The second edition of the Lord of the Rings P&P “The One Ring” has become the most successful tabletop RPG on Kickstarter. The Swedish publisher FriaLigan has already announced the good news. From Hobbiton to Mordor we now know: The “one ring” in the crowdfunding sector has hit as hard as Gimli's ax on an orc. The campaign ended on March 4th.  


By March 17.070.638, FriaLigan had collected 4 Swedish kronor as part of the Kickstarter campaign for The One Ring: 2nd Edition. That translates to just over 1,6 million euros. This pen-and-paper role-playing game is now the most successful in the crowdfunding segment.

The One Ring: Tabletop RPGs can keep up - sometimes

The success of the campaign clearly shows that pure pen-and-paper projects can now keep up on Kickstarter and be financed with higher sums. The second edition of The One Ring had a big advantage with the potent license, but such high crowdfunding sums are rather rare in the field of tabletop RPGs. The enormous financial success of some board games, such as the Gloomhaven successor Frosthaven or Awaken Realms' ISS Vanguard, pure pen-and-paper games do not come close, but in recent months it has become clear that more and more publishers are vying for the favor of fans with their role-playing ideas.

The One Ring: 2nd Edition has had a remarkable Kickstarter success. Image: Free League

The One Ring: 2nd Edition has had a remarkable Kickstarter success. Image: Free League

Many pen-and-paper projects are basically successful, but most of them achieve “smaller sums” in the four or five-digit range. Nevertheless: The One Ring shows that role-players accept crowdfunding when they discover a project that they consider to be worthwhile. For the future, this could mean that there could be more tabletop RPGs that reach five-digit or even six-digit funding amounts. At the moment, however, several factors have to come together for such success - first and foremost, a strong brand. The success of FriaLigan's The One Ring: 2nd Edition is definitely good for the genre.

Fans have particularly praised the project that the typical Tolkien spirit would be retained in the revised edition and that the processing will be based on the core material of the original version. It is an update of the 2011 version of Cubicle 7. This time, however, the Eriador region is at the center of the action. The publisher FriaLiga (Free League) had already implemented other brands than RPGs, such as the titles Dishonored or Mutant: Year Zero, which also exist as video games.

The One Ring is expected to be shipped worldwide in November. Around 16.500 supporters took part in the campaign on Kickstarter.

Source: Kickstarter


Preview Product Rating Price
Stellaris - Nova Edition [PC Code - Steam] Stellaris - Nova Edition [PC Code - Steam] * 49,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die zweite Edition des Herr der Ringe-P&P „The One Ring“ ist zum erfolgreichsten Tabletop-RPG auf Kickstarter geworden. Der schwedische Verlag FriaLigan hat die frohe Botschaft bereits verkündet. Von Hobbingen bis Mordor weiß man jetzt: Der „eine Ring“ ist im Crowdfunding-Bereich so heftig eingeschlagen wie Gimlis Axt auf einen Ork. Am 4- März endete die Kampagne.  


17.070.638 Schwedische Kronen hatte FriaLigan bis zum 4. März im Rahmen der Kickstarter-Kampagne zu The One Ring: 2nd Edition einsammeln können. Umgerechnet sind das knapp über 1,6 Millionen Euro. Das ist dieses Pen-and-Paper-Rollenspiel nun das erfolgreichste im Crowdfunding-Segment.

The One Ring: Tabletop-RPGs können mithalten – manchmal

Der Erfolg der Kampagne zeigt deutlich, dass inzwischen auch reine Pen-and-Paper-Projekte auf Kickstarter mithalten und mit höheren Summen finanziert werden können. Die zweite Edition von The One Ring hatte mit der potenten Lizenz zwar einen großen Vorteil, dennoch sind derart hohe Crowdfunding-Summen im Bereich der Tabletop-RPGs eher selten. An die enormen Finanzierungserfolge so mancher Brettspiele, etwa den Gloomhaven-Nachfolger Frosthaven oder Awaken Realms‘ ISS Vanguard, kommen reine Pen-and-Paper-Spiele zwar nicht heran, dennoch wurde in den vergangenen Monaten deutlich, dass immer häufiger Verlage mit ihren Rollenspielideen um die Gunst der Fans buhlen.

The One Ring: 2nd Edition hat einen beachtlichen Kickstarter-Erfolg hingelegt. Bild: Free League
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

The One Ring: 2nd Edition hat einen beachtlichen Kickstarter-Erfolg hingelegt. Bild: Free League

Viele Pen-and-Paper-Projekte sind dabei zwar grundsätzlich erfolgreich, die meisten erreichen allerdings „kleinere Summen“ im meiste vier- oder fünfstelligen Bereich. Dennoch: The One Ring zeigt, dass Rollenspieler das Crowdfunding annehmen, wenn sie ein in ihren Augen lohnenswertes Projekt entdecken. Für die Zukunft könnte das bedeuten, dass es häufiger Tabletop-RPGs geben könnte, die fünfstellige oder gar sechsstellige Finanzierungssummer erreichen. Derzeit müssen für einen solchen Erfolg allerdings mehrere Faktoren zusammenkommen – vor allem eine zugkräftige Marke. Dem Genre tut der Erfolg von FriaLigans The One Ring: 2nd Edition jedenfalls gut.

Fans haben bei dem Projekt insbesondere gelobt, dass man den typischen Tolkien-Spirit auch bei der überarbeiteten Edition beibehalten würde und dass die Aufarbeitung sich insgesamt deutlich am Kernmaterial der Urversion orientieren wird. Es handelt sich um ein Update der Version aus dem Jahr 2011 von Cubicle 7. Diesmal steht allerdings die Region Eriador im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens. Der Verlag FriaLiga (Free League) hatte bereits andere Marken als RPGs umgesetzt, so etwa die auch als Videospiele existierenden Titel Dishonored oder Mutant: Year Zero.

Voraussichtlich im November soll The One Ring weltweit ausgeliefert werden. Rund 16.500 Unterstützer haben an der Kampagne auf Kickstarter teilgenommen.

Quelle: Kickstarter


Letzte Aktualisierung am 14.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API