Plaid Hat Games brings back the expandable card game Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn, but with a not inconsiderable specialty. New content is published on a subscription basis. In every quarter of the year there should be new expansion decks for those who own the basic game and have taken out the additional subscription plan.


Publishing smaller and larger extensions is standard in the parlor games segment. So far, however, it has been the case that players could buy the additional content based on market availability, or at best, pre-order it. Plaid Hat Games is now introducing a new concept for the card game Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn - a payment model for expansions.

New “Ashes” for subscribers every quarter

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn originally appeared in 2015 and is now coming back on the market as a revised version 1.5, after the series ended at the end of 2019 with the last expansion at the time. At that time, Plaid Hat announced that the game was "complete," the series thus closed. At the beginning of the year, what had previously belonged to Asmodee was acquired "Plaid Hat Games" studio regained its independence - The industry giant had operated for around five years.

Now Plaid Hat Games has confirmed that Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn - literally like the phoenix from the ashes - will return in a revised edition. First of all, the basic game of cards and dice by Isaac Vega, the co-author of the board game Winter of the Dead, will be necessary. For the upgrade, the playing cards were examined carefully and adjusted, with effects on the balancing.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

In addition to this core set with the new 1.5 set of rules, deck extensions will be added at regular intervals, and these will then be available via the subscription model. The upgrade kit follows the Jericho expansion “Breakers of the Fate” with time magic as a game element, symbolized by new cards and “time dice”. In return, the original deck “The Path of Assassins” will be removed from the game.

Plaid Hat Games is working with Team Covenant, which also offers subscriptions to other games, such as the Arkham Horror LCG or Keyforge. The subscription model should not mean, however, that the “Ashes” will only be available through it, but a period of exclusivity is set, the length of which is not yet known. So this means that subscribers will have earlier access to the expansion packs.

But it doesn't just start: Ashes Reborn will only start after the first 1.000 subscribers have decided on the model. So you want to determine in advance whether there is sufficient demand.


[stextbox id = 'autor' caption = 'We are looking for reinforcements for the editorial team']We're looking for news writers in the fields of gaming, books, board games, as well as films and series. Do you want to participate? then > here < click and apply.[/ textbox]

Author

Plaid Hat Games bringt das erweiterbare Kartenspiel Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn zurück, allerdings mit einer nicht unerheblichen Besonderheit. Neu e Inhalte werden im Rahmen eines Abonnement-Modells veröffentlicht. In jedem Jahresquartals soll es so neue Erweiterungsdecks für jene geben, die das Basisspiel besitzen und den zusätzlichen Abo-Plan abgeschlossen haben.


Kleinere und größere Erweiterungen zu veröffentlichen gehört zum Standard im Gesellschaftsspiele-Segment. Bislang war es allerdings so, dass Spieler die zusätzlichen Inhalte nach Marktverfügbarkeit kaufen, bestenfalls vorbestellen konnten. Plaid Hat Games führt nun für das Kartenspiel Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn ein neuartiges Konzept ein – ein Bezahlmodell für Erweiterungen.

Neue „Ashes“ für Abonnenten quartalsweise

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn erschien ursprünglich im Jahr 2015 und kommt nun als überarbeitete Version 1.5 erneut auf den Markt, nachdem die Reihe Ende 2019 mit der zu diesem Zeitpunkt vorerst letzten Erweiterung endete. Damals kündigte Plaid Hat an, das Spiel sei „vollständig“, die Reihe somit abgeschlossen. Anfang des Jahres erlangte das vormals zu Asmodee gehörige „Plaid Hat Games“-Studio seine Unabhängigkeit zurück – rund fünf Jahre lang hatte man unter dem Branchenriesen operiert.

Nun hat Plaid Hat Games bestätigt, dass Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn – sprichwörtlich wie der Phönix aus der Asche – zurückkehren wird und zwar in einer überarbeiteten Ausgabe. Notwendig sein wird zunächst das Basisspiel des Karten- und Würfelspiels von Isaac Vega, dem Co-Autor des Brettspiels Winter der Toten. Für das Upgrade wurden die Spielkarten unter die Lupe genommen und angepasst, mit Auswirkungen auf das Balancing.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Zu diesem Kern-Set mit dem neuen 1.5-Regelwerk kommen“ in regelmäßigen Abständen Deckerweiterungen hinzu, diese werden dann über das Abonnement-Modell verfügbar sein. Das Das Upgrade-Kit folgt die Jericho-Erweiterung „Breakers of the Fate“ mit Zeitmagie als Spielelement, symbolisiert durch neue Karten und „Zeitwürfel“. Im Gegenzug wird das ursprüngliche Deck „The Path of Assassins“ aus dem Spiel entfernt.

Plaid Hat Games arbeitet dafür mit Team Covenant zusammen, das Abonnements auch für andere Spiele anbietet, etwa das Arkham-Horror-LCG oder Keyforge. Das Abo-Modell soll allerdings nicht bedeuten, dass die „Ashes“ nur darüber verfügbar sein werden, allerdings wird ein Zeitraum der Exklusivität festgelegt, dessen Länge noch nicht bekannt ist. Das bedeutet also, dass Abonnenten einen früheren Zugriff auf die Erweiterungspacks haben werden.

Einfach los geht es aber nicht: Ashes Reborn wird erst starten, nachdem sich die ersten 1.000 Abonnenten für das Modell entschieden haben. So wolle man im Vorfeld ermitteln, ob eine ausreichende Nachfrage vorhanden ist.


[stextbox id=’autor‘ caption=’Wir suchen Verstärkung für die Redaktion‘]Wir suchen nach News-Autoren in den Bereichen Gaming, Bücher, Brettspiele sowie Filme und Serien. Du möchtest mitmachen? Dann > hier < klicken und bewerben.[/stextbox]