Fifa 22 will be released on October 1st for last-gen consoles, PC, but also the new power consoles Xbox Series X | S and Playstation 5. However, an upgrade is no longer automatically included in the inexpensive version of the virtual soccer game. For this, fans have to grab the Ultimate Edition, which costs around 100 euros. 

Shortly before the release of the Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S, the free upgrades from the last-gen consoles to the current generation were one of those goodies that publishers distributed to fans. So it now seems to be over at FIFA 22. Electronic Arts announced the release of Fifa 22 with a reveal trailer. From the different versions it can now be seen that you have to pay more for the upgrade if you start on the Xbox One or Playstation 4 and only want to play later on the newer consoles.

Upgrade included in Ultimate Edition

Actually, it wouldn't be so annoying if all pre-orderers or potential buyers already had their Xbox Series X | S or Playstation 5 in their hands. Because that is exactly not the case, Electronic Arts Coup seems to feel like “cashing in” for many fans. So far, the upgrade to the next generation of consoles has been available for free - it was included in the game for ÜS4 or Xbox One. The publisher is now changing that: There are many different versions of Fifa 22 - from Standard to Ultimate. However, only the latter variant will contain the upgrade. Those fans who want to play FIFA 100 on the Playstation 22 or Xbox One first, in order to switch later, then have to pay more than 4 euros.

And then there is another annoying detail for fans: The versions for Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S cost around 80 euros more than usual. Increased prices for games for the new power consoles are no longer surprising, but because Electronic Arts is not necessarily seen by fans as a particularly patronizing publisher, the anger is great. The Ultimate Edition is also only available digitally.

Fifa 22 will be released on October 1st for PC, Microsoft's and Sony's consoles as well as for Nintendo Switch and Google Stadia. Nintendo fans are once again using the so-called “Legacy Edition”, a slimmed-down version of Fifa 22. Fifa 22 will have the usual modes - the progress made with Ultimate Team and Volta can be transferred; however, this does not apply to the progress of pro clubs, online seasons, co-op seasons or the career mode.

Technically, the virtual kick on the current gen could actually be convincing. One reason for this is the exclusive “HyperMotion Technology” on these platforms, which Electronic Arts and EA Sports advertise in the reveal trailer:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 19.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Fifa 22 erscheint am 1. Oktober für Last-Gen-Konsolen, PC, aber auch die neue Power-Konsolen Xbox Series X|S und Playstation 5. Ein Upgrade ist allerdings nicht mehr automatisch in der günstigen Version des virtuellen Fußballspiels enthalten. Dazu müssen Fans zur rund 100 Euro teuren Ultimate-Edition greifen. 

Kurz vor Release der Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S waren die kostenlosen Upgrades von den Last-Gen-Konsolen auf die nun aktuelle Generation eines jener Bonbons, die Publisher an Fans verteilt haben. Damit scheint es nun zumindest bei Fifa 22 aus zu sein. Electronic Arts kündigte den Release von Fifa 22 mit einem Reveal-Trailer an. Aus den verschiedenen Versionen lässt sich nun ablesen, dass man das Upgrade teurer bezahlen muss, wenn man auf der Xbox One oder Playstation 4 starten und erst später auf den neueren Konsolen spielen will.

Upgrade in Ultimate-Edition enthalten

Eigentlich wäre es ja gar nicht so ärgerlich, wenn alle Vorbesteller oder potenziellen Käufer bereits ihre Xbox Series X|S oder Playstation 5 in den Händen halten würden. Weil genau das aber nicht der Fall ist, scheint Electronic Arts Coup sich für viele Fans anzufühlen wie „abkassieren“. Bisher gab es das Upgrade auf die nächste Konsolengeneration quasi gratis – es war in dem Spiel für ÜS4 oder Xbox One enthalten. Das ändert der Publisher nun: Es gib von Fifa 22 viele unterschiedliche Versionen – von Standard bis hin zu Ultimate. Lediglich letztere Variante wird allerdings das Upgrade enthalten. Über 100 Euro müssen dann jene Fans bezahlen, die Fifa 22 zunächst auf der Playstation 4 oder Xbox One spielen wollen, um später zu wechseln.

Und dann ist da noch so ein für Fans ärgerliches Detail: Die Versionen für Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S kosten mit rund 80 Euro mehr als bislang üblich. Gestiegen Preise für Spiele für die neuen Power-Konsolen sind zwar nicht mehr überraschend, weil Electronic Arts allerdings von Fans nicht unbedingt als besonders gönnerhafter Publisher angesehen wird, ist der Ärger groß. Die Ultimate Edition ist zudem ausschließlich digital erhältlich.

Fifa 22 erscheint am 1. Oktober für PC, Microsofts und Sonys Konsolen sowie für Nintendo Switch und Google Stadia. Nintendo-Fans nutzen hierbei erneut die sogenannten „Legacy Edition“, eine abgespeckte Variante von Fifa 22. Geben wird es bei Fifa 22 die gewohnten Modi – die Fortschritte bei Ultimate Team und Volta lassen sich dabei übertragen; für den Progress bei Pro Clubs, Online-Saisons, Koop-Saison oder dem Karrieremodus gilt das jedoch nicht..

Technisch könnte der virtuelle Kick tatsächlich auf den Current-Gen überzeugend sein. Ein Grund dafür ist die auf diesen Plattformen exklusive „HyperMotion Technology“, die Electronic Arts und EA Sports im Reveal-Trailer bewirbt:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
FIFA 22 Ultimate Edition | Xbox One und Series X|S - Download... FIFA 22 Ultimate Edition | Xbox One und Series X|S - Download... * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 107,98 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 22.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API