This entry is part 1 of 2 in the series Inside

Gaiagames from Könnern in Saxony-Anhalt are unique in many ways. Gaming collective, sustainability and conscious and appreciative action are some of the pillars on which Gaiagames is built. 

This article is the first in a series of presentations by the publisher. The focus here should be on publishers that focus on a specific topic and/or have special unique selling points. Gaiagames is the starting point. Kevin from Gaiagames was so kind and available to chat.

Founded in 2015 as a one-man company, Gaiagames attaches particular importance to one topic: sustainability. The games are produced regionally in Germany in the most environmentally and socially compatible way possible, are related to socially relevant topics and are all cooperative. They are also completely plastic-free, printed CO²-neutrally on FSC-certified and recycled paper, contain environmentally friendly colors and are produced with as little waste as possible. There is also the crucial point that they are fun. The games shouldn't draw attention to the topics with a raised index finger, but convey the topic and its message in a playful way. That is important to the collective. 

The pricing policy is probably unique in the board game world. Ecogon for example, is available in the shop for 32 euros. However, since the game should actually cost between 35 and 40 euros from an economic point of view due to the environmentally friendly production in Germany, there is also the possibility of purchasing the game with the higher “soli price” and thus supporting the publisher.

From a one-man company to a collective

In 2015, Micha Reimer had the idea for Ecogon. When the game was well received, a successful crowdfunding campaign and the founding of Gaiagames followed. However, before he could celebrate the five-year anniversary as a sole proprietorship, something new arose. Gaiagames became a collective. This idea was born from Micha's collaboration with Kevin Luhn on the game Fish'n'Flips. It was clear that it should not be a classic company. This is how Gaiagames came about as a collective and today consists of landscape caretaker Micha, adventure educator Kevin and Nils, who works in the sustainable construction industry. The trio live together in a house project in Könnern. Collectively, they have committed themselves to 5 basic principles: form of decision-making, equality, sustainability, appreciation and openness.

Game development always starts with an initial idea and a theme. Then it's usually very playful. Cards are made. This is then used to work on the idea further. Things are tried and discarded in order to end up with a game that offers the greatest possible fun with as little material as possible.

What's in Gaiagames?

Gaiagames are dedicated to cooperative games that also offer an opportunity for learning. Of course, the fun of the game comes first. It all started with Ecogon. This is a tile placement game in which the players build an ecosystem together. Established animals ultimately bring the necessary points to have created a stable ecosystem. With beginner and advanced variants and a possible competitive mode, the game offers many possibilities, which are further increased with the “Stille Wasser” expansion, which is also available as a stand-alone version. This adds shore and water habitats to the land habitats of the base game.

The history of Gaiagames began with Ecogon. Image: Gaiagames

The card game Fish'n'Flips is about rescuing sea creatures from the fishing nets. The game includes eight sea creatures and various rescue missions of varying difficulty. In the missions, rescuing the animals is made more difficult by garbage cards. First and foremost, Fish'n'Flips is a puzzle game in which the cards are laid out in a memory-like manner. Players flip and swap cards to form swarms, as only by working together can they make the sea creatures escape.

In addition to the three big games, Gaiagames have something special in their program: games in postcard format. These can be sent according to the form and of course played. In order to conserve resources, there is only the “game board” here. Markers and other game material can be assembled from items that you already have at home in other games, for example. All of their games are assembled by Gaiagames themselves.

More than just games

In addition to the games, Gaia Games also offer workshops. In these, a game is developed out of “nothing” with the participants. At the end of these workshops, the participants not only have a game idea in their luggage, but also have the necessary tools that are useful for (further) development. Breaking down a topic into a game ensures that a more direct path to a solution can be found through the simplification.
They also offer advice on game design or help with the implementation of a vision. For example, Kevin developed the AVICHROM card game for his album of the same name together with Ronald Hild and DJ Dominik Eulberg.

Gaiagames News: What's Coming?

With the forthcoming release of the second edition of Ecogon - still water August is of course not the end for Gaiagames. The general scarcity of resources and the problems in the supply chains have also left their mark on Gaiagames. Originally planned for SPIEL 2022, the third title in the Ecogon series Ecogon - Invasion be pushed back a bit. Here, as the title suggests, players encounter invasive species such as the raccoon. In addition, the in Ecogon Originally included competitive mode revised. In addition to the analog expansions, a digital version of the base game is also in development.

Even before the release of the Kennerspiel des Jahres 2021 Paleo, Gaiagames was busy working on its own Stone Age game. Here the players discover the world through decks of cards, similar to Paleo. However, the feel of the game will be very different here. There are small mini-games in the game for the individual actions. These focus on the real skills of the players. For example, it is about accuracy, speed or dexterity.

Two other titles are still in an early stage of development. There is one game with the working title "Pollinators" and another with the working title "Flower Defense". This is a deck builder with the twist that your own deck of cards is built by the other players.

Anyone who would like to meet the team in person will have the opportunity to do so at SPIEL in October at the latest. Here Gaiagames will sit, stand and play in the "future-proof-corner". Together with other ecologically oriented publishers they are in the Gamechangers initiative. In addition to Gaiagames, the publisher Spielköpfe, for example, is also represented there, which campaigns against discrimination in any form.
If you don't want to wait until then, you can also get a first picture of Gaiagames in this Make contribution from MDR who visited the collective last year.

Preview Product Rating Price
ELDEN RING - Launch Edition [PlayStation 5] ELDEN RING - Launch Edition [PlayStation 5] * 61,41 EUR

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Gaiagames aus Könnern in Sachsen-Anhalt sind in vielerlei Hinsicht einzigartig. Spielekollektiv, Nachhaltigkeit und bewusstes und wertschätzendes Handeln sind einige der Grundpfeiler auf denen Gaiagames aufbaut. 

Dieser Artikel bildet den Auftakt zu einer Reihe von Verlagsvorstellungen. Im Fokus sollen hier Verlage stehen, die sich ein bestimmtes Thema fokussieren und/oder besondere Alleinstellungsmerkmale haben. Den Auftakt macht Gaiagames. Kevin von Gaiagames war so freundlich und stand für ein Gespräch zur Verfügung.

2015 als Ein-Mann-Unternehmen gegründet, legt Gaiagames besonderen Wert auf ein Thema: Nachhaltigkeit. Die Spiele werden so umwelt- und sozialverträglich wie möglich regional in Deutschland produziert, haben Bezug zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen und sind allesamt kooperativ. Außerdem sind sie komplett plastikfrei, CO²-neutral auf FSC-zertifiziertem und recyceltem Papier gedruckt, enthalten umweltfreundliche Farben und werden möglichst müllfrei produziert. Dazu kommt noch der entscheidende Punkt, dass sie Spaß machen. Die Spiele sollen nicht mit erhobenem Zeigefinger auf die Themen aufmerksam machen, sondern das Thema und ihre Message spielerisch rüberbringen. Das ist dem Kollektiv wichtig. 

Auch die Preispolitik ist wohl einzigartig in der Brettspielwelt. Ecogon beispielsweise ist im Shop für 32 Euro zu erhalten. Da das Spiel durch die umweltschonende Produktion in Deutschland aber aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht eigentlich zwischen 35 und 40 Euro kosten müsste, gibt auch die Möglichkeit, das Spiel mit dem höheren „Solipreis“ zu erwerben und so den Verlag zu unterstützen.

Vom Ein-Mann-Unternehmen zum Kollektiv

2015 hatte Micha Reimer die Idee zu Ecogon. Als das Spiel gut ankam, folgten eine erfolgreiche Crowdfunding-Kampagne und die Gründung von Gaiagames. Bevor er jedoch das fünfjähriges Jubiläum als Einzelunternehmen feiern konnte, ergab sich etwas neues. Aus Gaiagames wurde ein Kollektiv. Diese Idee wurde aus der Zusammenarbeit von Micha mit Kevin Luhn beim Spiel Fish´n´Flips geboren. Fest stand, dass es kein klassisches Unternehmen werden sollte. So entstand Gaiagames als Kollektiv und besteht heute aus Landschaftspfleger Micha, Erlebnispädagoge Kevin und dem im nachhaltigem Baugewerbe tätigem Nils. Das Trio lebt zusammen in einem Hausprojekt in Könnern. Im Kollektiv haben sie sich auf 5 Grundprinzipien festgelegt: Entscheidungsform, Gleichberechtigung, Nachhaltigkeit, Wertschätzung und Offenheit.

Die Spielentwicklung geht immer von einer ersten Idee und einem Thema aus. Anschließend geht es meist sehr spielerisch weiter. Es werden Karten gebastelt. Mit diesen wird dann weiter an der Idee gearbeitet. Es werden Sachen ausprobiert und verworfen um am Ende ein Spiel zu haben, das mit möglichst geringem Materialaufwand größtmöglichen Spielspaß bietet.

Was gibt es bei Gaiagames?

Gaiagames haben sich den kooperativen Spielen verschrieben, die dazu noch eine Möglichkeit zum Lernen bieten. Natürlich steht an erster Stelle der Spielspaß. Begonnen hat alles mit Ecogon. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Plättchenlegespiel, in dem die Spielenden gemeinsam ein Ökosystem aufbauen. Etablierte Tiere bringen am Ende die nötigen Punkte um ein stabiles Ökosystem erschaffen zu haben. Mit Einsteiger- und Fortgeschrittenen-Variante und möglichem kompetitiven Modus bietet das Spiel viele Möglichkeiten, die mit der auch als Stand-Alone möglichen Erweiterung „Stille Wasser“ noch vergrößert werden.  Bei dieser kommen zu den Landlebensräumen des Grundspiels noch Ufer- und Wasserlebensräume hinzu.

Mit Ecogon begann die Geschichte von Gaiagames. Bild: Gaiagames

Im Kartenspiel Fish´n´Flips geht es darum Meerestiere aus den Fangnetzen zu retten. Das Spiel beinhaltet acht Meerestiere und diverse Rettungsmissionen unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgrades. In den Missionen wird das Retten der Tiere zusätzlich durch Müllkarten erschwert. In erster Linie ist Fish´n´Flips ein Puzzlespiel, in dem die Karten Memory-artig ausliegen. Die Spielenden flippen und tauschen Karten, um Schwärme zu bilden, denn nur gemeinsam schaffen können sie es schaffen, dass die Meerestiere auszubrechen.

Neben den drei großen Spielen haben Gaiagames noch etwas besonderes im Programm: Spiele im Postkartenformat. Diese können der Form entsprechend verschickte werden und natürlich gespielt werden. Um Ressourcen zu schonen gibt es hier nur das „Spielbrett“. Marker und weiteres Spielmaterial kann aus Gegenständen, die man zum Beispiel in andern Spielen bereits zu Hause hat, zusammengestellt werden. Alle ihre Spiele konfektionieren Gaiagames selbst.

Mehr als nur Spiele

Über die Spiele hinaus bieten Gaia Games außerdem Workshops an. In diesen wird mit den Teilnehmenden aus dem „Nichts“ ein Spiel entwickelt. Die Teilnehmenden haben am Ende dieser Workshops nicht nur eine Spielidee im Gepäck, sondern haben auch nötige Werkzeuge, die für das (Weiter-)Entwickeln nützlich sind. Das Herunterbrechen eines Themas auf ein Spiel sorgt dafür, dass durch die Vereinfachung auch ein direktere Weg zu einer Lösung gefunden werden kann.
Auch beim Spieldesign bieten sie beratend Unterstützung an oder helfen bei der Umsetzung einer Vision. So hat Kevin beispielsweise zusammen mit Ronald Hild in Zusammenarbeit mit DJ Dominik Eulberg das Kartenspiel AVICHROM zu dessen gleichnamigen Album entwickelt.

Neuheiten von Gaiagames: Was kommt?

Mit der anstehenden Veröffentlichung der zweiten Auflage von Ecogon – Stille Wasser im August ist für Gaiagames natürlich noch nicht Schluss. Die allgemeine Knappheit von Ressourcen und die Probleme in den Lieferketten sind auch an Gaiagames nicht spurlos vorbei gegangen. Ursprünglich zur SPIEL 2022 geplant, musste der dritte Titel der Ecogon-Reihe Ecogon – Invasions etwas nach hinten verschoben werden. Hier begegnen den Spielenden, wie der Titel vermuten lässt, invasiven Arten wie dem Waschbär. Zusätzlich wird der in Ecogon ursprünglich enthaltene kompetitive Modus überarbeitet. Zu den analogen Erweiterungen befindet sich auch eine digitale Version des Grundspiels in Entwicklung.

Schon vor dem Erscheinen des Kennerspiel des Jahres 2021 Paleo wurde bei Gaiagames fleißig an einem eigenem Steinzeitspiel gearbeitet. Hier entdecken die Spielenden ähnlich wie in Paleo die Welt über Kartendecks. Das Spielgefühl wird hier trotzdem ganz anders sein. Es gibt für die einzelnen Aktionen kleine Mini-Spiele im Spiel. Diese konzentrieren sich auf realen Fähigkeiten der Spielenden. So geht es etwa um Zielgenauigkeit, Schnelligkeit oder Geschicklichkeit.

Zwei weitere Titel befinden sich noch in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium. Es gibt ein Spiel mit dem Arbeitstitel „Pollinators“ und ein weiteres unter dem Arbeitstitel „Flower Defense“. Bei diesem handelt es sich um einen Deck-Builder mit dem Twist, dass das eigene Kartendecks von den Mitspielenden gebaut wird.

Wer das Team auch einmal persönlich treffen möchte wird spätestens bei der SPIEL im Oktober die Möglichkeit dazu bekommen. Hier werden Gaiagames in der „future-proof-corner“ sitzen, stehen und spielen. Zusammen mit anderen ökologisch orientierten Verlagen sind sie in der Initiative Gamechangers. Dort ist neben Gaiagames beispielsweise auch der Verlag Spielköpfe vertreten, der sich gegen Diskriminierung in jeglicher Form einsetzt.
Wer bis dahin nicht warten möchte, kann sich auch ein erstes Bild von Gaiagames in diesem Beitrag vom MDR machen, der das Kollektiv im letzten Jahr besucht hat.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
ELDEN RING - Launch Edition [PlayStation 5] ELDEN RING - Launch Edition [PlayStation 5] * 62,99 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 9.12.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API