A new film adaptation of the bloody fighting game series Mortal Kombat has been planned for a long time. This is due to appear in cinemas and on the streaming service HBO Max next year. Fight!


Originally a news release from Variety reported, official announcements can be found on the channels of Warner Bros. and the official Twitter page to the movie again. The planned start is now scheduled for April 16, 2021. The film was originally supposed to be released in January, but due to the chaos surrounding the corona pandemic, the release was postponed.

The third Mortal Kombat has an eventful history

Not much is known about the plot so far. However, the story of the film is very eventful. As early as 1995, Paul WS Anderson (later responsible for the Resident Evil films) was able to achieve a trashy, but now cult, respectable success with Mortal Kombat. The successor, Mortal Kombat II - Annihilation, flopped in 1997 both at the box office and with the critics. A third film was in developing hell for nearly two decades.

In 2009 Warner Bros./Time Warner acquired the rights to Mortal Kombat when the original publisher Midway went bankrupt. A year later, the development of a reboot began. The script for the film comes from the pen of co-author Oren Uziel, who caused a sensation with the short film Mortal Kombat: Rebirth. While director Simon McQuoid is making his feature debut with Mortal Kombat, the renowned horror specialists James Wan and Todd Garner have been won over as the production team.

Twitter

By downloading the tweets you accept the privacy policy of Twitter.
LEARN MORE

Load content

The decision of a simultaneous start in the movie theaters and on the on-demand platform HBO Max is not viewed uncritically: Warner Bros. plans to publish all important productions on the streaming platform for 2021. These include blockbuster heavyweights like Matrix 4, The Suicide Squad, Godzilla vs Kong, and Dune. This strategy is intended to counteract the losses caused by the pandemic. The first film to be two-pronged is said to be Wonder Woman 84, which is due to be released at Christmas.

The two directors Denis Villeneuve (Dune) and Christopher Nolan (Tenet) recently made harsh words on this topic. For them, this measure represents a declaration of bankruptcy to the cinema.


 

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Seit längerer Zeit ist eine neue Filmadaption zur blutigen Kampfspielreihe Mortal Kombat geplant. Diese soll nächstes Jahr parallel in den Kinos als auch auf dem Streamingdienst HBO Max erscheinen. Fight!


Ursprünglich als Newsmitteilung von Variety gemeldet, finden sich seit dem gestrigen Tag offizielle Ankündigungen auf den Kanälen von Warner Bros. und der offiziellen Twitter-Seite zum Film wieder. Der geplante Start ist nun auf den 16. April 2021 terminiert. Ursprünglich sollte der Film bereits im Januar erscheinen, durch das Chaos um die Corona-Pandemie wurde der Release aber nach hinten verschoben.

Der dritte Mortal Kombat hat eine bewegte Geschichte

Zum Plot ist bislang nicht viel bekannt. Allerdings ist die Geschichte zum Film eine reichlich bewegte. Bereits 1995 konnte Paul W.S. Anderson (später für die Resident Evil-Verfilmungen verantwortlich) mit Mortal Kombat einen trashigen, aber mittlerweile kultigen Achtungserfolg erzielen. Der Nachfolger Mortal Kombat II – Annihilation floppte 1997 aber sowohl am Box Office, als auch bei den Kritikern. Ein dritter Film befand sich beinahe zwei Dekaden lang in der Entwicklungshölle.

2009 erwarb Warner Bros./Time Warner die Rechte an Mortal Kombat, als der ursprüngliche Publisher Midway insolvent ging. Ein Jahr später wurde mit der Entwicklung eines Reboots begonnen. Das Script zum Film stammt aus der Feder von Co-Autor Oren Uziel, der mit dem Kurzfilm Mortal Kombat: Rebirth für Aufsehen sorgte. Während Regisseur Simon McQuoid mit Mortal Kombat sein Feature Debüt abliefert, konnten als Produzententeam der renommierte Horror-Spezialist James Wan und Todd Garner gewonnen werden.

Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Tweets akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Twitter.
Mehr erfahren

Inhalt laden

Die Entscheidung eines simultanen Starts in den Lichtspielhäusern und auf der On-demand-Plattform HBO Max wird nicht unkritisch gesehen: Warner Bros. plant für 2021 alle wichtigen Produktionen auch auf der Streaming-Plattform zu veröffentlichen. Dazu gehören Blockbuster-Schwergewichte wie Matrix 4, The Suicide Squad, Godzilla vs Kong und Dune. Mit dieser Strategie soll den Pandemie-bedingten Verlusten entgegengewirkt werden. Der erste Film, bei dem zweigleisig gefahren werden soll, soll Wonder Woman 84 sein, der zu Weihnachten erscheinen soll.

Die beiden Regisseure Denis Villeneuve (Dune) und Christopher Nolan (Tenet) äußerten sich zuletzt mit harschen Worten zu diesem Thema. Für sie stellt diese Maßnahme eine Bankrotterklärung ans Kino dar.