The fact that in-game items can bind players more intensively to a title has long been more than a surprising side note for those developers and publishers who use such concepts in video games. Now, a study by the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences shows that monetization models prove to be actual growth drivers in the games segment - or, as in the case of cloud gaming, could prove to be. 


Selling in-game items is lucrative. This is no longer a big surprise, at least since the overwhelming success of some well-known free-2-play games. Now, under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Lutz Anderie from the Faculty of Business and Law at the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences specifically investigated various potential growth drivers under the microscope - with quite surprising findings.

The research results are based on a total of three quantitative and qualitative market research studies carried out by students in the Strategic Information Management and International Business Information Systems courses at Frankfurt UAS. A total of almost 900 users were surveyed, the largest block being a survey entitled "Empirical Survey on User Acceptance and Monetization of Top Selling Video Games" with 775 respondents.

Monetization: gamble longer, prefer to pay?

The games industry is spinning quickly, and developments sometimes happen rapidly, especially when it comes to new products and technologies. Monetization as the core of value creation is of particular importance. This is exactly where the Frankfurt researchers come in and essentially ask two questions:

  • How does an electronic game have to be constructed in order to generate income?
  • Which obstacles counteract this?

Prof. Dr. Lutz Anderie in his study entitled "Frankfurt Game Studies - Monetization Models and Cloud Gaming". The professor for business informatics at the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences has now in the run-up to the Gamescom presented his research results. Among other things, Anderie comes to the conclusion that “in particular subscription models, cloud gaming and the in-game items offered during the course of the game, i.e. virtual goods, are emerging as growth drivers for added value.” Artificial intelligence also plays a role in being able to exploit potential.

What was previously suspected is confirmed: the longer a gaming session lasts, the more money players spend on in-game items. The researchers draw this knowledge from surveys carried out among games users. However, players simply and always do not give their money willingly: time delays, for example due to an inadequate data transfer rate, often impair the gaming experience and it is precisely then that the monetization potential cannot be fully developed. In other words, if you play longer, you pay more. But also: if you have less fun while gambling, you will probably pay less.

Titles like Electronic Arts' Apex Legends rely on an in-game shop. Photo: André Volkmann

Titles like Electronic Arts' Apex Legends rely on an in-game shop. Photo: André Volkmann

The researchers have found: With a game time of three hours, the vast majority of gamers spend between one and twenty euros per year on in-game items. 94 percent of gamers who play for four hours or more even invest 51 to 200 euros per year for in-game items during the course of the game.

The detailed results are exciting: The acceptance of in-game items is comparatively high despite the sometimes loud discussions. Around 54 percent of those surveyed have already bought virtual goodies, such as weapons, vehicles or cosmetic items. The money for digital in-game goods is almost a bonus for the industry, because: 97 percent of those surveyed who spend 100 to 200 euros annually on in-game items also buy paid games worth at least 50 in the same period Euro. A basic assumption, namely the channeling effect, sees Prof. Dr. Incidentally, Lutz Anderie refuted by his study: The willingness to buy in-game items is therefore no less if players have already had to pay a purchase price for the title.

Streamers are not automatically cloud gamers

Another result from the Frankfurt study also proves to be interesting. Even if the importance of subscription models, streaming and cloud gaming is increasing overall: Those who stream films, series and music at home do not show a higher affinity to cloud gaming.

Although 85 percent played games regularly (23,3 percent of them daily), only 11,7 percent have streamed a game in the cloud. After all: 73 percent know about the “Cloud Gaming” offer, the preferred gaming platforms with a share of over 50 percent are PlayStation and Mobile Phone.

The majority of the users surveyed have already heard of "cloud gaming" - but only a few have played in the cloud themselves. Photo: André Volkmann

Most of the users surveyed have already heard of “cloud gaming” - but only a few have played in the cloud themselves. Photo: André Volkmann

Technical inadequacies also seem to play a major role at the moment. Of those who use cloud gaming, 50 percent complain that they do not have a satisfactory gaming experience due to a lack of sufficient data transfer rates. Gamers experience that their game activities (e.g. in a duel) take place late in the course of the game. “Lag” leads to frustration.

The acceptance among gamers for Subscriptions is higher for gaming platforms (e.g. PlayStation Now) than for individual games (e.g. World of Warcraft): 55 percent of those surveyed have already subscribed to individual games, whereas 67 percent have subscribed to gaming platforms. “A more diverse range of gaming platform subscriptions is probably the reason for this,” says Professor Anderie.


Offers board games video games gaming discounts

Author

Dass in-Game-Items Spieler intensiver an einen Titel binden können, war längst mehr als eine überraschende Randnotiz für jene Entwickler und Publisher, die derartige Konzepte in Videospielen nutzen. Nun zeigt eine Studie von der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, dass Monetarisierungsmodelle sich als tatsächliche Wachstumstreiber im Games-Segment erweisen – oder, wie im Falle des Cloud Gamings, erweisen könnten. 


Der Verkauf von in-Game-Items ist lukrativ. Das ist spätestens seit den überragenden Erfolge einiger namhafter Free-2-play-Spiele keine große Überraschung mehr. Nun haben Frankfurter Studierende unter Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Lutz Anderie vom Fachbereich Wirtschaft und Recht an der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences gezielt verschiedene potenzielle Wachstumstreiber unter die Lupe ermittelt – mit durchaus überraschenden Erkenntnissen.

Die Forschungsergebnisse basieren auf insgesamt drei quantitativen und qualitativen Marktforschungsstudien, die von Studierenden im Rahmen der Studiengänge Strategisches Informationsmanagement und „International Business Information Systems“ der Frankfurt UAS durchgeführt wurden. Insgesamt befragt wurden knapp 900 User, der größte Block entfällt dabei auf eine Befragung unter dem Titel „Empirische Erhebung zur User-Akzeptanz und Monetarisierung von Top-Selling Videogames“ mit 775 Befragten.

Monetarisierung: Länger zocken, lieber zahlen?

Die Games-Branche dreht sich schnell, Entwicklungen geschehen mitunter rasant, insbesondere wenn es um neue Produkte und Technologien geht. Der Monetarisierung als Kernstück der Wertschöpfung kommt eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Genau dort setzen die Frankfurter Forscherinnen und Forscher an und stellen im Kern zwei Fragen:

  • Wie muss ein elektronisches Spiel konstruiert sein, um Einnahmen zu generieren?
  • Welche Hemmnisse wirken dem entgegen?

Antworten darauf gibt Prof. Dr. Lutz Anderie in seiner Untersuchung mit dem Titel „Frankfurt Game Studies – Monetarisierungsmodelle und Cloud Gaming“. Der Professor für Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences hat nun im Vorfeld der Gamescom seine Forschungsergebnisse vorgelegt. Darin kommt Anderie unter anderem zu dem Ergebnis, dass sich „insbesondere Abo-Modelle, Cloud Gaming und die im Spielverlauf offerierten In-Game-Items, also virtuelle Güter, als Wachstumstreiber für die Wertschöpfung abzeichnen.“ Auch Künstliche Intelligenz spiele eine Rolle, um Potenziale ausschöpfen zu können.

Es bestätigt sich, was bislang vermutet wurde: Je länger eine Gaming-Session andauert, desto mehr Geld geben Spieler für In-Game Items aus. Die Erkenntnis ziehen die Forscher aus durchgeführten Befragungen von Games-Nutzerinnen und -Nutzern. Einfach und immer geben Spieler ihr Geld jedoch nicht bereitwillig her: Zeitverzögerungen, etwa durch eine unzureichende Datenübertragungsrate, beeinträchtigen häufig das Spielerlebnis und genau dann könne das Monetarisierungspotenzial nicht vollständig entfaltet werden. Heißt also: Wer länger zockt, zahlt mehr. Aber auch: Wer beim Zocken weniger Spaß hat, zahlt vermutlich auch weniger.

Titel wie Electronic Arts' Apex Legends setzen auf einen In-Game-Shop. Foto: André Volkmann
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Titel wie Electronic Arts‘ Apex Legends setzen auf einen In-Game-Shop. Foto: André Volkmann

Die Forscher haben ermittelt: Bei einer Spieldauer von drei Stunden gibt die überwiegende Mehrheit der Gamer zwischen ein bis zwanzig Euro pro Jahr für In-Game Items aus. 94 Prozent der Gamer, die vier Stunden oder länger spielen, investieren sogar 51 bis 200 Euro pro Jahr für In-Game Items während des Spielverlaufs.

Auch interessant:
Corona-Impfstoff gestohlen! Mathe-Asse machen sich in Exit-Spiel auf die Suche

Spannend sind die Detailergebnisse: So ist die Akzeptanz von In-Game-Items trotz teilweise lauter Diskussionen vergleichsweise hoch. Rund 54 Prozent der Befragten haben bereits virtuelle Goodies, etwa Waffen Fahrzeuge oder kosmetische Items gekauft. Das Geld für digitale In-Game-Güter ist fast also Bonus für die Branche anzusehen, denn: 97 Prozent der Befragten, die 100 bis 200 Euro jährlich für In-Game Items ausgeben, kaufen im gleichen Zeitraum auch kostenpflichtige Spiele  im Wert von mindestens 50 Euro. Eine Grundannahme, nämlich den Kannalisierungseffekt, sieht Prof. Dr. Lutz Anderie übrigens durch seine Studie widerlegt: Die Kaufbereitschaft für In-Game-Items ist demnach nicht geringer, wenn Spieler für den Titel bereits einen Kaufpreis bezahlen mussten.

Streamer sind nicht automatisch Cloud Gamer

Ebenfalls als interessant erweist sich ein weiteres Ergebnis aus der Frankfurter Studie. Auch wenn die Bedeutung von Abo-Modellen, Streaming und Cloud Gaming insgesamt zunimmt: Wer Filme, Serien und Musik zu Hause streamt, zeigt keine höhere Affinität gegenüber Cloud-Gaming.

Zwar spielten 85 Prozent regelmäßig Games (davon 23,3 Prozent täglich), aber nur 11,7 Prozent haben schon einmal ein Spiel in der Cloud gestreamt. Immerhin: 73 Prozent wissen vom Angebot „Cloud Gaming“, die favorisierten Gaming-Plattformen mit einem Anteil von über 50 Prozent sind PlayStation und Mobile Phone.

Ein Großteil der befragten User hat bereits von "Cloud Gaming" gehört - selbst gespielt haben in der Cloud jedoch nur wenige. Foto: André Volkmann
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Ein Großteil der befragten User hat bereits von „Cloud Gaming“ gehört – selbst gespielt haben in der Cloud jedoch nur wenige. Foto: André Volkmann

Auch technische Unzulänglichkeiten scheinen dabei derzeit eine übergeordnete Rolle zu spielen. Bei denjenigen, die Cloud Gaming nutzen, beklagen 50 Prozent, dass sie mangels einer ausreichenden Datenübertragungsrate kein zufriedenstellendes Spielerlebnis haben. Gamer erleben, dass ihre Spielaktivitäten (z. B. im Zweikampf) verspätet im Spielverlauf erfolgen,. „Lag“ führt demnach zu Frustrationen.

Die Akzeptanz unter Gamern für Abonnements ist höher für Gaming-Plattformen (z. B. PlayStation Now) als für einzelne Spiele (z. B. World of Warcraft): 55 Prozent der Befragten haben schon einmal einzelne Spiele abonniert, 67 Prozent hingegen Gaming-Plattformen. „Ein vielfältigeres Angebot bei Gaming-Plattform-Abonnements ist hierfür vermutlich der Grund“, so Professor Anderie.


Angebote Brettspiele Videospiele Gaming Rabatte
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest