iOS and Android. 

In addition to the free base game, there are also numerous, albeit chargeable, expansions available. In addition to the normal extensions, there are also promo packs or the first editions of The intrigue or the base game. Also the latest expansion Allies has already been announced but has not yet been published. So far you can play in English and Japanese.

If you want to play an expansion in a group, it is sufficient if the host of the game (ie the person who creates the game room) owns the expansion. You can play live, in real time, or asynchronously and spread your moves over several days - similar to what you might know from correspondence chess.

How does Dominion even work?

Dominion is a deck builder. That means you start with a weak deck and have to upgrade it as the game progresses. There are three types of cards: money, point and action cards. Point cards are only important at the end of the game, since the person with the most points wins.

In the course of the game, these cards are more of a hindrance because you can't do anything with them. With money cards, on the other hand, you can buy action cards, (higher value) money cards or point cards. The action cards represent the core of the game and improve your deck.

Dominion digital version

This is what the game's interface looks like. Image: Temple Gates Games / Steam

By default, each turn you have an action where you can play an action card and a buy where you can buy a card. Many action cards, as the name suggests, give you specific actions. So it can be that you play a card and then take more cards in your hand, have more actions available, or are allowed to make several purchases.

These actions are explained on each card, and the "better" a card is, the more money you have to spend to buy it for your deck. So you have to try to have as much money as possible in each round.

The game ends as soon as all provinces (this is the highest point card) or any three stacks have been bought empty. Then all people add up the points they have collected and the person with the most points wins.

How long the Early access phase will last is currently unknown. Temple Gate Games has been using the last few years Race for the Galaxy, Roll for the Galaxy  and Shards of Infinity already implemented some board games digitally.


Last updated on 5.12.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Deckbuilder Dominion hat eine neue digitale Version erhalten. Nach einer Beta-Phase befindet sich das Spiel vom Studio Temple Gates Games jetzt in einer Early Access Phase. Aktuell läuft das Spiel auf Steam (PC), iOS und Android. 

Neben dem kostenlosen Basisspiel sind auch die zahlreichen, wenn auch kostenpflichtigen, Erweiterungen verfügbar. Neben den normalen Erweiterungen gibt es auch Promo-Packs oder die ersten Editionen von Die Intrige oder dem Basisspiel. Auch die neuste Erweiterung Allies wurde bereits angekündigt, ist aber aktuell noch nicht veröffentlicht. Spielen könnt ihr bisher auf englisch und japanisch.

Wenn ihr in einer Gruppe eine Erweiterung spielen wollt, reicht es aus, wenn der Host des Spiels (also die Person, die den Spielraum erstellt) die Erweiterung besitzt. Ihr könnt live, in Echtzeit spielen oder auch asynchron und eure jeweiligen Züge über mehrere Tage verteilen – ähnlich, wie man es vielleicht vom Fernschach kennt.

Wie funktioniert Dominion überhaupt?

Dominion ist ein Deckbuilder. Das heißt ihr startet mit einem schwachen Deck und müsst dieses im Laufe des Spiels aufwerten. Dabei gibt drei Arten von Karten: Geld-, Punkte- und Aktionskarten. Punktekarten sind nur am Spielende wichtig, da die Person mit den meisten Punkten gewinnt.

Im Laufe des Spiels sind diese Karten eher hinderlich, da ihr mit ihnen nichts machen könnt. Mit Geldkarten hingegen könnt ihr euch Aktionskarten, (höherwertige) Geldkarten oder Punktekarten kaufen. Die Aktionskarten stellen der Kern des Spiels dar und verbessern euer Deck.

Dominion, digitale Version

So sieht das die Oberfläche des Spiels aus. Bild: Temple Gates Games / Steam

In jeder Runde habt ihr standartmäßig eine Aktion, in der ihr eine Aktionskarte ausspielen könnt und einen Kauf, mit dem ihr eine Karte kaufen könnt. Viele Aktionskarten geben euch, wie der Name vermuten lässt, bestimmte Aktionen. So kann es sein, dass ihr eine Karte ausspielt und anschließend weitere Karten auf die Hand nehmt, weitere Aktionen zur Verfügung habt, oder mehrere Käufe tätigen dürft.

Diese Aktionen werden auf den Karten jeweils erklärt und je “besser” eine Karte ist, desto mehr Geld müsst ihr einsetzen, um sie für euer Deck zu Kaufen. Ihr müsst also auch versuchen möglichst viel Geld in den jeweiligen Runden zur Verfügung zu haben.

Das Spiel endet sobald alle Provinzen (das ist die höchste Punktekarte) oder drei beliebige Stapel leergekauft wurden. Dann zählen alle Personen direkt ihre gesammelten Punkte zusammen und die Person mit den meisten Punkten gewinnt.

Wie lange die Early Access Phase dauern wird, ist aktuell noch nicht bekannt. Temple Gate Games hat in den letzten Jahren mit Race for the Galaxy, Roll for the Galaxy und Shards of Infinity bereits einige Brettspiele digital umgesetzt.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 26.11.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API