The restart of The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, which appears in German via Asmodee in this country, is accompanied by the publication of several starter decks, each focusing on different characters from the Tolkien universe. There will initially be four ready-made decks for the Living Card Game for The Lord of the Rings. 

Fantasy Flight Games recently announced the release of four starter decks for Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, each targeting different factions: The Dwarves of Durin, the Elves of Lórien, the Defenders of Gondor and the Riders of Rohan are the four first starter decks.

Stronger Decks: Different styles of play

Especially those who missed the start of the card game in 2011 are currently looking forward to the restart of the Living Card Games based on the fantasy epic The Lord of the Rings. Countless extensions have been published over the years, and the new entry was correspondingly more difficult with each subsequent content release. The “Revised Edition”, which will appear in a localized version via Asmodee Germany in the first quarter of the year, virtually sets the LCG experience to zero. This gives beginners in particular the chance to learn the co-op card game from scratch.

In The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, players fall back on the iconic heroes from the novel to master various scenarios. At this point Fantasy Flight Games comes in with the starter decks: these are each geared towards a faction and play differently. With the dwarves, for example, the focus is on hand management, the elves, on the other hand, rely on powerful combos. The two decks to the people from Gondor and Rohan are strategically oriented differently, but both rely on rather risky card tactics.

The starter decks, the name suggests, are aimed primarily at beginners. This should give you a basis to start playing as quickly as possible. However, the starter decks are not independent of the base game: The Lord of the Rings card game box is required to be able to play with the starter decks. Fantasy Flight Games is pursuing the clever basic idea of ​​owning your own deck and being able to play with it without having to buy another basic box directly, provided that this is already available in the traditional group of players.

Incidentally, experienced players are not addressed with the starter decks. As Fantasy Flight Games reports, there are no new cards in the four card collections - at least if you already own all or most of the expansions that have appeared so far. The starter decks are ready-made deck collections geared towards playing strategies, with which you can learn the card game - or, in the case of a veteran, explain it. Fantasy Flight Games also specifies the spring of 2022 as the release period for the four starter decks, i.e. the period in which the new edition of the basic card game is to be published.


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Neustart von Der Herr der Ringe: Das Kartenspiel, das hierzulande über Asmodee auf Deutsch erscheint, wird begleitet von der Veröffentlichung mehrerer Starter-Decks, die jeweils unterschiedliche Figuren aus dem Tolkien-Universum in dem Mittelpunkt stellen. Vier vorgefertigte Decks für das Living Card Game zu Der Herr der Ringe wird es zunächst geben. 

Fantasy Flight Games kündigt jüngst die Veröffentlichung von vier Starter-Decks für Herr der Ringe: Das Kartenspiel an, die jeweils auf unterschiedliche Fraktionen ausgerichtet sind: Die Zwerge von Durin, die Elfen von Lórien, die Verteidiger von Gondor und die Reiter von Rohan sind die vier ersten Starter-Decks.

Starker-Decks: Unterschiedliche Spielstile

Dem Neustart des Living Card Games zum Fantasy-Epos Der Herr der Ringe fiebern derzeit vor allem jene entgegen, die den Start des Kartenspiels im Jahr 2011 verpasst haben. Unzählige Erweiterungen wurden im Laufe der Jahre veröffentlicht, der Neueinstieg fiel mit jedem weiteren Content-Release entsprechend schwieriger aus.  Die “Revised Edition”, die hierzulande in einer lokalisierten Version über Asmodee Deutschland bereits im ersten Jahresquartal erscheinen wird, setzt die LCG-Experience quasi auf null. Insbesondere Einsteiger erhalten damit die Chance, das Koop-Kartenspiel von Grund auf zu lernen.

In Der Herr der Ringe: Das Kartenspiel greifen Spieler auf die ikonischen Helden aus der Romanvorlage zurück, um verschiedene Szenarien zu meistern. An diesem Punkt setzt Fantasy Flight Games nun mit den Starter-Decks an: diese sind jeweils auf eine Fraktion ausgerichtet und spielen sich unterschiedlich. Bei den Zwergen steht beispielsweise das Handmanagement im Mittelpunkt, die Elfen hingegen setzen auf mächtige Kombos. Auch die beiden Decks zu den Menschen aus Gondor beziehungsweise Rohan sind strategisch verschieden ausgerichtet, setzten allerdings beide auf eher riskante Kartentaktiken.

Die Starter-Decks richten sich, der Name legt es nahe, vorrangig an Einsteiger. Ihnen soll damit eine Basis geboten werden, um möglich schnell mit dem Spielen beginnen zu können. Unabhängig vom Grundspiel sind die Starter-Decks allerdings nicht: die Box des Der Herr der Ringe-Kartenspiels wird benötigt, um mit den Starter-Decks spielen zu können. Fantasy Flight Games verfolgt damit die clevere Grundidee, ein eigenes Deck besitzen und damit spielen zu können, ohne direkt eine weitere Grundbox kaufen zu müssen, sofern diese im angestammten Spielerkreis bereits vorhanden ist.

Erfahrene Spieler werden mit den Starter-Decks übrigens nicht angesprochen. Wie Fantasy Flight Games mitteilt, sind in den vier Kartensammlungen keine neuen Karten enthalten – zumindest sofern man alle oder den Großteil der bislang erschienenen Erweiterungen bereits besitzt. Bei den Starter-Decks handelt es sich um vorgefertigte und am Spielstrategien ausgerichtet Decksammlungen, mit denen man das Kartenspiel erlernen – oder im Fall eines Veteranen erklären kann. Fantasy Flight Games gibt ebenfalls das Frühjahr 2022 als Release-Zeitraum für die vier Starter-Decks an, also jenen Zeitraum, in dem auch die Neuauflage des Grundkartenspiels veröffentlicht werden soll.


Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 3.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API