After persistent heavy rain, the situation came to a head on Wednesday: large parts of Rhineland-Palatinate and North Rhine-Westphalia were flooded. The district of Ahrweiler was hit particularly hard - this is exactly where Alexander Petkovski's new game store “Brettspielheld” is located. Influencer have now started a fundraising campaign.

On Website of the game store Brettspielheld time stands still: “Current status: Regularly open”, it says there. However, nothing is running regularly in Ahrweiler at the moment. Only today did the police report over 360 injured people, the number could even increase - there are also missing people: around 1.300, according to the district administration. The death toll in the Ahrweiler district has even risen to 65.

Floods simply wash away livelihoods

The situation in the Ahrweiler district is dramatic. Those who remained unharmed are now struggling with the consequences of the flood disaster. It was historic, those affected will not care. It is enough for you that this severe weather event even happened. The plans of so many dealers were mixed up, among them the shop “Brettspielheld”.

The renovation had been carried out since July 1st and reported on July 11th that the shelves were “temporarily filled” - for a Sunday shopping. Another message: “We are in good spirits to be able to open next Saturday,” says the board game store's Facebook page. That should be tomorrow, July 17th. It would have worked, had it not been for the flood that flooded the street in Ahrweiler where Alexander Petkovski had rented his shop.

The owner probably already suspected the catastrophe. Late on Wednesday evening he wrote on Facebook that the store and house had been secured. The flood of the century will also hit the city center. Then on Thursday morning the frightening update: the house and shop are several centimeters under water. The shop had to close for the time being.

Now the tidying up is in progress - and the “board game hero” doesn't let himself get down. “We will only find out in the next few days whether and when it will continue,” it said. But also: “Corona did not ruin us, we will survive the situation and come back with an even nicer shop and an even better selection”.

The board game scene itself could support this. Three influencers have one Fundraiser started to help the “board game hero”: collect “Better Board Games”, “Get on Board” and “Brettspielbox”. It is “completely uncomplicated”, says the board game box.

It is not the first time that the scene has given support to the scene. The Hunter & Friends “Berlin Con” was last saved by crowdfunding. This raised over 45.000 euros.

Preview Product Rating Price
Asmodee | Libellud | Mystery Park | family game |... Asmodee | Libellud | Mystery Park | family game |... * 28,21 EUR

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Nach anhaltendem Starkregen spitzte sich die Lage am Mittwoch zu: In Rheinland-Pfalz und Nordrhein-Westfalen waren weite Teile überschwemmt. Besonders heftig traf es den Kreis Ahrweiler – genau dort liegt der noch neue Spieleladen „Brettspielheld“ von Alexander Petkovski. Influencer habe nun eine Spendenaktion gestartet.

Auf der Webseite des Spieleladens Brettspielheld steht die Zeit still: „Aktueller Status: Regulär geöffnet“, heißt es dort. Regulär läuft in Ahrweiler derzeit jedoch gar nichts. Erst heute meldete die Polizei über 360 Verletzte, die Zahl könne sich sogar weiter erhöhen – auch Vermisste gibt es: rund 1.300, so die Kreisverwaltung. Die Zahl der Todesopfer ist im Kreis Ahrweiler gar auf 65 gestiegen.

Fluten spülen Existenzen einfach fort

Die Lage im Kreis Ahrweiler ist dramatisch. Wer unversehrt bliebt, kämpft nun mit den Folgen der Hochwasser-Katastrophe. Die war historisch, den Betroffenen wird das egal sein. Ihnen reicht, dass es überhaupt zu diesem Unwetterereignis gekommen ist. Die Pläne so mancher Händler wurden durcheinander gewürfelt, unter ihnen der Laden „Brettspielheld“.

Seit dem 1. Juli hatte man umgebaut, noch am 11. Juli gemeldet, die Regal seien „provisorisch gefüllt“ – für einen verkaufsoffenen Sonntag. Eine weitere Botschaft: „Wir sind guter Dinge nächsten Samstag eröffnen zu können“, heißt es auf der Facebook-Seite des Brettspielgeschäfts. Das sollte am morgigen 17. Juli sein. Es es hätte auch geklappt, wäre da nicht die Flut gewesen, die jenen Straßenzug in Ahrweiler unter Wasser setzte, in dem Alexander Petkovski sein Ladenlokal angemietet hatte.

Der Inhaber hatte die Katastrophe vermutlich schon geahnt. Noch am späten Mittwochabend schrieb er auf Facebook, man habe Laden und Haus gesichert. Das Jahrhunderthochwasser werde auch die Innenstadt treffen. Am Donnerstagmorgen dann das erschreckende Update: Haus und Laden stehen mehrere Zentimeter unter Wasser. Das Geschäft musste vorerst schließen.

Nun laufen die Aufräumarbeiten – und der „Brettspielheld“ lässt sich nicht unterkriegen. „Ob und wann es weitergeht werden wir erst in den nächsten Tagen erfahren“, hieß es. Aber auch: „Corona hat uns nicht in den Ruin gebracht, da werden wir die Situation auch überstehen und mit einem noch schöneren Laden und noch besserer Auswahl zurückkommen“.

Dabei unterstützen könnte die Brettspiel-Szene selbst. Drei Influencer haben eine Spendenaktion gestartet, um dem „Brettspielhelden“ unter die Arme zu greifen: „Better Board Games“, „Get on Board“ und „Brettspielbox“ sammeln. Das gehe „völlig unkompliziert“, heißt es von der Brettspielbox.

Es ist nicht das erste Mal, dass aus der Szene Unterstützung für die Szene geleistet wird. Zuletzt hatte man die „Berlin Con“ von Hunter & Friends per Crowdfunding gerettet. Dafür kamen über 45.000 Euro zusammen.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Asmodee Mysterium Park, Familienspiel, Deutsch Asmodee Mysterium Park, Familienspiel, Deutsch * 19,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 23.09.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API