The good sales figures in Great Britain last year are now followed by good news from China, at least from Nintendo's point of view: As analyst Daniel Ahmad reports via Twitter, Tencent has launched around a million copies of the Nintendo Switch in China. That's more than the Playstation 4 and Xbox One combined over the same period.


The quote from Daniel Ahmad, an analyst at Niko Partners, was used via the Reuters news agency. Accordingly, since the end of 2019 - at which time the Nintendo Switch was officially released in China - around one million copies of the hybrid console have been sold. Even if such figures should be treated with caution due to the “gray market” in China for video games and consoles: It is said that the Nintendo Switch was able to sell as often as the Playstation 4 and Xbox One combined. Consoles were banned in China until 2014. So how many consoles are actually in circulation is difficult to determine.

Console sales: strong brands in China too

Nevertheless: Tencent has announced the official figures and thus outperformed the competition, although sales in China stalled due to the corona pandemic relative to the beginning of the Switch release. Nintendo's strong franchises in China, which have been gradually released as draft horses and thus boosted sales figures, are likely to have contributed to this. Tencent had published 13 video games in China, including triple A titles such as Animal Crossing: New Horizons and The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild.

This is said to have had an overall positive impact on the Chinese console market: According to Daniel Ahmad, sales have almost doubled compared to 2019, but this also includes the new power consoles Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S.

How valuable such successful console and video game sales are for the Chinese games sector can be measured by user behavior: In China, consoles and video games are more of a niche product. The much larger sales are in the area of ​​mobile games. Nintendo, Sony and Microsoft could thus jointly set a gigantic stone rolling that would open up the market much wider for console hardware in the future - this would not only benefit the console manufacturers, but also the game developers and publishers.

For global sales, Nintendo is aiming for around 2021 million for the current financial year, which ends in March 24.

Sources: Twitter / Reuters


Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Auf die guten Verkaufszahlen in Großbritannien im vergangenen Jahr folgen nun gute Nachrichten aus China, zumindest aus Sicht von Nintendo: Wie der Analyst Daniel Ahmad via Twitter mitteilt, hat Tencent rund eine Million Exemplare der Nintendo Switch in China auf den Markt gebracht. Das sind mehr als die Playstation 4 und Xbox One im gleichen Zeitraum zusammen.


Über die Nachrichtenagentur Reuters ist das Zitat von Daniel Ahmad, Analyst bei Niko Partners, verwendet worden. Demnach sind seit Ende 2019 – zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurde die Nintendo Switch offiziell in China veröffentlicht – rund eine Million Exemplare der Hybridkonsole abgesetzt worden. Auch wenn derartige Zahlen aufgrund eines „grauen Marktes“ in China für Videogames und Konsolen mit Vorsicht  zu genießen sind: Es heißt, die Nintendo Switch habe sich so häufig verkaufen können wie die Playstation 4 und Xbox One zusammen. Bis zum Jahr 2014 waren Konsolen in China verboten. Wie viele Konsolen also tatsächlich im Umlauf sind, ist schwer festzustellen.

Konsolenverkäufe: Starke Marken auch in China

Dennoch: Tencent hat die offiziellen Zahlen verkündet und damit die Konkurrenz überflügelt, obwohl die Absätze in China aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie relativ zu Beginn des Switch-Releases ins Stocken geraten sind. Dazu beigetragen haben dürften vermutlich auch in China die starken Franchises von Nintendo, die als Zugpferde schrittweise veröffentlicht worden sind und so die Verkaufszahlen angetrieben haben. Tencent hatte in China 13 Videospiele veröffentlicht, darunter Triple-A-Titel wie Animal Crossing: New Horizons oder The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild.

Auf den chinesischen Konsolenmarkt soll das insgesamt positive Auswirkungen gehabt haben: Laut Daniel Ahmad hat sich der Umsatz im Vergleich zu 2019 nahezu verdoppelt, dabei eingerechnet sind allerdings auch die neuen Power-Konsolen Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S.

Wie wertvoll derart erfolgreiche Konsolen- und Videospieleverkäufe für den chinesischen Games-Bereich sind, lässt sich am Nutzerverhalten messen: In China sind Konsolen und Videospiele nämlich eher Nischenprodukte. Die weitaus größeren Absätze liegen im Bereich der Mobile-Games. Nintendo, Sony und Microsoft könnten somit gemeinsam einen gigantischen Stein ins Rollen bringen, der der Markt zukünftig viel weiter für Konsolenhardware öffnet – das käme dann nicht nur den Konsolenherstellern, sondern auch den Spieleentwicklern und Publishern zugute.

Für die weltweiten Verkäufe peilt Nintendo für das laufende Geschäftsjahr, das im März 2021 endet, rund 24 Millionen an.

Auch interessant:
Castles of Mad King Ludwig: Irrer Launch des Brettspiel auf Kickstarter

Quellen: Twitter/Reuters


Letzte Aktualisierung am 24.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API