Mathematics is generally not one of the most popular school subjects for children. However, elementary school students in particular usually encounter the topic without reservations - one goal: learn math and have fun doing it. This is not always possible at school due to the rigid teaching methods, at home it can be much more relaxed. Board games are a good tool for children to learn math while playing.

According to the Munich State Institute for School Quality and Educational Research, children learn mathematical skills in very different ways. This is pointed out by the publishing giant Ravensburger, which has an educational and puzzle game series in its sales portfolio with ThinkFun. In class, the differences in learning competences are not always taken into account. The crux: the development of mathematical skills builds on one another just like the individual teaching units. If a topic is not understood, it is difficult to follow the rest of the content. Therefore, it is not surprising that mathematics is one of the TOP 3 subjects that need external help.

Practice math basics with board games

In order not to get bogged down in elementary school, educators advocate a simple approach: practice basic skills, practice, practice. For the third International Mathematics Day, Ravensburger pointed out ThinkFun's logic and puzzle games and "how much fun algebra and the like can be". One reason for this is the gameplay: all tasks start out easy and gradually become more challenging without overtaxing the player.

Board games to practice and deepen basic arithmetic:

Prime Climb

With Prime Climb, players develop a feel for numbers and discover the patterns behind their calculations. An ingenious color coding helps: On the playing field with the numbers from zero to 101, each prime number is shown in a different color. Addition, subtraction, multiplication and division are cleverly visualized in this way. What the players intuitively grasp here is what the experts call prime factor analysis. With a great mix of strategy and luck, this fast-paced game is easy enough for kids yet dynamic enough for adults.

For children from 10 years, 27,99 euros (RRP)

math dice

This is how mental arithmetic is fun! Players from the age of eight immerse themselves in the world of numbers with the Math Cube and playfully deepen the types of arithmetic from addition to multiplication to root extraction. Two result dice determine the number sought. The goal is to use three more dice and a clever choice of arithmetic operations to calculate a value that is as close as possible to the result number faster than the other players. Whoever has the best solution wins a point and the next round begins. Whether in a duel or together, easy or difficult - the game can be adapted to the skill of the players.

For children from 8 years, RRP 12,99 euros

Board games for training heuristic strategies:

Rush Hour

In Rush Hour, the player guides a red car through a traffic jam to the exit by cleverly moving other vehicles. 40 task cards in four levels of difficulty indicate the location of the red car and the other vehicles. Each card is a new challenge, because the tasks are becoming more and more difficult - but only so much that the player can solve them with a little thought. The brain goes into turbo gear and the player trains his strategic thinking.

For children from 8 years, 24,99 euros (RRP)

Gravity Maze

Gravity Maze will test the player's imagination and logical thinking. Who can cleverly combine the transparent towers on the game board so that the metal ball rolls through all tower parts and lands in the red target tower? Only if the player correctly combines all the towers will there be an uninterrupted path through the labyrinth for the ball.

For children from 8 years, 24,99 euros (RRP)

Board games create varied learning situations – whether at school or at home. In order to be able to convey elementary skills - also, but not only in mathematics - the playful approach is a modern alternative to the rigid everyday learning and learning. Last but not least, games can help because the acquisition of skills, including mathematical basics, has long since been brought forward from elementary school to preschool. The rule game - the focus of parlor games - is, according to some researchers, the final variant of playing overall, which results in an advantage that should not be underestimated: Assuming that children's ability to play increases gradually, board and card games can be considered as Embedding learning and teaching materials in an overall learning concept in a meaningful way, even in the later development phase.


Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mathematik gehört bei Kindern allgemein nicht unbedingt zu den den beliebtesten Schulfächern. Vor allem Grundschüler begegnen dem Thema allerdings meist ohne Vorbehalte – ein Ziel: Mathe lernen und Spaß dabei haben. In der Schule gelingt das aufgrund der starren Lehrmethoden nicht immer, zu Hause kann es weitaus lockerer zugehen. Ein gutes Hilfsmittel, damit Kinder spielend Mathe lernen können, sind Brettspiele.

Laut dem Staatsinstitut für Schulqualität und Bildungsforschung München erlernen Kinder mathematische Kompetenzen sehr unterschiedlich. Darauf weist der Verlagsriese Ravensburger hin, der mit ThinkFun eine Lern- und Rätselspiel-Reihe in seinem Vertriebsportfolio hat. Im Unterricht würden die Unterschiede beim Erlernen von Kompetenzen nicht immer berücksichtigt. Die Krux: Die mathematische Kompetenzentwicklung baut genauso aufeinander auf wie die einzelnen Unterrichtseinheiten. Wird ein Thema nicht verstanden, ist es schwierig, den restlichen Inhalten zu folgen. Daher ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass Mathematik zu den TOP 3 Fächern gehört, die externe Hilfe benötigt.

Mathe-Grundlagen mit Brettspielen üben

Um nicht schon in der Grundschule ins Strudeln zu geraten, plädieren Pädagogen zu einem simplen Ansatz: Grundfertigkeiten üben, üben, üben. Zum dritten internationalen Tag der Mathematik hatte Ravensburger auf die Logik- und Denkspiele von ThinkFun hingewiesen und darauf, „wie viel Spaß Algebra und Co. machen können“. Ein Grund hierfür liegt am Spielprinzip: Alle Aufgaben beginnen einfach und werden Schritt für Schritt anspruchsvoller, ohne den Spieler zu überfordern.

Brettspiele zum Üben und Vertiefen der Grundrechenarten:

Prime Climb

Mit Prime Climb entwickeln Spieler ein Gefühl für Zahlen und entdecken die Muster hinter ihren Berechnungen. Dabei hilft eine geniale Farbcodierung: Auf dem Spielfeld mit den Zahlen von Null bis 101 wird jede Primzahl andersfarbig dargestellt. So werden Addition, Subtraktion, Multiplikation und Division geschickt visualisiert. Was die Spieler hier intuitiv erfassen, nennen die Experten Primfaktorzerlegung. Mit einer tollen Mischung aus Strategie und Glück ist dieses schnelle Spiel einfach genug für Kinder und bietet trotzdem ausreichend Dynamik für Erwachsene.

Für Kinder ab 10 Jahren, 27,99 Euro (UVP)

Mathe Würfel

So macht Kopfrechnen Spaß! Spieler ab acht Jahren tauchen beim Mathe Würfel in die Welt der Zahlen ein und vertiefen spielerisch die Rechenarten von der Addition über die Multiplikation bis hin zum Wurzelziehen. Zwei Ergebniswürfel bestimmen die gesuchte Zahl. Ziel ist es, mit drei weiteren Würfeln und geschickter Wahl der Rechenoperationen schneller als die Mitspieler einen Wert zu errechnen, der so nah wie möglich an der Ergebniszahl liegt. Wer die beste Lösung hat, gewinnt einen Punkt und die nächste Runde beginnt. Ob im Duell oder gemeinsam, einfach oder schwierig – das Spiel lässt sich an das Können der Spieler anpassen.

Für Kinder ab 8 Jahren, UVP 12,99 Euro

Brettspiele zum Schulen von heuristischen Strategien:

Rush Hour

Bei Rush Hour lotst der Spieler ein rotes Auto durch einen Stau zur Ausfahrt, indem er andere Fahrzeuge clever verschiebt. 40 Aufgabenkarten in vier Schwierigkeitsstufen geben dabei den Standort des roten Autos und der anderen Fahrzeuge vor. Jede Karte ist eine neue Herausforderung, denn die Aufgaben werden immer schwieriger – aber immer nur so viel, dass der Spieler sie mit etwas Überlegen auch lösen kann. Dabei legt das Gehirn den Turbogang ein und der Spieler trainiert sein strategisches Denken.

Für Kinder ab 8 Jahren, 24,99 Euro (UVP)

Gravity Maze

Gravity Maze stellt die Vorstellungskraft und das logische Denken des Spielers auf die Probe. Wer kann die transparenten Türme so geschickt auf dem Spielbrett miteinander kombinieren, dass die Metallkugel durch alle Turmteile hindurchrollt und im roten Zielturm landet? Nur, wenn der Spieler alle Türme richtig miteinander kombiniert, entsteht ein ununterbrochener Weg für die Kugel durch das Labyrinth.

Für Kinder ab 8 Jahren, 24,99 Euro (UVP)

Gesellschaftsspiele schaffen abwechslungsreiche Lernsituationen – gleichgültig ob in der Schule oder zu Hause. Um elementare Fähigkeiten – auch, aber nicht nur in der Mathematik – vermitteln zu können, ist der spielerische Ansatz jedenfalls eine moderne Alternative zum starren Lern- und Lernalltag. Nicht zuletzt können Spiele deshalb helfen, weil der Kompetenzerwerb auch mathematischer Grundlagen längst von der Grundschule in den Vorschulbereich vorverlegt worden ist. Das Regelspiel – bei Gesellschaftsspielen im Mittelpunkt – ist eine, nach Meinung einiger Forscher die letztstufige, Variante des Spielens insgesamt, woraus sich ein nicht zu unterschätzender Vorteil ergibt: Davon ausgehend, dass die Spielfähigkeit von Kindern schrittweise steigt, kann man Brett- und Kartenspiele als Lern- und Lehrmittel auch in späteren Entwicklungsphase sinnvoll in ein Gesamtlernkonzept einbetten.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
ThinkFun - 76429 - Prime Climb - Das farbenfrohe Mathespiel für... ThinkFun - 76429 - Prime Climb - Das farbenfrohe Mathespiel für... * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 23,48 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 10.12.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API