The Jommeke comic has been delighting its Flemish readers since the mid-2011s. Initially only intended as an insert in a weekly newspaper, the comic by artist Jef Nys soon enjoyed a large fan community. The start of the comic series Jommeke, which is still read enthusiastically today, was made. Just a few years later, the German-speaking world would also be able to enjoy the lovable, blond-haired comic hero under the title “Peter und Alexander”, but his visit was not to last. Since 017, Jommeke has been experiencing a German-language revival under its original name and with the help of stainlessArt ComicVerlag from Aachen. This is also the case in comic book number XNUMX “The Adventures of Jommeke – The Kovonitas”, which we will take a look at in this performance for you.

The adventures of Jommeke and his friends are aimed at children from the age of six, but adults have also always been regular readers. Just like you are used to from other comic greats, such as Spirou, Fantasio and the Marsupilami. In the stories about the blond boy with his funny straw hairstyle, many exciting adventures are told. The focus is particularly on social values ​​such as friendship, family, helpfulness and honesty.

Jommeke offers non-violent suspense 

Each of the comics is completely non-violent and is intended to convey self-confidence to children in addition to social understanding. The stories build on each other as a series, but are self-contained and can therefore also be read in reverse order. This makes it easy to get started in the comic series. The origin of the Jommeke adventures lies in the hands of the Belgian comic artist and author Jef Nys. In 2005 he received the Golden Adhemar for his work at the popular comic festival in Turnhout, Belgium. The artist died in 2009 and left future comic books in the series to a team of artists.

Jommeke comic review

The blond boy Jommeke experiences adventures - sometimes with a message. Photo: Volkman

Jommeke and his friends are Jommeke, a blond boy with a distinctive pot cut and a blue sweater vest, who solves every exciting case and is always willing to help those around him, his animal and best friend Flip the talking parrot, who is always by his side and fools many a crook, his friend Filiberke, who can transform himself into great things in his imagination, such as a rain cloud, and is accompanied by a sniffy poodle named Pekkie and the twins Annemieke and Rozemieke, who are witty and brave and hate any arguments know how to mediate between the two boys. Not to forget her little monkey, Choco, whose name is no coincidence.

In the story of the comic book Jommeke the Kovonitas, the twins Annemieke and Rozemieke and another pair of twins have disappeared. If the search remains unsuccessful at first, they appear a little later, together with the queen of Unterland, as a pop girl band that knows how to conquer the charts worldwide. As if that wasn't crazy enough, the girls, buoyed by their success, seem to lose their grip on reality. One thing seems certain: the Queen of Underland somehow made the twins docile. Can Jommeke and Filiberke free their friends and the other set of twins from the queen's hands?

A comic reminiscent of well-known heroes

When leafing through the magazine for the first time, it is noticeable that the comic on its 48 pages is not only aimed at the youngest readers. Squeaky colored and filled with appealing drawings, the cover and the panels shine towards us. Despite this, the areas appear tidy and show pictorially what is in the well-written speech bubbles, so that even children with little reading skills can understand what the story about Die Konvonitas wants to tell. In this way, children can easily establish a connection between the written text and the painted picture, while at the same time reading aloud is not absolutely necessary due to the consistent representation. Experienced readers and adults, on the other hand, are offered an adventure with a high proportion of text fields that have been printed in a clearly legible font size. That brings joy.

Jommeke comic review

The stories are self-contained, making it easy to get started. Photo: Volkman

Since Jommeke adventures are self-contained, we have no problem starting with Volume 17. The cover leads us in a simple way into contact with the main characters. In addition to small pictures showing the protagonists, there is also a short description. If characters have already appeared in previous volumes and have a history that could be exciting for the reader, he will find a comment at the end of the page with a reference to the appropriate issue number. For example, Volume 14 could give us even more details about the Queen of Underland.

The style of the drawings appeals to us. It is rich in detail, but not too overloaded, and is reminiscent of other popular Belgian comics such as Suske and Wiske or Gaston Lagaffe. The story is easy to read and told in a modern way. It is non-violent, but still exciting and sometimes told with cheeky vocabulary that never goes too far or even seems vulgar. Big and small readers alike get their money's worth here. If you like comics and feel comfortable between Tintin, Lucky Luke and Mickey Mouse, you will also love Jommeke's adventures. It's not without reason that Jommeke has been popular in Flemish climes since the XNUMXs.

Jommeke at a glance

Jommeke Die Kovonistas was released in January 2019 and costs 9,95 euros. The booklets of the series in the German language translation appear regularly and can be purchased in comic shops, in bookstores or via the shop on the publisher's website. If you go back to the web shop, you currently get a trading card for Volume 001 to Volume 0024. To date, 28 volumes in the series have been published. Jommeke volume 308 entitled “Het verpeste kamp” has already been published in Belgium, volumes 309 and 310 have already been announced for this year.

The following volumes have been published in German translation so far:

  • 001 The Turtle Treasure

  • 002 The Jam Pudding Ghost

  • 003 child rule

  • 004 The Plank by Jan Haring

  • 005 The deep well

  • 006 The cucumber princess

  • 007 Operation Bonsai

  • 008 The paradise island

  • 009 The blue wishstone

  • 010 The Kikiwikis

  • 011 Holeman

  • 012 cheese with holes

  • 013 The white melon

  • 014 The Queen of Unterland

  • 015 The pitcher of Aztrakan

  • 016 Sir Pimpeldon's casket

  • 017 The Kovonitas

  • 018 The King of Bananopia

  • 019 The silver giraffe

  • 020 Jungfraujoch in danger

  • 021 The Submarine Whale

  • 022 The little professor

  • 023 The Pudding Queen

  • 024 The Singing Moor

  • 025 Berta Gobelijn

  • 026 The plastic hunters

  • 027 In the land of pimples

  • 028 Baron Anatolsky

Preview Product Rating Price
JOMMEKE: 08 The Paradise Island JOMMEKE: 08 The Paradise Island * 9,95 EUR

+++ COMPETITION +++

Fancy a Jommeke adventure? Then take part in our Jommeke competition in cooperation with stainlessArt ComicVerlag and, with a bit of luck, grab a comic volume.

What you have to do for it? Simply fill out the competition form, answer the competition question correctly and you'll be in the lottery pot.

We will pass on your data to stainlessArt ComicVerlag to process the competition, which will then send you a prize. Otherwise we expressly do not use your data any further.

We will select five winners at random - the closing date for entries is Sunday, April 10, 2022, 23.59:XNUMX p.m. 

[The competition is closed. The winners will be determined and notified. Thank you all.]

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Seit Mitte der fünfziger Jahre begeistert der Comic Jommeke bereits seine flämischen Leser. Zunächst nur als Beilage einer Wochenzeitung gedacht, erfreute sich der Comic des Zeichners Jef Nys schon bald einer großen Fan-Gemeinschaft. Der Start der noch heute mit Begeisterung gelesenen Comic-Serie Jommeke war gemacht. Nur wenige Jahre später sollte auch der deutschsprachige Raum unter dem Titel “Peter und Alexander” in den Genuss des liebenswerten, blondschöpfigen Comic-Helden kommen, doch sein Besuch sollte nicht von Dauer sein. Seit 2011 erlebt Jommeke unter seinem Ursprungsnamen und mit Hilfe des stainlessArt ComicVerlag aus Aachen ein deutschsprachiges Revival. So auch in dem Comic-Heft Nummer 017 “Die Abenteuer Von Jommeke – Die Kovonitas”, in das wir in dieser Vorstellung einen gespannten Blick für euch werfen werden.

Die Abenteuer von Jommeke und seinen Freunden sind an Kinder ab sechs Jahren gerichtet, doch auch Erwachsene gehören seit jeher zur festen Leserschaft. Ganz so, wie man es von anderen Comicgrößen, wie beispielsweise Spirou, Fantasio und das Marsupilami, gewohnt ist. In den Geschichten, um den blonden Jungen mit seiner lustigen Strohdachfrisur, werden vielerlei spannende Abenteuer erzählt. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei ganz besonders soziale Werte wie Freundschaft, Familie, Hilfsbereitschaft und Ehrlichkeit.

Jommeke bietet gewaltfreie Spannung 

Jeder der Comics kommt ganz ohne Gewalt aus und soll Kindern, neben sozialem Verständnis, Selbstvertrauen vermitteln. Die Geschichten bauen dabei als Serie aufeinander auf, sind aber in sich abgeschlossen und können somit auch entgegen der Reihenfolge gelesen werden. Das macht den Neueinstieg in die Comicserie leicht. Der Ursprung der Jommeke Abenteuer liegt dabei in den Händen des belgischen Comiczeichners und Autors Jef Nys. Der 2005 auf dem beliebten Comicfestival im belgischen Turnhout den Goldenen Adhemar für sein Werk erhielt. Im Jahre 2009 verstarb der Künstler und überließ zukünftige Comicbände der Serie einem Zeichner-Team.

Jommeke Comic Rezension

Der Blondschopf Jommeke erlebt Abenteuer – manchmal mit Botschaft. Foto: Volkmann

Jommeke und seine Freunde, das sind Jommeke, ein blonder Junge, mit markantem Topfschnitt und blauem Pullunder, der jeden spannenden Fall löst und seiner Umwelt hilfsbereit zur Seite steht, sein tierischer und bester Freund Flip der sprechende Papagei, der ihm loyal zur Seite steht und so manchen Gauner für dumm verkauft, sein Freund Filiberke, der sich in seiner Fantasie zu tollen Dingen, wie einer Regenwolke, verwandeln kann und von einem spürnasigen Pudel namens Pekkie begleitet wird und den Zwillingen Annemieke und Rozemieke, die gewitzt und mutig sind und jeden Streit zwischen den beiden Jungs zu schlichten wissen. Nicht zu vergessen, ihr kleiner Affe Choco, dessen Name nicht von ungefähr kommt.

In der Geschichte des Comic-Hefts Jommeke die Kovonitas sind die Zwillinge Annemieke und Rozemieke und ein weiteres Zwillingspaar verschwunden. Bleibt die Suche zunächst noch erfolglos, tauchen sie nur wenig später, gemeinsam mit der Königin von Unterland, als Pop-Girlband auf, die weltweit die Charts zu erobern weiß.  Als wäre das nicht schon verrückt genug, scheinen die Mädchen, beflügelt durch ihren Erfolg, auch noch die Bodenhaftung zu verlieren. Eins scheint sicher: Die Königin von Unterland hat die Zwillinge irgendwie gefügsam gemacht. Können Jommeke und Filiberke ihre Freundinnen und das andere Zwillingspaar aus den Händen der Königin befreien?

Ein Comic der an altbekannte Helden erinnert

Beim ersten Durchblättern des Hefts fällt auf, dass sich der Comic auf seinen 48 Seiten nicht nur an die jüngsten Leser richten möchte. Quietschbunt und mit ansprechenden Zeichnungen gefüllt, leuchten uns der Einband und die Panels entgegen. Trotz dessen wirken die Bereiche aufgeräumt und zeigen bildhaft auf, was in den reichlich beschrifteten Sprechblasen steht, sodass auch Kinder mit wenigen Lesekenntnissen verstehen können, was die Geschichte um Die Konvonitas erzählen möchte. Somit können Kinder auf einfache Weise eine Verbindung zwischen dem geschriebenen Text und dem gemalten Bild herstellen, gleichzeitig ist durch die übereinstimmende Darstellung ein Vorlesen nicht zwingend notwendig. Geübten Lesern und Erwachsenen bietet sich hingegen ein Abenteuer mit einem hohen Anteil an Textfeldern, die in einer deutlich lesbaren Schriftgröße gedruckt wurden. Das bringt Freude.

Jommeke Comic Kritik

Die Geschichten sind in sich abgeschlossen – das macht den Einstieg leicht. Foto: Volkmann

Da Jommeke-Abenteuer in sich abgeschlossen sind, stellt es für uns kein Problem dar, mit Band 17 einzusteigen. Der Einband führt uns dabei auf einfache Weise in Kontakt mit den Hauptfiguren. Neben kleinen Bildern die die Protagonisten zeigen, findet sich hier auch eine Kurzbeschreibung. Sind Figuren bereits in vorherigen Bänden aufgetaucht und haben eine Vorgeschichte, die für den Leser spannend sein könnte, findet dieser am Seitenende ein Anmerkungszeichen mit dem Verweis zur passenden Heft-Nummer. So könnten wir beispielsweise durch das Band 14 noch mehr Details über die Königin von Unterland erfahren.

Der Stil der Zeichnungen spricht uns an. Er ist detailreich, dabei aber nicht zu überladen und erinnert an andere beliebte, belgische Comics wie Suske und Wiske oder Gaston Lagaffe. Die Geschichte liest sich flüssig und ist modern erzählt. Sie ist gewaltfrei, aber trotzdem spannend und stellenweise mit frechem Wortschatz erzählt, der zu keiner Zeit über die Stränge schlägt oder gar vulgär wirkt. Hier kommen große und kleine Leser gleichermaßen auf ihre Kosten. Wer Comics mag und sich zwischen Tim und Struppi, Lucky Luke und Micky Maus wohl fühlt, der wird auch Jommekes Abenteuer in sein Herz schließen. Nicht ohne Grund ist Jommeke in flämischen Gefilden bereits seit den Fünzigern beliebt.

Jommeke in der Übersicht

Jommeke Die Kovonistas ist im Januar 2019 erschienen und kostet 9,95 Euro.  Die Hefte der Serie in der deutschsprachigen Übersetzung erscheinen regelmäßig und können im Comic-Fachhandel, in der Buchhandlung oder per Shop der Verlags-Webseite erworben werden. Greift man dabei auf den Webshop zurück, erhält man zur Zeit zu Band 001 bis Band 0024 zusätzlich eine Sammelkarte. Bisher sind 28 Bände der Reihe erschienen. In Belgien erschien bereits Jommeke Band 308 mit dem Titel “Het verpeste kamp”, Band 309 und 310 wurden bereits für dieses Jahr angekündigt.

Bisher in deutschsprachiger Übersetzung erschienen sind folgende Bände:

  • 001 Der Schildkrötenschatz

  • 002 Das Jampuddinggespenst

  • 003 Kinderherrschaft

  • 004 Die Planke von Jan Haring

  • 005 Der tiefe Brunnen

  • 006 Die Gurkenprinzessin

  • 007 Operation Bonsai

  • 008 Die Paradiesinsel

  • 009 Der blaue Wunschstein

  • 010 Die Kikiwikis

  • 011 Holeman

  • 012 Käse mit Löchern

  • 013 Die weiße Melone

  • 014 Die Königin von Unterland

  • 015 Der Krug von Aztrakan

  • 016 Das Kästchen von Sir Pimpeldon

  • 017 Die Kovonitas

  • 018 Der König von Bananopia

  • 019 Die silberne Giraffe

  • 020 Jungfraujoch in Gefahr

  • 021 Der U-Boot-Wal

  • 022 Der kleine Professor

  • 023 Die Puddingkönigin

  • 024 Das singende Moor

  • 025 Berta Gobelijn

  • 026 Die Plastikjäger

  • 027 Im Land der Pimpelchen

  • 028 Baron Anatolsky

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
JOMMEKE: 08 Die Paradiesinsel JOMMEKE: 08 Die Paradiesinsel * 9,95 EUR

+++ GEWINNSPIEL +++

Hast du Lust auf ein Jommeke-Abenteuer? Dann nimm jetzt an unserem Jommeke-Gewinnspiel in Kooperation mit dem stainlessArt ComicVerlag teil und schnapp Dir mit etwas Glück einen Comicband.

Was du dafür tun musst? Einfach das Gewinnspielformular ausfüllen, die Gewinnfrage richtig beantworten und schon landest du im Lostopf.

Eure Daten geben wir zur Abwicklung des Gewinnspiels an den stainlessArt ComicVerlag weiter, der Euch dann einen Gewinn zusendet. Ansonsten verwenden wir Eure Daten ausdrücklich nicht weiter.

Fünf Gewinner ermitteln wir nach dem Zufallsprinzip – der Teilnahmeschluss ist am Sonntag, 10. April 2022, 23.59 Uhr. 

[Das Gewinnspiel ist beendet. Die Gewinner werden ermittelt und benachrichtigt. Allen vielen Dank.]

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 4.07.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API