The role-playing game Farathan from the development studio of the same name is entering its final phase on Kickstarter: Less than three days remain to drive the role-playing game to a successful financing level. That is still a long way from being reached. The Polish developers were able to generate around two thirds of the targeted sum of 15.000 euros with their campaign - that would not be enough for a successful conclusion. All hopes are now on a furious final spurt. By the way: the campaign won't damage the release even if it fails.


Farathan is supposed to be a Gothic-like role-playing game, this is how the developers promote their work themselves. The comparison is ambitious, after all, the Gothic series is one of the most successful German video game productions. There is a certain similarity to the action role-playing game once developed by Piranha Bytes. Behind Farathan, however, there is an ambitious developer duo who have worked on the story for around ten years and want to integrate over 300 hand-picked quests into the RPG.

Farathan Development: From gamer to developer

Farathan is kind of a fan project, but more at the same time. The “Dark Age” fantasy setting with a medieval touch is a classic that worked for Gothic - and could also work for Farathan. In order for this to work, Daniel and Patricia need the money from the “crush”.

With Kickstarter is running the crowdfunding campaign for Farathan, solid for a small project, but not yet reached the target point. The two creative minds have set a brand of around 15.000 euros, and almost 180 fans have so far pumped a little over 10.000 euros into the project.

Farathan pre-alpha gameplay:

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Basically Farathan is reminiscent of the classic role-playing game Gothic, but also uses games like The Witcher or Two Worlds. The story focuses on the ruler's son, who after an accident and the disappearance of his father Eristan, has to fight through an approaching civil war to unite the country. So far, so classic.

What then follows is a non-linear story full of twists that players can influence through their choices. The developers give more than 100 hours of game time for the action role-playing game.

The money generated through the crowdfunding campaign should primarily flow into the synchronization, i.e. the voice-over and lip-sync. That alone shows how ambitious the developer duo at Farathan is. The goal: to offer the players a role-playing game that lives from its atmosphere.

Should the Farathan Studios take in more than the targeted 15.000 euros, the excess will be put into further project steps, such as porting. It is currently planned that Farathan will be released for PC and Playstation 5 - probably on December 22, 2021, just in time for Christmas time.

The setting is classic medieval fantasy, but "Dark Age". Image: Farathan Studios

The setting is classic medieval fantasy, but “Dark Age”. Image: Farathan Studios

The video game is at an advanced stage, with the Kickstarter campaign the main aim is to finance a remaining amount so that the action role-playing game can appear in its entirety - the developers mean quests that are set to music.

What if the crowdfunding fails? Even then, Farathan is expected to appear on the targeted December date. The action role-playing game is listed on Valve's gaming platform Steam and can be added to the wish list there. Information about the game is also available at www.farathan.com.


Preview Product Rating Price
Gothic universe Gothic Universe * 24,95 EUR

 

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Rollenspiel Farathan des gleichnamigen Entwicklerstudios geht auf Kickstarter in die finale Phase: Weniger als drei Tage verbleiben, um das Rollenspiel zum Finanzierungserfolg zu treiben. Der ist nämlich noch längst nicht erreicht. Rund zwei Drittel der angepeilten Summe von 15.000 Euro konnten die polnischen Entwickler mit ihrer Kampagne generieren – für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss würde das nicht ausreichen. Alle Hoffnungen liegen nun auf einem furiosen Schlussspurt. Übrigens: Dem Release wir die Kampagne auch bei einem Misserfolg nicht schaden.


Ein Gothic-like Rollenspiel soll Farathan sein, so bewerben die Entwickler selbst ihr Werk. Der Vergleich ist ambitioniert, immerhin gehört die Gothic-Reihe zu den erfolgreichsten deutschen Videospielproduktionen. Eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit zu dem einst von Piranha Bytes entwickelten Action-Rollenspiel ist vorhanden. Hinter Farathan steckt allerdings ein ambitioniertes Entwickler-Duo, das rund zehn Jahre lang an der Story gefeilt und über 300 handverlesene Quests in das RPG integrieren will.

Farathan-Development: Vom Gamer zum Entwickler

Farathan ist eine Art Fan-Projekt, gleichzeitig jedoch mehr. Das „Dark Age“-Fantasy-Setting mit mittelalterlichem Touch ist ein Klassiker, der bei Gothic funktionierte – und auch bei Farathan funktionieren könnte. Damit das klappt, benötigen Daniel und Patricia das Geld des „Schwarms“.

Via Kickstarter läuft die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zu Farathan, für ein kleines Projekt solide, allerdings noch nicht am angepeilten Zielpunkt angekommen. Rund 15.000 Euro haben die beiden Kreativköpfe als Marke gesetzt, knapp 180 Fans haben bislang etwas über 10.000 Euro in das Projekt gepumpt.

Pre-Alpha-Gameplay zu Farathan:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Grundsätzlich erinnert Farathan an den Rollenspielklassiker Gothic, bedient sich jedoch auch bei Spielen wie The Witcher oder Two Worlds. In der Story steht des Herrschers Sohnemann im Mittelpunkt, der sich nach einem Unfall, und dem Verschwinden seines Vaters Eristan, durch einen nahenden Bürgerkrieg kämpfen muss, um das Land zu vereinen. So weit, so klassisch.

Was dann folgt, ist eine nicht-lineare Story voller Twists, die Spieler durch ihre Entscheidungen beeinflussen können. Mehr als 100 Stunden Spielzeit geben die Entwickler für das Action-Rollenspiel an.

Die über die Crowdfunding-Kampagne generierten Geldern sollen vorrangig in die Synchronisation, also das Voice-Over und die Lip-Sync fließen. Das allein zeigt, wie ambitioniert das Entwickler-Duo bei Farathan zu Werke geht. Das Ziel: Den Spielern ein Rollenspiel zu bieten, das von seiner Atmosphäre lebt.

Sollten die Farathan Studios mehr als die angepeilten 15.000 Euro einnehmen, so wird der Überschuss in weitere Projektschritte gesteckt, etwa Portierungen. Derzeit ist nämlich geplant, dass Farathan für PC sowie Playstation 5 erscheinen soll – voraussichtlich am 22. Dezember 2021, pünktlich zur Weihnachtszeit.

Das Setting ist klassische Mittelalter-Fantasy, allerdings "Dark Age". Bild: Farathan Studios

Das Setting ist klassische Mittelalter-Fantasy, allerdings „Dark Age“. Bild: Farathan Studios

Das Videospiel befindet sich in einem fortgeschrittenen Stadium, mit der Kickstarter-Kampagne will man vorrangig einen Restbetrag finanzieren, damit das Action-Rollenspiel in seinem vollen Umfang erscheinen kann – die Entwickler meinen damit vertonte Quests.

Und wenn das Crowdfunding fehlschlägt? Auch dann wird Farathan voraussichtlich zum angepeilten Dezember-Termin erscheinen. Das Action-Rollenspiel ist unter anderem auf Valve’s Spieleplattform Steam gelistet und kann dort der Wunschliste hinzugefügt werden. Informationen zum Spiel gibt es auch unter www.farathan.com.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Gothic Universe Gothic Universe * 18,94 EUR

 

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.06.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API