Niantic and the Pokémon Company pioneered it a few years ago with Pokémon Go: Augmented Reality games have the potential to bring movement, exploration and socially interactive play together and make them suitable for the masses. What if you combine these elements with social and ecological added value, when concepts such as environmental protection and sustainability are almost omnipresent in our time? Then a project like CleanUp Heroes arise that is currently at Kickstarter is advertised. The brainchild of a young team from Gütersloh tries to combine those green ideas with a competitive gamification approach: Make sure that the city is waste-free, collect points and climb the municipal highscore list.


The app aims to create awareness: the increasing urban pollution not only creates an unsightly cityscape, it also has a direct impact on the local flora and fauna. Urban waste does not return to the raw material cycle and therefore cannot be recycled. Eliminating this problem leads to significant additional costs for the public sector. This is where CleanUp Heroes comes in.

The app aims to create awareness for environmental protection and sustainability

The project is currently in a conceptual phase: the internal team structure has been defined and a basic point system has been implemented for the highscore list. While the proof-of-concept is basically in place, the design concept of the app with UI and consistent appearance is almost complete. The current prototype build will reach beta status in the near future.

In the future, both a single player mode and a friends and group system should be included, in which you can compete against your own friends or in groups against others. The CleanUp Heroes team also wants to establish long-term partnerships with local companies. Vouchers or services from local companies can be used against an in-game currency.

The simple concept behind the CleanUp Heroes app Image: CleanUp Heroes

The simple concept behind the CleanUp Heroes app Image: CleanUp Heroes

The Kickstarter crowdfunding target is 4000 EUR, currently the campaign is 557 EUR from 14 supporters.

CleanUp Heroes: The team behind the app Image: CleanUp Heroes

From a contribution of 5 EUR there is access to the Early Access version of the app, for 20 EUR an individual in-game avatar based on the photo of the supporter is included. For 50 EUR there is also a Heroes Ribbon, a patch in the form of an emblem and for 100 EUR there is a meet & greet with the development team.

The campaign is still running for 19 days. It therefore remains questionable whether the goal will be achieved - but the basic premise of the app is definitely worth supporting.

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Niantic und die Pokémon Company haben es vor wenigen Jahren mit Pokémon Go vorgemacht: Augmented Reality Spiele haben das Potential Bewegung, Exploration und sozial-interaktives Spiel zusammenzubringen und massentauglich zu machen. Was ist, wenn man diese Elemente mit einem gesellschaftlichen und ökologischen Mehrwert verbindet, wo doch Begriffe wie Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit in unserer Zeit nahezu omnipräsent sind? Dann könnte ein Projekt wie CleanUp Heroes entstehen, das aktuell bei Kickstarter beworben wird. Das geistige Kind eines jungen Gütersloher Teams versucht eben jene grünen Gedanken mit einem kompetitiven Gamification-Ansatz zu verbinden: Sorge für eine abfallfreie Stadt, sammle Punkte dabei und klettere auf der kommunalen Highscore-Liste nach oben.


Die App will Bewusstsein schaffen: Die zunehmende urbane Verschmutzung sorgt nicht nur für ein optisch unschönes Stadtbild, sondern hat unmittelbaren Einfluss auf die lokale Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Der städtische Müll kehrt nicht in den Rohstoffzyklus zurück und kann demnach auch nicht recycelt werden. Eine Beseitigung dieses Problems führt zu signifikanten Mehrkosten für die öffentliche Hand. Hier also setzt CleanUp Heroes an.

Die App will Bewusstsein schaffen für Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit

Das Projekt ist aktuell in einer konzeptuellen Phase: Die interne Teamstruktur wurde festgelegt sowie ein basales Punktesystem für die Highscore-Liste implementiert. Während das Proof-of-Concept im Grunde steht, ist das Designkonzept der App mit UI und konsistentem Erscheinungsbild nahezu fertiggestellt. Der aktuelle Prototyp-Build erreicht in naher Zukunft Beta-Status.

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von www.kickstarter.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Künftig soll sowohl ein Einzelspieler-Modus, als auch ein Freunde- und Gruppen-System enthalten sein, bei dem man kompetitiv gegen die eigenen Freunde antreten, oder in Gruppen gegen andere antreten kann. Das CleanUp Heroes Team will zudem längerfristig Kooperationen mit lokalen Unternehmen etablieren. Gegen eine In-Game Währung können Gutscheine oder Dienstleistungen lokaler Betriebe in Anspruch genommen werden.

Das simple Konzept hinter der CleanUp Heroes App Bild: CleanUp Heroes

Das simple Konzept hinter der CleanUp Heroes App Bild: CleanUp Heroes

Das Kickstarter-Crowdfunding Ziel liegt bei 4000 EUR, aktuell liegt die Kampagne bei 557 EUR von 14 Unterstützern.

CleanUp Heroes: Das Team hinter der App Bild: CleanUp Heroes

Ab einem Beitrag von 5 EUR gibt es Zugang zur Early Access Fassung der App, für 20 EUR wird ein individueller In Game-Avatar eingebunden, der auf dem Foto des Unterstützers beruht. Für 50 EUR gibt es zusätzlich ein Heroes Ribbon, ein Patch in Emblemform und für 100 EUR gibt es ein Meet & Greet mit dem Entwicklerteam.

Die Kampagne läuft noch 19 Tage. Es bleibt daher fraglich, ob das Ziel erreicht wird – Die Grundprämisse der App ist aber in jedem Falle unterstützenswert.