The dispute between the terminal block dealer Thorsten Klahold and the brick giant Lego is being dealt with in court: the eighth chamber for commercial matters at the Düsseldorf Regional Court will take up the matter. The clinch is about figures from China, which the Paderborn retailer sells in its online shop – according to the Danish toy company, they are too similar.

According to the court, the value in dispute is half a million euros. Lego fears a risk of confusion between the Danish originals and the “copies” from China. As summarized by the German Press Agency, the retailer Thorsten Klahold has been selling the figures in his shop and online via a shop for three years.

“China figures are 100 percent compatible”

The Paderborn retailer praises the competing products as alternatives, cheap and “100 percent compatible”. According to the company, the far greater problem for Lego is the similarity of some figures. The basis for the lawsuit can be found in a registered design: Lego had already had the 3D representation of the figurines protected over 20 years ago. According to the German press agency, Lego's lawyer explains that minimal variations on a criticized almost 1:1 imitation would not change anything.

In court, it's a David versus Goliath fight: the Paderborn retailer meets a giant of the toy market. Lego generated sales of around seven billion euros last year. Apparently, Klahold stated that he even – in his eyes – removed controversial figures from packs. An out-of-court settlement is in the air and is quite likely. Otherwise, the process would continue on July 15. According to dpa information, the court made it clear that there are great similarities between the Lego products and the figures sold by Thorsten Klahold.

The Danish company Lego is one of the top 3 toy manufacturers in the world in terms of revenue. In 2020, Lego had even generated the highest turnover of all toy manufacturers. The company was founded in Billund in 1932.

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Streit zwischen dem Klemmbaustein-Händler Thorsten Klahold und dem Steinegiganten Lego beschäftigt vor Gericht: die achte Kammer für Handelssachen am Landgericht Düsseldorf wird sich der Sache annehmen. In dem Clinch geht es um Figuren aus China, die der Paderborner Einzelhändler in seinem Online-Shop verkauft – die seien nach Ansicht der dänischen Spielzeugfirma zu ähnlich.

Eine halbe Million Euro beträgt der Streitwert laut Gericht. Lego fürchtet eine Verwechslungsgefahr zwischen den dänischen Originalen und den “Kopien” aus China. Wie die Deutsche Presseagentur zusammenfasst, verkauft der Einzelhändler Thorsten Klahold die Figuren bereits seit drei Jahren in seinem Laden und online über einen Shop.

“China-Figuren sind 100 Prozent kompatibel”

Die Konkurrenzprodukte preist der Paderborner Einzelhändler als Alternativen an, günstig und “zu 100 Prozent kompatibel”. Das weitaus größere Problem für Lego besteht nach Firmenangaben allerdings in der Ähnlichkeit einiger Figuren. Die Grundlage für die Klage ist in einem Geschmacksmuster zu finden: Lego hatte sich die 3D-Darstellung der Figürchen schon vor über 20 Jahren schützen lassen. Legos Rechtsanwalt erklärt laut Deutscher Presseagentur, dass minimale Variationen an einer kritisierten fast 1:1-Nachahmung nichts ändern würden.

Vor Gericht ist es ein Kampf David gegen Goliath: der Paderborner Händler trifft auf einen Giganten des Spielwarenmarktes. Lego erwirtschaftete im vergangenen Jahr einen Umsatz von rund sieben Milliarden Euro. Klahold habe offenbar angegeben, sogar – in seinen Augen – umstrittene Figuren aus Packungen entfernt zu haben. Eine außergerichtliche Einigung steht im Raum und ist durchaus wahrscheinlich. Ansonsten würde das Verfahren am 15. Juli weitergehen. Nach dpa-Informationen habe das Gericht erkennen lassen, dass große Ähnlichkeiten zwischen den Lego-Produkten und den von Thorsten Klahold vertriebenen Figuren bestehen.

Die dänische Firma Lego gehört nach Erlös zu den Top-3 der Spielwarenhersteller weltweit. Im Jahr 2020 hatte Lego gar den höchsten Umsatz aller Spielwarenhersteller erwirtschaftet. Gegründet wurde das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Billund im Jahr 1932.

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 27.06.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API