The game files of the Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 are apparently full of surprises. Now it is a small file name that gives rise to speculation in several respects. Microsoft could actually have at least toyed with the idea of ​​giving its flight simulator virtual reality support or confirming that the flight game for Xbox Series X | S is implemented, possibly also with VR support.


As the Windows Central website reports, a forum user claims to have found, among other things, two game files named PC_VR on the one hand and Scarlett_VR on the other. PC_VR clearly points to virtual reality for the PC version of the Microsoft flight simulator 2020, which is based on its initial teething problems now takes off much more easily. Even more exciting is the Scarlett_VR file, which indicates VR support for the Scarlet project - and this is known to be the Xbox Series X | S.

Is Microsoft bringing the console version to virtual reality?

That the Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 for Xbox Series X | S is implemented is no longer a surprise. Chief developer Jörg Neumann had promised that long ago. Although the flight simulator devours hardware resources easily, the game should not only appear for the powerful Xbox Series X, but also for the slimmed-down version Xbox Series X and also for the Xbox One X, probably later this year.

It is still unclear when exactly the console version will appear. There are also no details, Microsoft only wants to announce them when the release date is closer. After all, the console versions should score points in terms of controllability, because the Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 can be played excellently via gamepad. However, special ones are even better Control units for the flight simulator.

Despite hunger for hardware: The flight simulator should even run on the Xbox One X. Image rights: Microsoft

Despite hunger for hardware: The flight simulator should even run on the Xbox One X. Image rights: Microsoft

Console version checked, remains console VR. And that's exactly where fans can speculate, especially because Microsoft has so far resisted virtual reality technologies. The time for VR is not yet ripe, at least for Microsoft consoles, but it looks different with the classic PC: It was confirmed in the summer that VR will be submitted as a free update for the flight simulator. However, there is no publication date. We were talking about the current year, but it will end in a few weeks.

To draw the conclusion from this that VR support would automatically also come for Xbox Series X | S, would be premature. So far, there are no foreseeable implementation plans for VR support in the next-gen segment at Xbox, not at the start anyway, Xbox boss Phil Spencer ruled that out.

It is known that Microsoft, Valve and HP are working on new VR glasses, whether and when the glasses will come onto the market - and whether they will then work with the Xbox Series X | S will be compatible - is unknown.


Preview Product Rating Price
Xbox series s Xbox Series S* 279,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Spieldateien des Microsoft Flugsimulator 2020 stecken scheinbar voller Überraschungen. Nun ist es eine kleine Datei-Bezeichnung, die gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht Anlass für Spekulationen bietet. So könnte Microsoft tatsächlich zumindest mit dem Gedanken gespielt haben, seinem Flight Simulator Virtual-Reality-Unterstützung zu spendieren oder bestätigen, dass das Flugspiel für Xbox Series X | S umgesetzt wird, möglicherweise auch mit VR-Support.


Wie die Webseite Windows Central berichtet, will ein Foren-User unter anderem zwei Spieldateien gefunden haben, die zum einen mit PC_VR und zum anderen Scarlett_VR benannt sind. PC_VR deutet dabei klar auf Virtual Reality für die PC-Version des Microsoft Flugsimulator 2020 hin, der nach seinen anfänglichen Startschwierigkeiten inzwischen deutlich leichter abhebt. Noch spannender ist die Datei Scarlett_VR, die auf VR-Support für das Projekt Scarlet hinweist – und dabei handelt es sich bekannt um die Xbox Series X | S.

Bringt Microsoft die Konsolenversion in die virtuelle Realität?

Dass der Microsoft Flugsimulator 2020 für Xbox Series X | S umgesetzt wird, ist dabei nicht mehr die Überraschung. Das hatte Chef-Entwickler Jörg Neumann längst versprochen. Obwohl der Flugsimulator Hardware-Ressourcen spielend leicht verschlingt, soll das Spiel nicht nur für die leistungsstarke Xbox Series X, sondern auch für die abgespeckte Variante Xbox Series X und darüber hinaus für die Xbox One X erscheinen, voraussichtlich noch in diesem Jahr.

Wann genau die Konsolenversion erscheint, ist bislang unklar. Auch Details gibt es nicht, diese will Microsoft erst bekannt geben, wenn man dem Release-Datum näher gerückt ist. Immerhin: Bezüglich der Steuerbarkeit dürften die Konsolenversionen punkten, denn per Gamepad lässt sich der Microsoft Flugsimulator 2020 hervorragend spielen. Noch besser sind allerdings spezielle Steuergeräte für den Flight Simulator.

Trotz Hardware-Hunger: Der Flugsimulator soll sogar auf der Xbox One X laufen. Bildrechte: Microsoft
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Trotz Hardware-Hunger: Der Flugsimulator soll sogar auf der Xbox One X laufen. Bildrechte: Microsoft

Konsolenversion abgehakt, bleibt Konsolen-VR. Und genau da können Fans spekulieren, insbesondere weil Microsoft sich bislang eher gegen Technologien der Virtual-Reality sperrt. Die Zeit für VR ist zumindest für Konsolen von Microsoft noch nicht reif, beim klassischen PC sieht es da anders aus: So ist bereits im Sommer bestätigt worden, dass VR für den Flugsimulator nachgereicht wird, als kostenloses Update. Einen Veröffentlichungszeitpunkt gibt es jedoch nicht. Im Gespräch war das laufende Jahr, das endet allerdings in wenigen Wochen.

Daraus den Schluss zu ziehen, VR-Support käme automatisch auch für Xbox Series X | S, wäre verfrüht. Bislang gibt es keine absehbaren Umsetzungspläne für VR-Support im Next-Gen-Segment bei Xbox, zum Start sowieso nicht, das schloss Xbox-Chef Phil Spencer aus.

Zwar ist bekannt, dass Microsoft, Valve und HP an einer neuen VR-Brille arbeiten, ob und wann die Brille auf den Markt kommt – und ob sie dann mit der Xbox Series X | S kompatibel sein wird – ist unbekannt.

Auch interessant:
Crowdfunding: Dungeon-Abenteuer für die Hosentasche

Letzte Aktualisierung am 25.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API