At a presentation a few days ago, publisher Square Enix presented a fresh Life is Strange part. The game is not an official third part, but a similar spin-off as the prequel Before the Storm, although the content is loosely linked to the series. And like Before the Storm, Life is Strange: True Colors, the title of the new part, will be developed by the American Deck Nine Games (the French Dontnod Studios are responsible for the main series).


Life is Strange: True Colors stages another coming-of-age story, this time around the young protagonist Alex Chen. After a painful breakup, Alex moves to live with her brother in the American town of Haven Springs. But the supposed new beginning is suddenly clouded when her brother is killed in a mysterious accident. Alex does her own research into his tragic demise in search of answers. The story is reminiscent of the similarly knitted Dontnod adventure Twin Mirror. In contrast to the last-mentioned work, True Colors has the supernatural elements typical of the series - Alex is an extraordinary empath, who is not only able to perceive and empathize with the emotions of her fellow human beings more intensely, but can even absorb and manipulate them. The state of mind of the people around them is marked with colored auras, hence the title of the upcoming offshoot. But the ability has its price: If Alex acts unreflectively, the gift can overwhelm her own emotional world.

MYSTERIOUS COMING-OF-AGE STORY

Life is Strange: True Colors focuses on adolescent topics such as friendship, family, loss and the question of one's own identity and belonging. Romantic relationships are also discussed more openly this time than in the previous ones; Alex Chen is openly portrayed as a queer character: So you can decide whether you want to get involved with the male character Ryan or get involved with Stephanie "Steph" Gingrich. The latter also forms an intersection with the events of Before the Storm, where Steph was a friend of Chloe's.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Technologically, True Colors marks a turning point: for the new part, the facial expressions and gestures of the actors are said to have been recorded for the first time via motion capturing. The areas are now much larger and the exploration is to be upgraded and rewarded with optional side tasks. The episode format of the predecessor is also to be shelved: Instead, the full game will be released as a Deluxe and Ultimate Edition on September 10, 2021. The Ultimate Edition will also contain a remastered collection of its predecessors (Life is Strange + Life is Strange: Before the Storm).

[foogallery id = ”30315 ″]

In addition to the original tracks composed for the game, which include songs by Novo Amor (e.g. the track "Haven" from the trailer), there will also be cover versions of well-known titles from the indie and alternative sectors. In the trailer, for example, the song "Creep" is presented at one point, which originally came from Radiohead.

Social media singer Maia, also known as mxmtoon, will take on the singing voice of Alex, while voice actress Erika Mori will be the regular voice of Alex Chen. For the first time, however, there will also be complete localization in German.

Life is Strange: True Colors will be released for PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S | X and Google Stadia.

Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Bei einer Präsentation vor wenigen Tagen hat Publisher Square Enix einen frischen Life is Strange-Teil vorgestellt. Das Spiel ist kein offizieller dritter Teil, sondern ein ähnlich gelagertes Spin-Off wie schon das Prequel Before the Storm, allerdings inhaltlich loser an die Reihe gebunden. Und wie schon Before the Storm  wird auch Life is Strange: True Colors, so der Titel des neuen Teils, von den amerikanischen Deck Nine Games entwickelt (für die Hauptreihe sind wiederum die französischen Dontnod Studios verantwortlich).


Life is Strange: True Colors inszeniert erneut eine Coming-of-Age Geschichte, die sich dieses Mal um die junge Protagonistin Alex Chen dreht. Alex zieht nach einer schmerzhaften Trennung zu ihrem Bruder in die US-amerikanische Kleinstadt Haven Springs. Doch der vermeintliche Neuanfang wird unvermittelt getrübt, als ihr Bruder bei einem mysteriösen Umfall ums Leben kommt. Alex stellt auf der Suche nach Antworten ihre eigenen Nachforschungen zu dessen tragischen Ableben an. Die Geschichte erinnert in ihrer Prämisse an das ähnlich gestrickte Dontnod-Adventure Twin Mirror.  Im Gegensatz zu letztgenanntem Machwerk gibt es in True Colors aber wieder die serientypischen übernatürlichen Elemente – so ist Alex eine außergewöhnliche Empathin, welche die Emotionen ihrer Mitmenschen nicht nur intensiver wahrnehmen und nachzufühlen vermag, sondern sie gar absorbieren und manipulieren kann.  Der Gemütszustand der Personen in ihrem Umfeld wird mit farbigen Auren markiert, daher auch der Titel des kommenden Ablegers. Doch die Fähigkeit hat durchaus ihren Preis: Wenn Alex unreflektiert agiert, kann die Gabe ihre eigene Gefühlswelt übermannen.

MYSTERIÖSE COMING-OF-AGE STORY

In Life is Strange: True Colors stehen adoleszente Themen wie Freundschaft, Familie, Verluste und die Frage nach der eigenen Identität und Zugehörigkeit im Vordergrund. Auch romantische Beziehungen werden dieses Mal noch offener thematisiert als in den Vorgängern; dabei wird Alex Chen offen als queerer Charakter portraitiert: So kann man sich entscheiden, ob man sich auf die männliche Figur Ryan einlässt oder mit Stephanie „Steph“ Gingrich anbandelt. Letztere bildet auch einen Schnittpunkt zu den Geschehnissen aus Before the Storm, wo Steph eine Freundin von Chloe gewesen ist.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Technologisch markiert True Colors eine Zäsur: Für den neuen Teil sollen Mimik und Gestik der Akteure erstmals via Motion Capturing aufgenommen worden sein. Die Areale fallen nunmehr wesentlich größer aus und die Exploration soll über optionale Nebenaufgaben aufgewertet und belohnt werden.  Auch das Episodenformat der Vorgänger soll ad acta gelegt werden: Stattdessen erscheint am 10. September 2021 das vollständige Spiel als Deluxe und Ultimate Edition. Die Ultimate Edition wird zugleich eine Remastered Collection der Vorgänger (Life is Strange + Life is Strange: Before the Storm) enthalten.

Neben den für das Spiel komponierten Original-Tracks, die etwa Songs von Novo Amor umfassen (z.B. den aus dem Trailer bekannten Track „Haven“), wird es auch Cover-Fassungen bekannter Titel aus dem Indie- und Alternativebereich geben. Im Trailer etwa wird an einer Stelle der Song „Creep“ dargeboten, der ursprünglich von Radiohead stammt.

Die aus Social Media bekannte Sängerin Maia, auch bekannt als mxmtoon, wird die Gesangsstimme von Alex übernehmen, während Voice Actress Erika Mori die reguläre Stimme von Alex Chen sein wird. Erstmalig soll es aber auch eine vollständige Lokalisierung in deutscher Sprache geben.

Veröffentlicht wird Life is Strange: True Colors für PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S|X sowie für Google Stadia.