Very few people in this country know what a fantasy sports league is. This pastime has been around in the United States since the 1960s. Its creator is considered to be the Californian Bill Winkenbach, who founded a fantasy football league in Oakland in 1962. Eight participants took part and equipped their teams with the players of the NFL.

These days there are fantasy leagues for every sport imaginable, and most of them take place online. This hobby is pursued by more than 50 million people in the United States and Canada. And in this country, too, more and more sports fans are interested in it. But how does fantasy sports actually work? And how can you participate?

This is how fantasy sports work

In fantasy sport, the participants form a virtual team, which they fill with active players from the current season. To stay with the American football example, a team can consist of a quarterback, 2 running backs, 2 wide receivers and various other players . there

Over the course of the season, the selected players receive points for their performance on the field, for example for touchdowns, passes or field goals. The fantasy team with the most points at the end of the season wins. Often the "coach" of this team receives a small prize money from a pot that all the members of the game have paid into.

Successful in fantasy sports

In order to play fantasy sports successfully, one should be very knowledgeable. It is important to analyze the players' performances over the last season and also to include knowledge of injuries or personal problems. Members of a football league can also use the NFL odds use the season to help select their players. This makes it easy to see which players are currently reaching the most passing yards or have the best defense. However, once the season has started, all that remains is to regularly update the score. Changes in the list are then no longer possible.

Online or offline?

If you have a group of friends who want to take part in a fantasy sport, you can basically start your own league with a pad and pen. But it is much easier online. There are different providers of fantasy leagues. All you have to do is register there and set the rules for your own league. Those who cannot find enough interested parties in the Freundeskreis will find enough like-minded people there. The biggest advantage, however, is that in some sports the statistics are recorded automatically. League members can simply log in to see where they stand. This saves you time-consuming calculations.

Fantasy leagues also exist in Germany.

Fantasy leagues also exist in Germany.

Fantasy leagues in Germany

The number one fantasy league in Germany is of course not American football, but soccer. For some time now there has even been an official fantasy manager of the Bundesliga, where players can win tickets, jerseys and similar prizes. But also a German NFL Fantasy Manager is now on the market. Nevertheless, fantasy leagues are more of a marginal phenomenon in this country. In private syndicates, bets are usually made on the outcome of games, which is of course much less complicated. It is unlikely that fantasy sports will ever achieve the same status in this country as it does in the United States. But that doesn't mean that it doesn't make sense to start a small fantasy league with friends. That makes the sports season a little more exciting.


Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Was eine Fantasy-Sportliga ist, wissen hierzulande nur die wenigsten. In den USA gibt es diesen Zeitvertreib schon seit den 1960er Jahren. Als sein Schöpfer gilt der Kalifornier Bill Winkenbach, der 1962 in Oakland eine Fantasy-Football-Liga gründete. Acht Teilnehmer machten mit und bestückten ihre Teams mit den Spielern der NFL.

Heutzutage gibt es Fantasy-Ligen für jede erdenkliche Sportart, die meisten von ihnen finden online statt. Mehr als 50 Millionen Menschen gehen in den USA und Kanada diesem Hobby nach. Und auch hierzulande interessieren sich immer mehr Sportfans dafür. Aber wie funktioniert Fantasy-Sport eigentlich? Und wie kann man daran teilnehmen?

So funktioniert Fantasy-Sport

Beim Fantasy-Sport bilden die Teilnehmer eine virtuelle Mannschaft, die sie mit aktiven Spielern der aktuellen Saison besetzen. Um beim Beispiel American Football zu bleiben, kann eine Mannschaft etwa aus einem Quarterback, 2 Running Backs, 2 Wide Receivers und verschiedenen anderen Spielern bestehen.

Im Laufe der Saison erhalten die gewählten Spieler Punkte für ihre Leistungen auf dem Spielfeld, zum Beispiel für Touchdowns, Pässe oder Field Goals. Die Fantasie-Mannschaft, die zum Ende der Saison die meisten Punkte hat, gewinnt. Häufig erhält der „Trainer“ dieser Mannschaft ein kleines Preisgeld aus einem Topf, in den alle Mitglieder des Spiels eingezahlt haben.

Erfolgreich im Fantasy-Sport

Um erfolgreich Fantasy-Sport zu spielen, sollte man sich gut auskennen. Es ist wichtig, die Leistungen der Spieler in der letzten Saison zu analysieren und auch das Wissen über Verletzungen oder private Probleme mit einzubeziehen. Mitglieder einer Football-Liga können auch die NFL Quoten der Saison zur Hilfe nehmen, um ihre Spieler auszuwählen. Daraus lässt sich leicht ablesen, welche Spieler gerade die meisten Passing Yards erreichen oder die beste Defense haben. Ist die Saison hingegen erst einmal im Gange, gilt es nur noch, regelmäßig den Punktestand zu aktualisieren. Änderungen in der Aufstellung sind dann nicht mehr möglich.

Online oder offline?

Wer eine Gruppe von Freunden hat, die bei einem Fantasy-Sport mitmachen wollen, kann im Grunde genommen mit einem Block und einen Stift eine eigene Liga gründen. Deutlich einfacher geht es aber online. Es gibt verschiedene Anbieter von Fantasy-Ligen. Dort muss man sich lediglich eintragen und die Regeln für die eigene Liga festlegen. Wer im Freundeskreis nicht genügend Interessenten auftreiben kann, findet dort genügend Gleichgesinnte. Der größte Vorteil besteht aber darin, dass in einigen Sportarten die Statistiken automatisch erfasst werden. So können sich die Mitglieder der Liga einfach einloggen, um zu sehen, wo sie stehen. Aufwendiges Herumrechnen wird ihnen dadurch erspart.

Fantasy-Ligen gibt es auch in Deutschland.

Fantasy-Ligen gibt es auch in Deutschland.

Fantasy-Ligen in Deutschland

Die Fantasy-Liga Nummer eins in Deutschland ist natürlich nicht American Football, sondern Fußball. Seit einiger Zeit gibt es sogar einen offiziellen Fantasy-Manager der Bundesliga, bei dem Spieler Tickets, Trikots und ähnliche Preise gewinnen können. Aber auch ein deutscher NFL-Fantasy-Manager ist mittlerweile auf dem Markt. Trotzdem sind Fantasy-Ligen hierzulande eher ein Randphänomen. Bei privaten Tippgemeinschaften wird meist auf den Ausgang von Spielen gewettet, was natürlich wesentlich unkomplizierter ist. Es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass Fantasy-Sport hierzulande jemals denselben Stellenwert wie in den USA erreichen wird. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass es keinen Sinn macht, gemeinsam mit Freunden eine kleine Fantasy-Liga zu gründen. Das macht die Sportsaison noch einmal ein bisschen spannender.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 26.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API