Aaron Greenberg, Xbox General Manager of Marketing, spoke in an interview with the British Gaming Bible, a gaming offshoot of the LadBible Group, about the basic options for expanding the Xbox Game Pass.


In the interview with the British gaming bible Specifically, it is about supplementing the Game Pass through partnerships with other publishers. The recently established partnership with EA, for example, made it possible to integrate the EA Play catalog into the Game Pass free of charge.

Xbox wants to create “further added value” for the Game Pass

Aaron Greenberg revealed that they are open to similar concepts in the future. At this point, however, he spoke more about add-ons: The option to expand the Game Pass with additional services, possibly in the form of discounts. Here we could imagine add-ons similar to Amazon Prime Video, where you get access to exclusive channels for a surcharge. Sky is also pursuing a similar concept with its modular streaming packages. He also mentioned that this is about more than just games.

“EA Play was an independent subscription service, the integration of which meant great added value. We believe that it is the best way to create further added value for the Game Pass. That is our primary focus. "

For example, a partnership has been entered into with Disney so that Game Pass subscribers can use the mouse company's streaming service free of charge for 30 days. Similar collaborations have been made with services such as Spotify and other on-demand platforms.

He added: “So we are open to such marketing partnerships and mutual promotion of these services because we know that for many people the best way to enjoy these games or entertainment formats is with an all-you-can-eat offer for a low monthly price Price."

When asked whether these services were limited in time, they referred to the "EA Play" offer. Greenberg spoke of a significant cooperation that was designed for the long term, but which could not be guaranteed to last forever. He compared the integration of the additional services with the licensed film catalog from Netflix. In-house Netflix Originals productions would be permanent, while licensed films could change after the contract expires.

Destiny 2 is also part of the Game Pass:

Click the button below to load the content of cdn.iframe.ly.

Load content

In general, Game Pass is currently the most attractive on-demand solution when it comes to video games. All Xbox Game Studios titles (now including Bethesda, Arkane Soft and ID Software) will be placed on the platform immediately upon release.

The catalog currently includes over 100 titles at a monthly price of EUR 12,99. With the current generation of consoles (Xbox Series X / S), the subscription service is to be expanded significantly.


Author

  • Editor and news writer. Second life teacher-to-be. Likes art, video games, comics, movies, board games, and music.

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Aaron Greenberg, Xbox General Manager of Marketing, sprach im Rahmen eines Interviews mit der britischen Gaming Bible, ein Gaming-Ableger der LadBible Group, über die grundsätzlichen Optionen, den Xbox Game Pass zu erweitern.


In dem Interview mit der britischen Gaming Bible geht es konkret um die Ergänzung des Game Pass über Partnerschaften mit anderen Publishern. Die jüngst etablierte Partnerschaft mit EA etwa ermöglichte die kostenfreie Integration des EA Play-Katalogs in den Game Pass.

Xbox will „weitere Mehrwerte“ für den Game Pass schaffen

Aaron Greenberg verriet, dass man für die Zukunft offen für ähnliche Konzepte sei. Er sprach an dieser Stelle aber mehr von Add-Ons: Die Option, den Game Pass um weitere Dienste zu erweitern, ggf. in Form von Rabattierungen. Hier könnten wir uns Add-Ons ähnlich wie bei Amazon Prime Video vorstellen, wo man gegen Aufpreis Zugriff auf exklusive Kanäle erhält. Ein ähnliches Konzept verfolgt auch Sky mit seinen modularen Streaming-Paketen. Zudem erwähnte er, dass man hierbei an mehr als nur Spiele denke.

„EA Play war ein eigenständiger Aboservice, dessen Integration einen großen Mehrwert bedeutete. Wir glauben, dass es der beste Weg ist, weitere Mehrwerte für den Game Pass zu schaffen. Das ist unser primärer Fokus.“

So wurde etwa eine Partnerschaft mit Disney eingegangen, damit Abonnementen des Game Pass 30 Tage lang kostenlos den Streaming-Service des Mauskonzerns nutzen können. Ähnliche Kooperationen sind mit Diensten wie Spotify und anderen On-demand-Plattformen unternommen worden.

Er ergänzte: „Wir sind also offen für derlei Marketingpartnerschaften und die beidseitige Förderung dieser Dienste, denn wir wissen, für viele Menschen ist der beste Weg, diese Spiele oder Unterhaltungsformate zu genießen, ein All-You-Can-Eat Angebot zu einem niedrigen monatlichen Preis.“

Auf die Frage hin, ob diese Dienste zeitlich befristet seien, verwies man auf das „EA Play“-Angebot. Greenberg sprach von einer bedeutsamen Kooperation, die langfristig angelegt sei, bei der man aber nicht garantieren könne, dass sie für immer bestehen bleibe. Er verglich die Integration der zusätzlichen Services mit dem lizenzierten Filmkatalog von Netflix. Hauseigene Netflix Originals-Produktionen würden dauerhaft bestehen bleiben, lizenzierte Filme hingegen könnten nach Vertragsende hingegen wechseln.

Auch Destiny 2 ist Bestandteil des Game Pass:

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von cdn.iframe.ly zu laden.

Inhalt laden

Generell ist der Game Pass derzeit die wohl attraktivste On-Demand-Lösung, wenn es um Videospiele geht. Alle Xbox Game Studios-Titel (zu denen mittlerweile auch Bethesda, Arkane Soft und ID Software) werden direkt zu Release auf die Plattform gestellt.

Der Katalog umfasst aktuell über 100 Titel zu einem monatlichen Betrag von 12,99 EUR. Mit der aktuellen Konsolengeneration (Xbox Series X/S) sollen die Leistungen des Aboservices deutlich erweitert werden.

Auch interessant:
Age of Empires 4: Gute alte Echtzeitstrategie?

Letzte Aktualisierung am 22.04.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API