Electronic Arts is expanding its American football portfolio. After Madden NFL, the publisher will now also bring a video game from the college football area to the market. EA has now announced this for a cooperation with CLC, the college licensing company. The developers are already working on EA Sports College Football. There is no release date yet.


The College Football project will move forward “in the coming years”, Electronic Arts has not yet announced a release date. Now it is certain that Electronic Arts is bringing the college football brand back to gaming screens. In 2004, NCAA Football, a licensed sports game, ran until 2014. According to Electronic Arts, the offshoots of the series sold tens of millions of copies. The revival of the franchise is no accident: In recent years, college football has grown in popularity in parallel with the NFL franchise.

Football Games: There's Life Before the NFL

Fans will soon be able to let the egg fly again in college - and not just as a decoupling from Electronic Arts' main football series Madden NFL, which is already the number 21 branch spawned, which meanwhile in an all around improved version is also available for Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S.

"We heard from the millions of passionate fans who are calling for the return of college football video games," said Cam Weber, EA SPORTS EVP and GM. You love the energy, tradition, and pomp of college football. Weber confirms that the new old franchise is "back in development". "We have a lot of really exciting work ahead of us and a great team that is looking to bring a new game out for the fans in the next few years."

NCAA Football 14 was released in 2013:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

The CLC as licensor is also pleased about the cooperation with Electronic Arts. Even more, however, about reviving a popular college football franchise series. "The college soccer video game connects passionate fans with college brands and introduces new fans to the tradition, thrill and matchday experiences that make college football unique," said CLC CEO Cory Moss.

More than 100 institutions including logos, stadiums, jerseys and the trimmings that distinguish the respective teams are part of the license. So Electronic Arts is actually going to bring a college football sports simulation as close to reality as possible. However, this does not apply to the images of the college players. There will be no names, pictures and similarities, but EA Sports will closely follow the developments in this regard.

Electronic Arts has not announced a release date, but it could still be some time before the game appears. EA explicitly states that a date will be given while the project is being worked on in the coming years. Sounds like you're just starting out on a long journey.


Preview Product Rating Price
Madden NFL 21 - (includes free upgrade to PS5) -... Madden NFL 21 - (includes free upgrade to PS5) -... * 9,00 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Electronic Arts erweitert sein American-Football-Portfolio. Nach Madden NFL wird der Publisher nun auch ein Videospiele aus dem College-Football-Bereich auf den Markt bringen. Das hat EA nun zu einer Kooperation mit CLC, dem College-Lizenzunternehmen, bekannt gegeben. Die Entwickler arbeiten bereits an EA Sports College Football. Einen Veröffentlichungstermin gibt es noch nicht.


Das Projekt College Football wird „in den kommenden Jahren“ voranschreiten, Electronic Arts hatte noch keinen Release-Termin genannt. Nun ist sicher, dass Electronic Arts die College-Football-Marke zurück auf die Gaming-Bildschirme bringt. Im Jahr 2004 erschien mit NCAA Football ein Sportspiel auf Basis der Lizenz, die Reihe lief bis zum Jahr 2014. Laut Electronic Arts verkaufte man von den Ablegern der Reihe mehrere zehn Millionen Exemplare. Die Wiederbelebung des Franchise ist kein Zufall: In den vergangenen Jahren hat College-Football parallel zur NFL-Franchise enorm an Popularität gewonnen.

Football-Games: Es gibt ein Leben vor der NFL

Fans können damit bald wieder im College-Bereich das Ei fliegen lassen – und zwar nicht nur als Auskopplung aus Electronic Arts‘ Football-Hauptreihe Madden NFL, die bereits Ableger Nummer 21 hervorbrachte, der inzwischen in einer rundum verbesserten Version auch für Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S verfügbar ist.

„Wir haben von den Millionen leidenschaftlicher Fans gehört, die die Rückkehr von College-Football-Videospielen fordern“, freut sich Cam Weber, EA SPORTS EVP und GM. Man liebe die Energie, Tradition und den Prunk des College-Footballs. Weber bestätigt zu der neuen alten Franchise, dass „wir uns wieder in der Entwicklung befinden“. „Wir haben eine Menge wirklich spannender Arbeit vor uns und ein großartiges Team, das in den nächsten Jahren ein neues Spiel für die Fans herausbringen möchte.“

NCAA Football 14 erschien im Jahr 2013:

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Auch bei der CLC als Lizenzgeber ist man erfreut über die Zusammenarbeit mit Electronic Arts. Noch mehr jedoch darüber, dass man eine beliebten College-Football-Lizenzreihe wiederbeleben wird. „Das College-Fußball-Videospiel verbindet leidenschaftliche Fans mit College-Marken und führt neue Fans in die Tradition, den Thrill und die Erlebnisse an den Spieltagen ein, die College-Football einzigartig machen“, meint CLC-CEO Cory Moss.

Mehr als 100 Institutionen samt Logos, Stadien, Trikots und dem Drumherum, dass die jeweiligen Mannschaften auszeichnet, sind Bestandteil der Lizenz. Electronic Arts wird also tatsächlich eine College-Football-Sportsimulation möglichst nah an der Realität auf den Markt bringen. Das gilt allerdings nicht für die Abbilder der College-Spieler. Es wird keine Namen, Bilder und Ähnlichkeiten geben, allerdings wird EA Sports die die Entwicklungen diesbezüglich eng begleiten.

Auch interessant:
Zombicide: Undead or Alive - Kickstarter kratzt an der Millionengrenze

Einen Veröffentlichungstermin hat Electronic Arts nicht genannt, es könnte allerdings auch noch einige Zeit dauern, bis das Spiel erscheint. EA gibt explizit an, dass man einen Termin noch nennen wird, während an dem Projekt in den kommen Jahren gearbeitet wird. Klingt so, als stünde man noch am Anfang einer längeren Reise.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 24.02.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API