Microsoft goes shopping: The Redmond company is said to have put $ 7,5 billion in the takeover, which in itself is surprising enough. For fans, however, much better: Games like Fallout, Doom and Co become part of Microsoft's Game Pass.


Microsoft takes over ZeniMax Media and thus Bethesda. The group is said to have spent 7,5 billion US dollars on the US company. Microsoft is thus also buying the rights to long-term series such as Fallout, The Elder Scrolls, Doom, Wolfenstein, Dishonored and many more. It's one of the biggest deals in the game industry.

Bethesda games become part of Game Pass

Both sides have already published statements. At Bethesda both came Vice President Pete Hines to word as well Game director Todd Howard. Hines justified the decision with the possibility of developing better games for the fans.

At Bethesda itself nothing should change for the time being: “Why this change? Because it gives us the opportunity to make better games. Microsoft is an incredible partner and has the resources that make us a better publisher and developer. We believe that this way you will get better games. Simply put, we believe change is essential to get better. We believe in improving ourselves. Deliver innovations. To grow. "

The creators of The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Wolfenstein, DOOM, Dishonored, Quake, Starfield, and more are joining Team Xbox. Image rights: Microsoft

The creators of The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Wolfenstein, DOOM, Dishonored, Quake, Starfield, and more are joining Team Xbox. Image rights: Microsoft

That this is a real mega-deal becomes clear if you look at the number of employees alone: ​​Bethesda has 2.300 employees worldwide in its creative studios, which include id Software, ZeniMax Online Studios, Arkane, MachineGames and Tango Gameworks. The teams are responsible for numerous well-known brands, such as Prey, Doom, The Elder Scrolls Online, Quake and Fallout. Even the brand new sci-fi game Starfield is one of them.

Xbox boss Phil Spencer also spoke in a blog entry that the two companies can look back on a longstanding partnership. Bethesda’s portfolio is now set to become part of Xbox Game Pass, Microsoft’s “Netflix for Games”. The future games of the US game manufacturer will appear for PC and Xbox. It remains exciting, however, whether or not these titles will also be offered for the Playstation. It is possible that Bethesda's games will appear exclusively for Microsoft and later also appear for Sony's console.


Author

Last updated on 18.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Microsoft geht shoppen: 7,5 Milliarden US-Dollar sollen die Redmonder hingelegt haben bei der Übernahme, die für sich genommen schon überraschende Sensation genug ist. Für Fans allerdings weitaus besser: Games wie Fallout, Doom und Co werden damit Teil von Microsofts Game Pass.


Microsoft übernimmt ZeniMax Media und somit Bethesda. 7,5 Milliarden US-Dollar soll der Konzern für das US-Unternehmen aufgewendet haben. Damit kauft sich Microsoft auch die Rechte für langjährige Serien wie Fallout, The Elder Scrolls, Doom, Wolfenstein, Dishonored und viele mehr. Es ist eine der größten Deals in der Spieleindustrie.

Bethesda-Spiele werden Teil von Game Pass

Beide Seiten haben bereits Statements veröffentlicht. Bei Bethesda kam sowohl Vize-Präsident Pete Hines zu Wort, als auch Game Director Todd Howard. Hines begründet die Entscheidung mit der Möglichkeit, bessere Spiele für die Fans zu entwickeln.

An Bethesda selbst soll sich vorerst aber nichts ändern: „Wieso diese Änderung? Weil es uns die Möglichkeit gibt, bessere Spiele zu entwickeln. Microsoft ist ein unglaublicher Partner und besitzt Ressourcen, die uns zu einem besseren Publisher und Entwickler machen. Wir glauben, dass ihr so bessere Spiele bekommt. Einfach gesagt – wir glauben, dass Veränderung wichtig ist, um besser zu werden. Wir glauben daran, uns selbst zu verbessern. Innovationen zu liefern. Zu wachsen.“

Die Schöpfer von The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Wolfenstein, DOOM, Dishonored, Quake, Starfield und mehr schließen sich Team Xbox an. Bildrechte: Microsoft

Die Schöpfer von The Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Wolfenstein, DOOM, Dishonored, Quake, Starfield und mehr schließen sich Team Xbox an. Bildrechte: Microsoft

Dass es sich dabei um einen echten Mega-Deal handelt, wird deutlich, wenn man allein die Mitarbeiterzahlen betrachtet: 2.300 Angestellte weltweit hat Bethesda in seinen Kreativstudios, zu denen unter anderem id Software, ZeniMax Online Studios, Arkane, MachineGames oder Tango Gameworks gehören. Die teams sind verantwortlich für zahlreiche namhafte Marken, etwa Prey, Doom, The Elder Scrolls Online, Quake oder Fallout. Sogar das brandneue SciFi-Game Starfield gehört dazu.

Xbox-Chef Phil Spencer sprach außerdem in einem Blogeintrag davon, dass die beiden Unternehmen auf eine langjährige Partnerschaft zurückblicken. Das Portfolio von Bethesda soll nun Teil des Xbox Game Passes werden, Microsofts „Netflix für Spiele“. Die künftigen Games der US-Spieleschmiede erscheinen somit für PC und Xbox. Spannend bleibt allerdings, ob diese Titel dann auch für die Playstation angeboten werden oder. Womöglich werden Bethesdas Spiele Zeitexklusiv für Microsoft erscheinen und später auch für Sonys Konsole erscheinen.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 19.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API