Lootoxen in video games have now been identified by many developers or publishers as a lucrative source of income. Again and again, however, criticism is leveled. One reason: Some industry experts attribute loot boxes and their randomness to gambling. 

Some countries, including Belgium, have cracked down on games where loot boxes were available for purchase in the past. One of the most prominent examples was the dispute with Electronic Arts over the sports game FIFA. In the end, the publisher caved in: Loot boxes in FIFA were no longer available. In Germany, too, there is always criticism of loot boxes.

Loot boxes: rip off or fun?

The sale of the "loot boxes" is lucrative for game providers: Small amounts of a few euros can easily be lured out of the pockets of fans, while developers and publishers make big money in the long term. On the one hand, loot boxes are mass products and, as virtual goods, ideal for multiple purchases. The reason: the content divided by rarity is distributed randomly. Players do not know what they are buying beforehand when purchasing a loot box. Although the makers are now indicating how big the chances of a more valuable "win" are, you can't influence that with the loot boxes. Commonly, this would be called gambling, which many critics of loot boxes do. Paradoxically, the gambling industry itself is much more transparent with its offers: here it is not concealed what a game of chance is - rather it is about filtering out serious gambling providers - for example in the area of Live casinos.

With the loot boxes, on the other hand, it is not always clear what players can expect - not only in terms of content, but also in terms of the legal situation. In any case, critics see the loot boxes as a classic gambling concept and call for it to be anchored in a legal framework. The identified danger: children, adolescents and young adults in particular could be encouraged to make purchases by playing with chance or even sucked into a veritable buying spiral. There is a psychological effect behind this: the prospect of valuable rewards.

Shooters in particular offer loot boxes, including

  • Apex Legends
  • Battlefield 1
  • Call of Duty (CoD)
  • Clash of Clans & Clash Royale
  • Counter-Strike (CS:GO)
  • Destiny 2
  • FIFA
  • Heroes of the Storm
  • League of Legends (LoL)
  • NBA 2K21
  • Overwatch
  • Players Unknown's Battleground (PUBG)

For their "investment" in a loot box, players will receive a box with unknown contents. If you land a hit, there is a good chance that more money will be put into further purchases. And if you don't land a meeting and pull an item out of the box that is useless for you, you want to iron out the "mistake" by making additional purchases. In the worst case, an addiction develops around the loot boxes. The reward center in the human brain is stimulated, so loot boxes are also an issue with regard to biological mechanisms.

Another major point of contention in the debate about loot boxes in Germany is availability: the loot boxes are usually used in video games that are otherwise free to play, so-called Free-2-play games. The temptation to spend a few euros after all, because you don't have to pay anything else for the game, is therefore great. This is especially true for younger fans who cannot fully assess the consequences of their actions. Parents are therefore automatically involved in the dispute over loot boxes. It is not uncommon for them not to know which titles their children are playing - there is then no trace of any possibilities for intervention. There are cases in which the uncontrolled buying behavior of children is only noticed on the bank statement, the credit card statement or a telephone bill. The damage was mostly great in the cases that were made public.

For parents, there are therefore some tips for dealing with loot boxes:

  • Find out about the topic
  • Find out about their children's players
  • Play together with their children
  • explain game content

The idea of ​​enlightenment is often mentioned in the dispute over Loot boxes. Critics would like game developers and publishers to deal more aggressively with the topic and point out possible dangers. In Germany, despite all the debates and restrictions in other countries, loot boxes are neither restricted nor forbidden. After all, there is corresponding protection against cost traps in the new Youth Protection Act. But: In the new State Treaty on Gambling, which, among other things, legalizes online gambling under certain conditions, loot boxes are not an issue. The classification as a game of chance does not exist for the loot boxes. Neighboring countries are much more advanced in this regard – and much stricter.

In Germany, a legal trick plays into the hands of the publishers: Because the “profits” from the loot boxes are virtual, they are not a monetary benefit. This will not help children, young people and their parents: for them, the risk of damage from loot boxes hovers over their heads like the sword of Damocles. The random factor can cost fans dearly, because when you pull the hoped-for item out of a box is uncertain because it is random. Internationally, including Belgium and France, there are studies that confirm the proximity of loot boxes to gambling. From a purely legal point of view, we are not that far in this country. Because corresponding regulations are in short supply, self-regulation is all the more important.


Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Lootoxen in Videospielen haben inzwischen viele Entwickler oder Publisher als lukrative Einnahmequelle ausgemacht. Immer wieder kommt es allerdings dazu, dass Kritik geübt wird. Ein Grund: Lootboxen und deren Zufallsprinzip rechnen einige Branchenkenner dem Glücksspiel zu. 

Einige Länder, darunter Belgien, gingen in der Vergangenheit gegen Spiele vor, in denen Lootboxen zum Kauf angeboten wurden. Eines der prominentesten Beispiele ist der Streit mit Electronic Arts um das Sportspiel FIFA gewesen. Am Ende knickte der Publisher ein: Lootboxen in FIFA gab es fortan nicht mehr. Auch in Deutschland wird immer wieder Kritik an Lootboxen laut.

Lootboxen: Abzocke oder Spaß?

Der Verkauf der “Beutekisten” ist für Spieleanbieter lukrativ: Kleinstbeträge in Höher weniger Euro lassen Fans sich leicht aus den Taschen entlocken, das große Geld machen Entwickler und Publisher langfristig. Lootboxen sind einerseits Massenprodukte und als virtuelle Güter wie geschaffen für den mehrmaligen Kauf. Der Grund: die nach Seltenheit unterteilten Inhalte werden nach dem Zufallsprinzip verteilt. Spieler wissen vorher nicht, was sie kaufen, wenn sie eine Lootbox kaufen. Zwar geben die Macher inzwischen an, wie große die Wahrscheinlichkeiten für einen wertvolleren “Gewinn” sind, beeinflussen kann man das bei den Beute-Boxen aber nicht. Gemeinhin würde man das als Glücksspiel bezeichnen, was viele Kritiker von Lootboxen auch tun. Paradoxerweise geht die Glücksspielindustrie selbst viel transparenter mit ihren Angeboten um: hier wird nicht verschleiert, was ein Glücksspiel ist – vielmehr geht es darum seriöse Glücksspielanbieter herauszufiltern – so etwa im Bereich der Live Casinos.

Bei den Lootboxen hingegen ist nicht immer klar, was Spieler erwartet – nicht nur inhaltlich, sondern auch bezüglich der Rechtslage. Kritiker sehen in den Beutekisten jedenfalls ein klassisches Glücksspielkonzept und fordern dessen Verankerung in einem Rechtsrahmen. Die ausgemachte Gefahr: vor allem Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene könnte durch das Spiel mit dem Zufall zu Käufen animiert oder gar in eine regelrechte Kaufspirale gesogen werden. Dahinter steckt argumentativ ein psychologischer Effekt: die Aussicht auf wertvolle Belohnungen.

Insbesondere Shooter bieten Lootboxen an, darunter

  • Apex Legends
  • Battlefield 1
  • Call of Duty (CoD)
  • Clash of Clans & Clash Royale
  • Counter Strike (CS:GO)
  • Destiny 2
  • FIFA
  • Heroes of the Storm
  • League of Legends (LoL)
  • NBA 2K21
  • Overwatch
  • Players Unknown’s Battleground (PUBG)

Für ihre “Investition” in eine Lootbox erhalten Spieler eine Kiste mit unbekanntem Inhalt. Landet man einen Treffer, ist die Chance groß, dass weiteres Geld in weitere Käufe gesteckt wird. Und Landet man keinen Treffen und zieht einen für sich unnützen Gegenstand aus der Kiste, so möchte man den “Fehler” durch weitere Zukäufe ausbügeln. Um die Lootboxen entspinnt sich im schlimmsten Fall eine Sucht. Das Belohnungszentrum im menschlichen Gehirn wird stimuliert, auch bezüglich biologischer Mechanismen sind Lootboxen also Thema.

Ebenfalls ein großer Streitpunkt bei der Debatte um Lootboxen in Deutschland ist die Verfügbarkeit: Die Beutekiste werden meist in ansonsten kostenlos spielbaren Videospielen eingesetzt, sogenannten Free-2-play-Games. Die Verlockung, letztendlich doch einige Euro auszugeben, weil man ja sonst nichts für das Spiel bezahlen muss, ist daher groß. Das gilt vor allem bei jüngeren Fans, die die Konsequenzen ihres Handelns nicht vollends einschätzen können. Eltern sind demnach automatisch involviert in den Streit um Lootboxen. Nicht selten wissen sie nicht, welche Titel ihre Kinder spielen – von Eingriffsmöglichkeiten ist dann keine Spur. Es gibt Fälle, in denen das unkontrollierte Kaufverhalten von Kindern erst auf dem Kontoauszug, der Kreditkartenabrechnung oder einer Telefonrechnung auffiel. Der Schaden war bei den öffentlich gemachten Fällen meist groß.

Für Eltern gibt es daher einige Tipps im Umgang mit Lootboxen:

  • Sich über das Thema informieren
  • Sich über die Spieler ihrer Kinder informieren
  • Gemeinsam mit ihren Kindern spielen
  • Spielinhalte erklären

Der Aufklärungsgedanke wird häufig genannt im Streit um Lootboxen. Kritiker wünschen sich, dass Spieleentwickler und Publisher offensiver mit dem Thema umgehen und auf mögliche Gefahren hinweisen. In Deutschland sind Lootboxen trotz aller Debatten und Restriktionen in anderen Ländern weder eingeschränkt nutzbar noch verboten. Immerhin gibt es im neuen Jugendschutzgesetz entsprechenden Schutz vor Kostenfallen. Aber: Im neuen Glücksspielstaatsvertrag, der unter anderem das Online-Glücksspiel unter Auflagen legalisiert, sind Lootboxen kein Thema. Die Einordnung als Glücksspiel gibt es für die Beutekisten also nicht. Nachbarländer sind diesbezüglich deutlich weiter – und deutlich strenger.

In Deutschland spielt ein juristischer Kniff den Publishern in die Hände: Weil die “Gewinne” aus den Lootboxen virtuell sind, sind sie keine geldwerten Vorteile. Kinder, Jugendlichen und deren Eltern wird das wenig helfen: für sie schwebt die Gefahr von Schäden durch Lootboxen wie ein Damoklesschwert über den Köpfen. Der Zufallsfaktor kann Fans teuer zu stehen kommen, denn wann man den erhofften Gegenstand aus einer Kiste zieht, ist ungewiss, weil zufällig. International, unter anderen eben auch Belgien oder Frankreich, gibt es Studien, die die Nähe von Lootboxen zum Glücksspiel bestätigen. Rein rechtlich ist man hierzulande noch nicht so weit. Weil entsprechende Regelungen also Mangelware sind, ist die Selbstkontrolle umso wichtiger.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 27.09.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API