Gamescom will take place without Nintendo this year - that's official now. The Gamescom is actually a "key event" for the Japanese console manufacturer and game developer, as a company spokesman said. Nevertheless, one renounces. Nintendo leaves a gap at Gamescom, but somehow not - at least this year.

The games industry is already starting in June, with several events taking place at which publishers and developers will present their new projects. What exactly Nintendo is up to is still unclear. On the other hand, it is clear what Nintendo will not do: participate in Gamescom 2022, for example. Despite the key event in Nintendo's event calendar, the next Gamescom will be skipped - which will take place in Cologne for the first time after the compulsory Corona break.

Gamescom without Nintendo is not permanent

The news hit the industry: Gamescom 2022 will take place without Nintendo. The first major publisher to cancel the Cologne gaming fair, at least for this year. Nintendo did not state the reasons for this, so one can only guess how this decision came about. The aftermath of the corona pandemic, but also its further course, may be two factors that played into Nintendo's consideration of whether or not to take part in the trade fair: the scarcity of resources and challenges in the global logistics sector persist, including the chip manufacturers' productivity, which continues to be impaired.

On the one hand, Nintendo may not do so because the presence of Gamescom could not noticeably boost sales of the consoles. On the other hand, the pandemic situation has eased, but Corona is probably not over. An even more contagious omicron variant was rampant in Portugal and could – analogous to the dominance of the mutations before – also spread in this country. Instead of in large halls, Nintendo will promote itself and its products at various events in Germany - the console manufacturer announced this parallel to the Gamescom cancellation.

There, Nintendo could then bring the current and future new releases to the fans in a targeted manner. Not much is happening in Nintendo's new line-up this year anyway - and nothing big at all. Zelda - Breath of the Wild 2? Not clear. Metroid? no Something with Mario? Yes, football, but that will be released on June 10th, but due to the topic it shouldn't be suitable as a mass product, even if it could become a bestseller and could also be used for a fun Gamescom presentation. However, the game would then be more than two months old, so not really new anymore. At most, Bayonetta 3, Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope or Splatoon 3 could be shown, but the target group for these titles can also be reached through smaller events.

There is no new Nintendo Switch this year – the OLED version had already been improved. Nintendo's waiver may also be strategic. They want to get the masses really excited for 2023 and a return of the console giant. – and then Nintendo presents the new “Nintendo Switch 2”, “Super Nintendo Switch”, “Nintendo Switch Ultimate”, or whatever at Gamescom.

Nintendo has long since migrated to virtual worlds to show its games. And obviously there are no disadvantages. As of March 31, 2022, Nintendo had sold 107,65 million copies of the Switch. And when it comes to games, the manufacturer sets a record: around 235 million switch titles went over the counter in the past financial year – the best numbers ever. Of course, Pokemon has its share of the bear (30 million)*. Gamescom 2022 just might not be necessary for Nintendo to boost sales and marketing.

Nintendo is leaving a gap this year because the colorful and interactive hall presence is a real magnet, especially for families and children. Nintendo is leaving a gap because fans are missing out on the current mega-player in console sales. However, the Japanese group does not leave any gaps because it is simply impossible to show any relevant titles.

But that won't be permanent. Like other publishers, Nintendo considers the fair to be central to the events calendar. You can hardly attract more attention from the target group, but you have to have titles that are worth presenting. Things could look very different at Nintendo in 2023: Zelda, Metroid, Pokemon, maybe new hardware – next year things could be really booming for Nintendo in Cologne. How some other publishers will proceed this year is still open - by no means all giants have confirmed their participation.

Preview Product Rating Price
Nintendo Switch console (OLED model) White Nintendo Switch console (OLED model) White * 339,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Gamescom findet dieses Jahr ohne Nintendo statt – das ist inzwischen offiziell. Eigentlich ist die Gamescom für den japanischen Konsolenhersteller und Spieleentwickler ein “Key event”, wie ein Unternehmenssprecher mitteilte. Man verzichtet dennoch. Nintendo hinterlässt auf der Gamescom eine Lücke, irgendwie aber auch nicht – zumindest dieses Jahr.

Schon im Juni geht es für die Games-Branche los, gleich mehrere Events finden statt, auf denen Publisher und Entwickler ihre neuen Projekt präsentieren werden. Was Nintendo genau vor hat, ist bislang unklar. Klar ist hingegen, was Nintendo nicht tun wird: an der Gamescom 2022 teilnehmen zum Beispiel. Trotz Schlüsselveranstaltung in Nintendos Event-Kalender überspringt man die nächste Gamescom – die nach der zwangsweisen Corona-Pause erstmals wieder vor Ort in Köln stattfindet.

Gamescom ohne Nintendo kein Dauerzustand

Die Meldung schlug ein in der Branche: Die Gamescom 2022 findet ohne Nintendo statt. Damit hat der erste große Publisher der Kölner Gaming-Messe eine Absage erteilt, zumindest für dieses Jahr. Die Gründe dafür blieben seitens Nintendo ungenannt, man kann also nur vermuten, wie es zu dieser Entscheidung gekommen ist. Möglicherweise sind die Nachwirkungen der Corona-Pandemie, aber auch deren weiterer Verlauf zwei Faktoren, die in Nintendos Abwägung für oder gegen die Messeteilnahme hineinspielten: Die Ressourcenknappheit und Herausforderungen im weltweiten Logistikbereich halten an, inbegriffen ist auch die weiterhin beeinträchtigte Produktivität der Chiphersteller.

Womöglich verzichtet Nintendo einerseits, weil man bei den Konsolen die Verkäufe durch die Gamescom-Präsenz nicht spürbar ankurbeln könnte. Andererseits hat sich die pandemische Lage zwar entspannt, vorbei ist Corona wahrscheinlich aber nicht. Eine noch ansteckendere Omikron-Variante grassierte in Portugal, und könnte – analog zur Dominanz der Mutationen zuvor – sich auch hierzulande verbreiten. Statt in großen Hallen wird Nintendo sich und seine Produkte im Rahmen verschiedener Events in Deutschland promoten – das kündigte der Konsolenhersteller parallel zur Gamescom-Absage an.

Dort könnte Nintendo dann die aktuellen und künftigen Neuerscheinungen gezielt zu den Fans bringen. Besonders viel passiert in Nintendo Neuheiten-Line-up dieses Jahr ohnehin nicht mehr – und schon gar nichts Großes. Zelda – Breath of the Wild 2? Unklar. Metroid? Nein. Irgendwas mit Mario? Ja, Fußball, aber das erscheint bereits am 10. Juni, dürfte aufgrund des Themas allerdings nicht als Massenprodukt taugen, auch wenn es ein Bestseller werden und sich auch für eine spaßige Gamescom-Präsentation eigenen könnte. Das Spiel wäre dann allerdings schon über zwei Monate alt, so richtig neu also nicht mehr. Allenfalls Bayonetta 3, Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope oder Splatoon 3 könnte man zeigen, aber die Zielgruppe für diese Titel erreicht man auch über kleinere Events.

Eine neue Nintendo Switch gibt es dieses Jahr nicht mehr – mit der OLED-Version hatte man ja bereits nachgebessert. Möglicherweise ist der Verzicht von Nintendo auch strategisch. Man will die Massen so richtig heiß machen auf 2023 und eine Rückkehr des Konsolengiganten. – und dann präsentiert Nintendo auf der Gamescom die neue “Nintendo Switch 2”, “Super Nintendo Switch”, “Nintendo Switch Ultimate”, oder was auch immer.

Längst ist Nintendo verstärkt in virtuelle Welten abgewandert, um seine Spiele zu zeigen. Und Nachteile hat man dadurch offensichtlich nicht. Zum Stichtag am 31. März 2022 hatte Nintendo von der Switch 107,65 Millionen Exemplare verkauft. Und bei den Spielen setzt der Hersteller eine Rekordmarke: rund 235 Millionen Switch-Titel gingen im vergangenen Geschäftsjahr über die Ladentheken – die beste Zahlen jemals. Pokemon hat daran selbstverständlich seinen Bärenanteil (30 Millionen)*. Die Gamescom 2022 könnte für Nintendo einfach nicht notwendig sein, um Sales und Marketing anzukurbeln.

Dieses Jahr hinterlässt Nintendo eine Lücke, weil die bunte und interaktive Hallenpräsenz vor allem für Familien und Kinder ein echter Magnet ist. Nintendo hinterlässt eine Lücke, weil Fans auf den aktuellen Mega-Player im Bereich der Konsolenverkäufe verzichten müssen. Keine Lücke hinterlässt der japanische Konzern allerdings, weil man schlicht kaum relevantes Titel zeigen könnte.

Dauerhaft wird das aber nicht sein. Nintendo hält die Messe – wie andere Publisher auch – für zentral im Veranstaltungskalender. Mehr Aufmerksamkeit kann man bei der Zielgruppe kaum erzeugen, aber man muss eben Titel haben, die es zu präsentieren lohnt. 2023 könnte das bei Nintendo deutlich anders aussehen: Zelda, Metroid, Pokemon, vielleicht neue Hardware – im kommenden Jahr könnte es so richtig brummen für Nintendo in Köln. Wie einige andere Publisher dieses Jahr verfahren, ist noch offen – längst nicht alle Giganten haben die Teilnahme bestätigt.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 27.06.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API