Capcom's Resident Evil Franchise Undergoes New Movie Adaptation; and one that does not continue the previous 6-part series by B-Movie veteran Paul WS Anderson and his regular actress and meanwhile wife Milla Jovovich, but instead orientates itself closer to the plot of the video games. More horror, less action - that seems to be the motto for the reboot. The shooting of the new version now seems to be finished. At least that's what film distribution Sony reported in an official tweet.


While the Anderson film series, which started in 2002, had little in common with the Japanese survival horror series and only processed a few set pieces of story, the new part should be based on the plot of the first Resident Evil game. There it is primarily about the mysterious events in the Spencer estate, an old mansion in the fictional Raccoon Forest. Until then, it is not known whether the successors' elements of action will also be taken up. It is to be expected, however, if you look at the cast.

Illustres figure tableau

The horror magazine Deadline previously revealed parts of the actor squad in a tweet: We can look forward to Kaya Scodelario as Claire Redfield, Robbie Amell as Chris Redfield and Hannah John-Kamen as Jill Valentine. But other illustrious characters have also been cast: Tom Hopper will play serial villain Albert Wesker, Avan Jogi will play the young police officer Leon S. Kennedy and Neal McDough will play the umbrella virologist William Birkin. So we have a figure board that contains many characters from the first three Resident Evil parts.

Intended to direct the new edition John Roberts to lead. The Brit is primarily active in the horror and thriller profession and was most recently successful at the box office with the shark horror 47 Meters Down: Uncaged and The Strangers second album Prey at Night. Under this premise, the remake will likely take a significantly different narrative tone than the extremely action-focused films by Paul WS Anderson.

The cinema release is scheduled for September 9, 2021. Provided, of course, that the current pandemic doesn't throw a spanner in the works. However, since the shooting has now been completed and the hygiene measures in the post-production phase would be much easier to comply with, the probability tends to be quite high that the release window can be adhered to.

In addition to the planned theatrical release, there is currently an 8-episode Resident Evil series on Netflix in progress. It should be located much later in chronological order and revolve around the children of Albert Wesker, who are investigating dark secrets in New Racoon City.


 

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Spiele News ajax loader
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Capcoms Resident Evil-Franchise erfährt eine neue Filmadaption; und zwar eine, die nicht die bisherige 6 Teile umfassende Reihe von B-Movie Veteran Paul W.S. Anderson und seiner Stammschauspielerin und mittlerweile Ehefrau Milla Jovovich fortsetzt, sondern sich stattdessen näher am Plot der Videospiele orientiert. Mehr Horror, weniger Action – Das scheint die Devise beim Reboot zu sein. Die Dreharbeiten zu der neuen Umsetzung scheinen nun abgeschlossen zu sein. Das jedenfalls berichtet Filmverleih Sony in einem offiziellen Tweet.


Während die 2002 gestartete Filmreihe von Anderson wenig mit der japanischen Survival Horror-Reihe gemein hatte und lediglich einige Story-Versatzstücke verarbeitete, soll sich der neue Teil an der Handlung des ersten Resident Evil-Spiels anlehnen. Dort geht es vordergründig um die mysteriösen Geschehnisse in dem Spencer-Anwesen, einem alten Herrenhaus im fiktiven Raccoon Forest. Unbekannt ist bis dahin, ob auch Handlungselemente der Nachfolger aufgegriffen werden. Zu erwarten ist es allerdings, wenn man sich den Cast anschaut.

Illustres Figurentableau

Das Horror-Magazin Deadline offenbarte zuvor in einem Tweet Teile der Schauspieler-Riege: So dürfen wir uns auf Kaya Scodelario als Claire Redfield, Robbie Amell als Chris Redfield und Hannah John-Kamen als Jill Valentine freuen. Doch auch andere illustre Figuren wurden besetzt: Tom Hopper wird Serienbösewicht Albert Wesker spielen, Avan Jogi wird den Jungpolizisten Leon S. Kennedy und Neal McDough den Umbrella-Virologen William Birkin verkörpern. Damit haben wir ein Figurentableau, dass viele Charaktere aus den ersten drei Resident Evil-Teilen beinhaltet.

Regie bei der Neuauflage soll Johannes Roberts führen. Der Brite ist in erster Linie im Horror- und Thriller-Metier aktiv und konnte zuletzt mit dem Hai-Horror 47 Meters Down: Uncaged und dem The Strangers-Zweitling Prey at Night Erfolge am Box Office verbuchen. Unter dieser Prämisse wird die Neuverfilmung vermutlich einen wesentlich anderen Erzählton einschlagen als die äußerst action-fokussierten Filme von Paul W.S. Anderson.

Kinostart soll der 9. September 2021 sein. Natürlich unter der Voraussetzung, dass die derzeitige Pandemie keinen Strich durch die Rechnung macht. Da die Dreharbeiten aber nun beendet werden konnten, und die Hygiene-Maßnahmen in der Post-Production-Phase deutlich leichter einzuhalten wären, ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit tendenziell recht hoch, dass das Veröffentlichungsfenster eingehalten werden kann.

Neben der geplanten Kinoauswertung befindet sich derzeit eine 8-Folgen starke Resident Evil- Serie bei Netflix in Arbeit. Die soll chronologisch wesentlich später angesiedelt sein und sich um die Kinder von Albert Wesker drehen, die in New Racoon City dunklen Geheimnissen auf den Grund gehen.

Auch interessant:
Operation Amber Sky: Neues Crossover-Event bald verfügbar