Gods love dinosaurs, my Kasper Lapp and the US publisher Pandasaurus Games. With “Gods love Dinosaurs” a new board game has now been announced that again focuses on the popular giant lizards. Instead of imprisoning them as with Dinosaur Island and establishing them as an attraction for an amusement park, this time the aim is to create a functioning eco-system for the animals. 


Sweet animals are eaten by large animals: the idea of ​​“Gods love Dinosaurs” can be broken down pretty precisely. Kaspar Lapp's concept - by the way, the brain behind games like Magic Maze or X-Code - relies on a laying mechanism that is preceded by a draft. Each player creates his own biome in this way, in which dinosaurs make their home, provided there is enough food.

Gods love Dinosaurs: Everyone has to eat - especially dinosaurs

In the placement game Gods love Dinosaurs, players have to create their own biome on the table in front of them. In this way, parts of the map are picked up and then placed next to one another in order to then place “resources” on them based on the tiles used. Resources means: food, i.e. all kinds of small animals - at least when measured against the size of a T-Rex.

The animal type is always triggered for all players as soon as a row is empty. So there is definitely an interactive part of the competitive board game. This results in strategies, namely whenever one hatches a type that is advantageous for oneself but not for other players. Because the opponents can do the same, this creates a small annoyance factor.

God loves Dinosaurs: The laying plates determine the food resources. Copyright: Pandasaurus Games

Gods love Dinosaurs: The laying plates determine the food resources. Copyright: Pandasaurus Games

Pandasaurus Games is again using a dinosaur board game, this time with a combination of tile draft and placement mechanics. The own biome becomes larger round by round and animals settle there that are eaten by the dinosaurs. And the more the dinosaurs eat, the more eggs they lay and the more points the players get. The twist: if there is no food, the dinosaurs cannot survive. However, you shouldn't overfeed the lizards with a big stomach.

Gods love Dinosaurs is designed for 2 to 5 players, ages ten and up. According to the publisher, a game takes around 30 to 45 minutes. There is already an exact release date: The board game will be released on October 21 at a price of around 40 US dollars.


Spiele-Offensive.de - Germany's largest range of board games

Author

Götter lieben Dinosaurier, meinen Kasper Lapp und der US-amerikanische Verlag Pandasaurus Games. Mit „Gods love Dinosaurs“ ist nun ein neues Brettspiel angekündigt worden, das die beliebten Riesenechsen erneut in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Statt sie wie bei Dinosaur Island einzukerkern und als Attraktion für einen Vergnügungspark zu etablieren, geht es diesmal darum, den Tieren ein funktionierendes Öko-System zu kreieren. 


Süße Tiere werden von großen Tieren gefressen: die Idee von „Gods love Dinosaurs“ lässt sich damit ziemlich exakt herunterbrechen. Das Konzept von Kaspar Lapp – übrigens der Kopf hinter Spielen wie Magic Maze oder X-Code – setzt auf eine Lege-Mechanik, der ein Draft vorausgeht. Jeder Spieler erstellt auf diese Weise sein eigenes Biom, in dem eben Dinosaurier heimisch werden, sofern genügend Nahrung vorhanden ist.

Gods love Dinosaurs: Jeder muss essen – insbesondere Dinos

Bei dem Legespiel Gods love Dinosaurs geht es für Spieler darum, vor sich auf dem Tisch ein eigenes Biom zu erstellen. So werden Spielplanteile aufgenommen und anschließend aneinander gelegt, um darauf dann, durch die eingesetzten Plättchen festgelegte, „Ressourcen“ zu platzieren. Ressourcen heißt: Futter, also allerlei Kleingetier – zumindest gemessen an der Größe eines T-Rex.

Der Tiertypus wird dabei immer für alle Spieler ausgelöst, sobald eine Reihe leer gezogen ist. Es gibt also bei dem kompetitiven Brettspiel durchaus einen interaktiven Spielanteil. Daraus ergeben sich Strategien, nämlich immer, wenn man einen Typus ausbrütet, der für einen selbst von Vorteil ist, für andere Spieler jedoch nicht. Weil die Gegenspieler das genauso machen können, entspinnt sich dadurch ein kleiner Ärgerfaktor.

God loves Dinosaurs: Die Legeplatten bestimmen über die Nahrungsressourcen. Bildrechte: Pandasaurus Games
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Gods love Dinosaurs: Die Legeplatten bestimmen über die Nahrungsressourcen. Bildrechte: Pandasaurus Games

Pandasaurus Games setzt damit erneut auf ein Dinosaurier-Brettspiel, diesmal mit einer Kombination aus Plättchen-Draft und Lege-Mechanik. Das eigene Biom wird rundenweise größer und es siedeln sich Tiere an, die von den Dinosauriern gefressen werden. Und je mehr die Dinos fressen, desto mehr Eier legen sie und desto mehr Punkte erhalten die Spieler. Der Twist: Gibt es keine Nahrung, können die Dinosaurier nicht überleben. Allerdings darf man die Echsen mit dem großen Magen auch nicht überfüttern.

Gods love Dinosaurs ist ausgelegt auf 2 bis 5 Spieler ab zehn Jahren. Eine Partie dauert nach Angaben des Verlags rund 30 bis 45 Minuten. Ein exaktes Veröffentlichungsdatum gibt es bereits: Das Brettspiel erscheint am 21. Oktober zum Preis von rund 40 US-Dollar.