THQ has officially announced Jagged Alliance 3. The squad tactics series will therefore be expanded to include a modern offshoot. The classic from the nineties is still considered a milestone today, but that cannot be said of the most recent releases from the Jagged Alliance series. So the danger of completely screwing up Jagged Alliance 3 is real. THQ, please don't screw it up! 

THQ has released a trailer for the official announcement of Jagged Alliance 3. The shows the tactical game in its modern guise - and what you see knows how to inspire. at best, the developers manage to capture the spirit of the series from before. When the first part hit the market in the mid-1990s, it was something of a small revolution in the tactical genre. Jagged Alliance was strategically demanding and cheeky. The successor, which appeared about four years later, was able to top that. One expansion and one mod later was Jagged Alliance history - at least when it comes to the fans: What came after the second - and best - offshoot of the series was quickly forgotten, and rightly so.

Jagged Alliance 3: Like before, only more beautiful?

The developers have to be careful what they do with Jagged Alliance 3 now. It is important to deliver quality, to reconcile the brand with the fans. And that could actually work. In addition to a bit of CGI to get in the mood, the announcement video already shows short gameplay scenes - and they are reminiscent of more glorious times. Jagged Alliance 3 looks like it used to, only prettier, more modern and more detailed. Presumably, exactly the right development approach was taken to transport the grandiose classic into the modern era.

The basic idea remains the same: players put together their dream team of mercenaries with different skills in order to finish off opponents with tactics geared towards squad, map and opponents. Even then, each of the mercenaries had their own character, their own background story - hopefully that won't change with Jagged Alliance 3. The announcement trailer at least suggests exactly that. In the end, Jagged Alliance stands not only for smart round tactics, but also for the squad management behind it, including the ability to keep your team together as a commander. Sometimes you had to struggle more with the grumpy mercenary characters and their refusal to give orders than against the clever AI.

According to the announcement, Jagged Alliance 3 will “combine tactical depth with turn-based combat with the exploration of a large game world with strategic elements”, in particular control of territories, the training of local armies and the establishment of several squads selected from “beloved mercenaries will". Sounds like back then? I agree!

The project could actually succeed, mainly because THQ has entrusted the work to experienced developers. Haemimont Games is responsible for the implementation. The Bulgarian studio had previously made games such as Tropico 3 to 5, Victor Vran and Surviving Mars. The “true successor” could come.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

THQ hat Jagged Alliance 3 offiziell angekündigt. Die Squad-Taktik-Reihe wird demnach um einen modernen Ableger erweitert. Der Klassiker aus den Neuzigern gilt auch heute noch als Meilenstein, von den jüngsten Auskopplungen aus der Jagged-Alliance-Serie kann man das nicht behaupten. Die Gefahr, Jagged Alliance 3 völlig zu versemmeln, ist also real. THQ, bitte vermasselt es nicht! 

Zu der offiziellen Ankündigung von Jagged Alliance 3 hat THQ einen Trailer herausgebracht. Der zeigt das Taktikspiel in seinem modernen Gewand – und das Gesehene weiß durchaus zu begeistern. bestenfalls schaffen es die Entwickler, den Geist der Reihe von früher einzufangen. Als Mitte der 1990er der erste Teil auf den Markt kam, war das so etwas wie eine kleine Revolution im Taktikgenre. Jagged Alliance war strategisch anspruchsvoll und frech. Toppen konnte das der Nachfolger, der etwa vier Jahre später erschien. Eine Erweiterung sowie eine Mods später war Jagged Alliance Geschichte – zumindest wenn es nach den Fans geht: Was nach dem zweiten – und besten – Ableger der Reihe kam, geriet zurecht schnell in Vergessenheit.

Jagged Alliance 3: Wie früher, nur schöner?

Die Entwickler müssen aufpassen, was sie mit Jagged Alliance 3 nun anstellen. Es gilt, Qualität zu liefern, die Marke mit den Fans zu versöhnen. Und das könnte tatsächlich gelingen. Neben einem bisschen CGI zur Einstimmung gibt es in dem Ankündigungsvideo nämlich bereits kurze Gameplay-Szenen zu sehen – und die erinnern an glorreichere Zeiten. Jagged Alliance 3 wirkt wie früher, nur hübscher, moderner und detaillierter. Vermutlich hat man genau den richtigen Entwicklungsansatz verfolgt, um den grandiosen Klassiker in die Neuzeit zu transportieren.

Die Grundidee bleibt gleich: Spieler stellen ihr Dreamteam aus Söldnern mit unterschiedlichen Fähigkeiten zusammen, um Gegner mit einer Auf Squad, Karte und Opponenten ausgerichteten Taktik den Garaus zu machen. Schon damals hatte jeder der Söldner seinen eigenen Charakter, seine eigene Hintergrundgeschichte – das ändert sich hoffentlich bei Jagged Alliance 3 nicht. Der Ankündigungstrailer deutet zumindest genau darauf hin. Am Ende steht Jagged Alliance nicht nur für kluge Rundentaktik, sondern auch für das dahinterliegende Squad-Management, einschließlich der Fähigkeit, sein Team als Kommandeur zusammen zu halten. Mitunter hatte man mehr mit den mürrischen Söldnercharaktere und deren Befehlsverweigerungen zu kämpfen, als gegen die clevere KI.

Glaubt man den Ankündigung, so wird Jagged Alliance 3 „taktische Tiefe mit rundenbasierten Kämpfen mit der Erkundung einer großen Spielwelt mit strategischen Elementen kombinieren“, insbesondere der Kontrolle über Territorien, die Ausbildung lokaler Armeen und der Einrichtung mehrerer Trupps, die aus „geliebten Söldnern ausgewählt werden“. Klingt wie damals? Genau!

Das Projekt könnte tatsächlich gelingen, vor allem, weil THQ die Arbeit erfahrenen Entwicklern überlassen hat. Haemimont Games zeichnet sich für die Umsetzung verantwortlich. Das bulgarische Studio hatte zu vor Spiele wie Tropico 3 bis 5, Victor Vran und Surviving Mars realisiert. Der „wahre Nachfolger“ könnte kommen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Letzte Aktualisierung am 16.10.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API