As Electronic Arts has announced, the publisher and the world governing body FIFA will go their separate ways following the release of Fifa 23. The next part of the football video game series will be the last under the license name that has been known for decades.

It had long been announced that soccer fans could face profound changes - at least as far as the name of the popular and for many players also the best soccer gaming series is concerned. Because Electronic Arts and the world association FIFA did not agree on a license agreement, the series will be given a different name. It was already circulating through the internet and has now been confirmed: EA Sports FC.

Fifa 23: Last cooperation between EA and world association

Football fans have known the game series under the name "Fifa" for around three decades, and the adjustment phase will probably be correspondingly drastic when Electronic Arts and the world association soon go their separate ways. Fifa 23 will therefore be the last cooperation with the well-known brand, only then will Electronic Arts announce further information about the future of the series. The new part of the series will appear in autumn 2022.

The promises are full-bodied: "Our vision for EA Sports FC is to create the largest and most influential football club in the world, at the epicenter of the football scene," said Andrew Wilson, CEO of Electronic Arts. “For almost 30 years we have been building the world's largest football community - with hundreds of millions of players, thousands of partner players and hundreds of leagues, associations and teams. EA Sports FC will be the club for each of them and for football fans everywhere."

According to the publisher, players will find out exactly what Electronic Arts is imagining and what changes EA Sports FC will bring to fans in summer 2023, which is probably around half a year before the upcoming premiere of a new franchise.

After all, it will probably be easy for long-time fans to get used to it, because the countless partnerships and licenses in the world of football mean that players don't have to do without realism and "real teams". Cooperations continue to exist with the Premier League, LaLiga, the Bundesliga, Uefa, CONMEBOL and sponsor Nike. All this will be continued and should ultimately underline the recognition value of the series - even without "Fifa" in the name. for Electronic Arts is an opportunity.

And FIFA? The world association will probably not just let the billions go by. The association has long since reacted to the end of the long-term partnership and taken a stand: Accordingly, one is in exchange with game manufacturers, media entrepreneurs and also investors - it is about the development of a football title for the year 2024. Fifa President Gianni Infantino is more specific: Only that "Real Fifa" is the best game for football fans. "FIFA 23, FIFA 24, FIFA 25, FIFA 26 and so on" is a naming constant that will remain and will also remain the best game. So maybe there is a Fifa 24 from another developer studio. And it sounds like a defiant response towards Electronic Arts over the broken partnership.

Preview Product Rating Price
FIFA 22 Standard Edition | PC Code-Origin FIFA 22 Standard Edition | PC Code-Origin* 59,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Wie Electronic Arts mitgeteilt hat, werden der Publisher und der Weltverband FIFA im Anschluss an die Veröffentlichung von Fifa 23 getrennte Wege gehen. Der nächste Teil der Fußball-Videospielereihe wird somit der letzte unter dem seit Jahrzehnten bekannten Lizenz-Namen.

Es hatte sich längst angekündigt, dass auf Fußballfans tiefgreifende Veränderungen zukommen könnten – mindestens was den Namen der populären und für viele Spieler auch besten Soccer-Gaming-Serie angeht. Weil Electronic Arts und der Weltverband FIFA sich nicht für eine Lizenzvereinbarung übereinkamen, wird die Reihe einen anderen Namen erhalten. Der kursierte bereits durch das Internet und wurde nun bestätigt: EA Sports FC.

Fifa 23: Letzte Kooperation von EA und Weltverband

Seit rund drei Jahrzehnten kennen Fußballfans die Spieleserie unter dem Namen “Fifa”, entsprechend drastisch wird vermutlich die Eingewöhnungsphase ausfallen, wenn Electronic Arts und der Weltverband demnächst getrennte Wege gehen. Fifa 23 wird demnach die letzte Kooperation zu der bekannten Marke, erst danach will Electronic Arts weitere Informationen zu der Zukunft der Reihe bekanntgeben. Im Herbst 2022 wird der neue Teil der Reihe erscheinen.

Die Versprechungen sind vollmundig: “Unsere Vision für EA Sports FC ist es, den größten und einflussreichsten Fußballverein der Welt zu schaffen, im Epizentrum der Fußball-Szene”, sagte Andrew Wilson, CEO von Electronic Arts. “Seit fast 30 Jahren bauen wir die weltweit größte Fußball-Community auf – mit Hunderten von Millionen Spielern, Tausenden von Partner-Spielern und Hunderten von Ligen, Verbänden und Teams. EA Sports FC wird der Verein für jeden von ihnen und für Fußballfans überall sein.”

Was genau Electronic Arts sich vorstellt und welche Veränderungen EA Sports FC dann für Fans mit sich bringt, erfahren Spieler laut Publisher im Sommer 2023 und somit vermutlich rund ein halbes Jahr vor der dann anstehenden Premiere einer neue Franchise.

Immerhin: Die Umgewöhnung wird langjährigen Fans vermutlich leicht fallen, denn durch die unzähligen Partnerschaften und Lizensierungen in der Welt des Fußballs müssen Spieler nicht auf Realismus und “echte Teams” verzichten. Kooperationen bestehen etwa weiterhin mit der Premier League, LaLiga, der Bundesliga, der Uefa, CONMEBOL und auch Sponsor Nike. All das wird fortgesetzt und dürfte letztendlich den Wiedererkennungswert der Reihe unterstreichen – auch ohne “Fifa” im Namen. Für Electronic Arts ist das eine Chance.

Und die Fifa? Der Weltverband wird sich die Milliardensumme vermutlich nicht einfach entgehen lassen. Der Verband hat längst auf die Beendigung der langjährigen Partnerschaft reagiert und Stellung bezogen: Demnach sei man im Austausch mit Spieleherstellern, Medienunternehmern und auch Investoren – es geht um die Entwicklung eines Fußballtitels für das Jahr 2024. Fifa-Präsident Gianni Infantino wird konkreter: Nur das “echte Fifa” sei das beste Spiel für Fußballfans. “FIFA 23, FIFA 24, FIFA 25, FIFA 26 und so weiter” sei eine Namenskonstante, die bleiben wird und die auch das beste Spiel bleiben wird. Womöglich gibt es also ein Fifa 24 von einem anderen Entwicklerstudio. Und es klingt wie eine trotzige Antwort in Richtung Electronic Arts ob der geplatzten Partnerschaft.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
FIFA 22 Standard Edition | PC Code - Origin FIFA 22 Standard Edition | PC Code - Origin * 9,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API