May the fourth: Every year, May 4th is all about Star Wars - this year is no different. Even the global coronavirus pandemic cannot change that. The program on Star Wars Day is mixed: the familiar meets the tried and tested. And there are even some surprises and they come - you could almost have guessed it - directly from Disney. 


Every year on May 4th, Star Wars Day takes place worldwide as an unofficial holiday for fans of George Lucas' sci-fantasy epic. This year is even a very special one, because the action day celebrates its tenth anniversary in 2021. Star Wars Day was celebrated for the first time in 2011 and has been a fixed day on fans' calendars ever since. Various campaigns take place around the world and there are suitable shopping offers. In the past few years, Star Wars Day has been more or less uniform. It's different this time: Disney, of all people, has a few surprises in store, which are mainly about Disney plus subscribers will be happy.

Disney + beckons with surprises

The surprise movie hit from 1977 has grown into a gigantic universe that is rich in stories, products, exhibitions and much more and whose dimensions go far beyond the nine films in the Skywalker saga. And even more than 40 years after the first part of the successful Star Wars series by George Lucas was shown on the big screen and exactly 50 years after he founded his studio Lucasfilm, this space saga still captivates fans worldwide. The new trilogy, the independent Star Wars story films and the successful “Disney + Originals” were also able to delight millions of viewers and numerous new fans.

The stories of young heroes who bravely stand against the ruling empire with an iron hand and plunge into the greatest adventure of their lives are not only shaped by friendship, great challenges and epic space battles - they are still among the greatest today Cult phenomena of pop culture and connect entire generations.

“May the force be with you” - this sentence with absolute cult status has been a symbol of the galactic epic about Darth Vader, Yoda, Luke Skywalker, Han Solo and Chewbacca since 1977 all over the world.

While it was originally used as a July 4th greeting in the United States, it was dated back to May 4th the following year when a full-page ad appeared in the May 4th 1979 issue of the London Evening News to address British Prime Minister Margaret To congratulate Thatcher on taking office that day: “May the Fourth Be With You, Maggie. Congratulations! ".

On May 4th, Disney + is releasing a brand new original series, Star Wars: The Bad Batch. The series follows the elite group of experimental clones of Bad Batch, which were first introduced in "The Clone Wars": The clones of clone unit 99 have to find their way in a rapidly changing galaxy. The members of the Bad Batch are composed as a unique force of clones who are genetically different from their brothers in the clone army. Each of them has a unique, extraordinary ability that makes them extraordinarily effective soldiers and an outstanding group.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

There are also other surprises, namely a unique Star Wars short film by the Simpsons and several themed cinema experiences to celebrate the “galaxy far, far away”. The content is a real premiere: Disney + shows for the first time "Maggie Simpson in 'The Awakening of Power'", a new Star Wars-inspired short film from "The Simpsons", the characters from the Star Wars galaxy in the fictional city of Springfield brings.

But it gets even better: The new "The Simpsons" short is the first of several short films Disney + will release later this year to honor the platform's most important brands and titles. This has not been officially confirmed, but Marvel and Disney's animated films will probably also have to serve as themes.

It shouldn't have been on Disney + on this year's Star Wars Day: To celebrate the creativity and artistry of the Star Wars community, Lucasfilm and Disney + commissioned original works of art that will take over the homepage of the streaming service for several days - likewise a first for the platform. A global group of artists and Star Wars fans have created illustrations for a selection of Star Wars films and originals and brought them to life in their own style. The artwork will be on view on the Disney + Star Wars homepage through May 9th.

And then there are other cinematic gems on the subject of Star Wars: Star Wars biomes and Star Wars sightseeing flights. So fans embark on a virtual vacation trip to some of the films' most famous and beloved locations - such as Hoth, Tatooine and Sorgan.

Toys, nibbles, Star Wars wear

This year, too, numerous new Star Wars product highlights will make fans' hearts beat faster. In particular, the brand new Lego Star Wars Darth Vader and Scout Trooper helmets are a must for all collectors. In addition, Hasbro is shortening the wait for season three for fans with the Mandalorian's Electronic Helmet from the acclaimed Disney + series. The new series of novels Star Wars - The High Republic of Panini also allows new fans in particular to participate in the heroic deeds of young Jedi knights and padawans.

But other manufacturers such as Funko or Disney bring an extensive variety of products on the various Star Wars themes onto the market, from figures and playsets to clothing. For the first time ever, products will be sent directly from Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge, a themed area in Disneyland Park, from the planet Batuu and are only available for a limited time online in the Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge outpost at shopDisney.de! Also for a limited period of 24 hours, the new collection key for Star Wars will be available on shopDisney.de from May 4th, 9 a.m. Other exclusive offers and a 20 percent discount on selected Lego items round off the Star Wars week on shopDisney.de.

There are also offers for fans of model making, including at Revell: Under the motto "I am Your Father's Day", Revell is giving all Star Warriors fans a 20 percent discount on twelve selected products from the Star Wars range, including icons such as the " fastest junk pile in the galaxy ”, the Millennium Falcon, or the X-Wing Fighter, the hunter of the Rebel Alliance. By the way, this promotion is already running. Information on "I am Your Father's Day" has been available since April 26th at action.revell.de.

The Stan Smith Sta rWars shoes come from Adidas and cost 120 euros. Photo: Adidas

The Stan Smith Sta rWars shoes come from Adidas and cost 120 euros. Photo: Adidas

Leibniz is also going to a distant galaxy this year and is expanding its range with two new Star Wars products. Thanks to the new special edition with cookies inspired by Star Wars characters, fans can enjoy the cookies in the form of the characters Chewbacca, Darth Vader, Yoda and more.

Inspired by the wisest figure in the galaxy, Master Yoda, another hero in terms of style and sustainability appears with the new Stan Smith sneaker from Adidas, which is equipped with a Primegreen upper made from 50 percent recycled material - available since May 1st at adidas.com/StanSmith.

Star Wars Day 2021 is more classic for gamers: There are the usual offers and discounts on Star Wars video games, board gamers can snap up one or the other themed bargain. However, there are no big surprises - perhaps with one exception. Around the unofficial holiday, Electronic Arts had announced that it would be the successful action adventure game Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order upgrade versions for Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S will be released. It should be ready in summer.

Especially players who still lack the old titles in their collection benefit from the offers: For example, Star Wars games are discounted between 50 and 75 percent on Valve's platform Steam, Star Wars - Knights of the Old Republic is available for around 2,90 euros, the successor too. Is recommended

Otherwise, on May 4th, it is of course a good idea to make the day as “star wars” as possible, that is, unpack suitable board and card games or pass the time with some classics of video game history, such as Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic or Rebel Assault.

Role-playing collectors, on the other hand, are happy about the new Black Series helmet for The Mandalorian series, which Hasbro has launched. The full-scale helmet with a detailed design inspired by the “The Mandalorian” series, interior padding and adjustable fit is a galactic addition to the domestic Star Wars collection. The highlight: the helmet is primarily a collector's item, but it can actually be worn. The electronic helmet has a detachable flashlight as well as red lights inside that can be activated while the helmet is on your head.


Preview Product Rating Price
Disney + Disney + *

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

May the fourth: Jährlich steht der 4. Mai ganz im Zeichen von Star Wars – auch dieses Jahr ist das nicht anders. Ändern kann daran selbst die weltweite Coronavirus-Pandemie nichts. Das Programm am Star-Wars-Tag ist bunt gemischt: Bekanntes trifft auf Bewährtes. Und sogar einige Überraschungen gibt es und die kommen – man hätte es fast erahnen können – direkt von Disney. 


Jedes Jahr am 4. Mai findet weltweit der Star-Wars-Tag als inoffizieller Feiertag für Fans von George Lucas Sci-Fantasy-Epos statt. Dieses Jahr ist sogar ein ganz besonderes, denn der Aktionstag feiert in 2021 sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum. Im Jahr 2011 ist der Star-Wars-Tag erstmals begangen worden und seit dem ein fester Tag im Kalender von Fans. Weltweit finden verschiedenen Aktionen statt und es gibt passende Shopping-Angebote. In den vergangenen Jahres verlief der Star-Wars-Tag mehr oder minder gleichförmig. Das ist diesmal anders: Ausgerechnet Disney wartet mit einigen Überraschungen auf, über die sich vor allem Disney-plus-Abonnenten freuen werden.

Disney+ lockt mit Überraschungen

Aus dem Überraschungskinohit von 1977 ist inzwischen ein gigantisches Universum gewachsen, das reich an Geschichten, Produkten, Ausstellungen und vielem mehr ist und dessen Ausmaße weit über die neun Filme der Skywalker Saga hinausgehen. Und auch über 40 Jahre nachdem der erste Teil der erfolgreichen Star Wars Reihe von George Lucas auf den Kinoleinwänden zu sehen war und genau 50 Jahre nachdem er sein Studio Lucasfilm gegründet hatte, fesselt diese Weltraum-Saga immer noch Fans weltweit. Auch mit der neuen Trilogie, den eigenständigen Star-Wars-Story-Filmen und erfolgreichen „Disney+ Originals“ konnten Millionen Zuschauer und zahlreiche neue Fans begeistert werden.

Die Geschichten junger Helden, die sich mutig gegen das mit eiserner Hand herrschende Imperium stellen und sich in das größte Abenteuer ihres Lebens stürzen, sind nicht nur geprägt von Freundschaft, großen Herausforderungen und epischen Weltraum-Schlachten – sie zählen auch heute noch zu einem der größten Kult-Phänomene der Pop-Kultur und verbinden ganze Generationen.

„May the force be with you” – Dieser Satz mit absolutem Kult-Status gilt seit 1977 auf der ganzen Welt als Symbol für das galaktische Epos rund um Darth Vader, Yoda, Luke Skywalker, Han Solo und Chewbacca.

Während er in den USA ursprünglich als Gruß zum 4. Juli verwendet wurde, wurde er im folgenden Jahr auf den 4. Mai zurückdatiert, als eine ganzseitige Anzeige in der Ausgabe der London Evening News vom 4. Mai 1979 erschien, um der britischen Premierministerin Margaret Thatcher zu ihrem Amtsantritt an diesem Tag zu gratulieren: „May the Fourth Be With You, Maggie. Congratulations!“.

Am 4. Mai veröffentlicht Disney+ eine brandneue Originalserie: „Star Wars: The Bad Batch“. Die Serie folgt der Elitetruppe aus experimentellen Klonen der Bad Batch, die zum ersten Mal in „The Clone Wars“ eingeführt wurden: Die Klone der Kloneinheit 99 müssen sich in einer sich schnell verändernden Galaxis zurechtfinden. Die Mitglieder der Bad Batch setzen sich als einzigartige Truppe von Klonen zusammen, die sich genetisch von ihren Brüdern in der Klonarmee unterscheiden. Jeder von ihnen besitzt eine einzigartige, außergewöhnliche Fähigkeit, die sie zu außerordentlich effektiven Soldaten und einer herausragenden Gruppe macht.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Hinzu kommen weitere Überraschungen, nämlich ein einzigartiger Star-Wars-Kurzfilm der Simpsons und mehrere thematische Kinoerlebnisse zur Feier der „weit, weit entfernten Galaxis“. Bei dem Content handelt es sich um eine waschechte Premiere: Disney+ zeigt erstmals „Maggie Simpson in ‚Das Erwachen der Macht’“, einem neuen Star Wars inspirierten Kurzfilm aus „Die Simpsons“, der Charaktere aus der Star Wars Galaxis in die fiktive Stadt Springfield bringt.

Doch es kommt noch besser: Der neue „Die Simpsons“-Short ist der erste von mehreren Kurzfilmen, die Disney+ im Laufe des Jahres veröffentlichen wird, um die wichtigsten Marken und Titel der Plattform zu ehren. Offiziell bestätigt ist das zwar nicht, doch vermutlich werden auch Marvel und Disneys-Animationsfilme als Themen herhalten müssen.

Auf Disney+ soll es das am diesjährigen Star-Wars-Tag nicht gewesen sein: Um die Kreativität und Kunstfertigkeit der Star Wars Community zu feiern, haben Lucasfilm und Disney+ Originalkunstwerke in Auftrag gegeben, die die Startseite des Streaming-Services für mehrere Tage übernehmen – ebenfalls eine Premiere für die Plattform. Eine weltweite Gruppe von Künstlern und Star Wars Fans hat Illustrationen zu einer Auswahl von Star Wars Filmen und Originals erstellt und diese in ihrem eigenen Stil zum Leben erweckt. Die Kunstwerke werden bis zum 9. Mai auf der Star Wars Startseite von Disney+ zu sehen sein.

Und dann gibt es noch weiteres filmisches Kleinod zum Thema Star Wars zu sehen: Star Wars Biome und Star Wars Rundflüge. Fans brechen also auf zu einer virtuellen Urlaubsreise zu einigen der berühmtesten und beliebtesten Schauplätze der Filme – so etwa Hoth, Tatooine und Sorgan.

Spielzeug, Knabberkram, Star-Wars-Wear

Auch in diesem Jahr werden wieder zahlreiche, neue Star Wars Produkthighlights Fan-Herzen höherschlagen lassen. Insbesondere die brandneuen Lego Star Wars Darth Vader sowie Scout Trooper Helme sind ein Muss für alle Sammler. Außerdem verkürzt Hasbro mit dem Elektronischen Helm des Mandalorian aus der gefeierten Disney+ Serie den Fans das Warten auf die dritte Staffel. Die neue Romanreihe Star Wars – Die hohe Republik von Panini lässt zudem besonders neue Fans an den Heldentaten junger Jedi-Ritter und Padawane teilhaben.

Aber auch weitere Hersteller wie Funko oder Disney bringen von Figuren und Spielsets bis hin zu Bekleidung eine umfangreiche Produktvielfalt zu den unterschiedlichen Star Wars Themen auf den Markt. So werden zum ersten Mal überhaupt Produkte direkt aus Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge, einem Themenbereich im Disneyland Park, vom Planeten Batuu verschickt und sind exklusiv online im Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge Außenposten unter shopDisney.de nur für eine begrenzte Zeit erhältlich! Ebenfalls nur für eine limitierte Zeitspanne von 24 Stunden wird es ab dem 4. Mai, 9 Uhr, den neuen Sammelschlüssel zu Star Wars auf shopDisney.de geben. Weitere exklusive Angebote sowie 20 Prozent Rabatt auf ausgewählte Lego-Artikel runden die Star Wars Woche auf shopDisney.de ab.

Angebote gibt es auch für Fans des Modellbaus, unter anderem bei Revell: Unter dem Motto „I am Your Father‘s Day“ beschenkt Revell alle Anhänger der Sternenkrieger mit 20 Prozent Rabatt auf zwölf ausgewählte Produkte aus dem Star Wars Sortiment, darunter auch Ikonen wie der „schnellste Schrotthaufen der Galaxie“, der Millennium Falcon, oder der X-Wing Fighter, der Jäger der Rebellenallianz. Diese Aktions läuft übrigens bereits. Infos zu „I am Your Father‘s Day“ gibt es bereits seit dem 26. April unter aktion.revell.de.

Der Stan Smith Sta rWars Schuhe kommt von Adidas und kostet 120 Euro. Foto: Adidas

Der Stan Smith Sta rWars Schuhe kommt von Adidas und kostet 120 Euro. Foto: Adidas

Auch Leibniz begibt sich dieses Jahr in eine weit entfernte Galaxie und erweitert sein Sortiment um zwei neue Star Wars Produkte. Dank der neuen Special Edition mit Keksen, die von Star Wars Charakteren inspiriert sind, können Fans die Kekse in Form der Charaktere Chewbacca, Darth Vader, Yoda und mehr genießen.

Inspiriert von der weisesten Figur der Galaxie, Meister Yoda, erscheint mit dem neuen Stan Smith-Sneaker von Adidas außerdem ein weiterer Held in Sachen Stil und Nachhaltigkeit, der mit einem Primegreen-Obermaterial aus 50 Prozent recyceltem Material ausgestattet ist – erhältlich seit 1. Mai auf adidas.com/StanSmith.

Für Zocker verläuft der Star-Wars-Tag 2021 eher klassisch: Es gibt die üblichen Angebote und Rabatte auf Star-Wars-Videospiele, Brettspieler können das eine oder andere thematische Schnäppchen schießen. Große Überraschungen sind allerdings nicht dabei – vielleicht mir einer Ausnahme. Rund um den inoffiziellen Feiertag hatte Electronic Arts angekündigt, das zu dem erfolgreiche Action-Adventure Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order Upgrade-Versionen für Playstation 5 und Xbox Series X|S erscheinen werden. Noch im Sommer soll es soweit sein.

Vor allem Spieler, denen die alten Titel noch in der Sammlung fehlen, profitieren von den Angeboten: So sind die Star-Wars-Games etwa auf Valves Plattform Steam zwischen 50 und 75 Prozent rabattiert, Star Wars – Knights of the Old Republic gibt es für rund 2,90 Euro, den Nachfolger ebenfalls. Empfehlenswert ist

Ansonsten bietet es sich am 4. Mai natürlich an, sich den Tag so „star warsig“ wie möglich zu machen, also passende Brett- und Kartenspiele auszupacken oder sich die Zeit mit einigen Klassikern der Videospielegeschichte zu vertreiben, etwa Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic oder Rebel Assault.

Rollenspiele spielende Sammler freuen sich hingegen über den neuen Black-Series-Helm zur Serie The Mandalorian, den Hasbro auf den Markt gebracht hat. Der Helm im Originalmaßstab mit einem detaillierten durch die Serie „The Mandalorian“ inspirierten Design, Innenpolstern und einstellbarer Passform ist eine galaktische Erweiterung für die heimische Star-Wars-Kollektion. Der Clou: Der Helm ist zwar vorrangig Sammelobjekt, kann jedoch auch tatsächlich getragen werden. Der elektronische Helm verfügt über eine abnehmbare Taschenlampe sowie rote Lichter im Inneren, die aktiviert werden können, während der Helm auf dem Kopf sitzt.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Disney+ Disney+ *

Letzte Aktualisierung am 26.07.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API