Installing the Microsoft flight simulator is anything but a breeze. If you have made it into the game somehow or at some point, despite hanging downloads or frozen loading bar, the next surprise comes: the controls are anything but child's play. Fortunately, because it is a pure simulation game in which controlling the planes is one of the intended challenges. Precise control devices are a must for take-offs, landings or daring maneuvers to succeed. We'll tell you which controllers and joysticks are best for the Microsoft flight simulator.


Do you have that annoying installation can only get over with and Freezing loading bar in the Microsoft flight simulator survived, you can finally take a seat on the pilot's chair. And then of course it depends on the right peripheral devices.

Microsoft flight simulator: the best controller

Have you ever seen a pilot using the mouse and keyboard to control his Boing? No? I agree! If the professionals forego this method, ambitious hobby pilots should do the same and at least use a gamepad, because the Microsoft flight simulator can be controlled very solidly with it. If you are looking for a little more authenticity, you should think about buying a flight stick or, even better, a yoke system. The latter in particular significantly enhances the flight experience with Flight Simulator: Then the airy trip feels almost as nice as real flying.

If you want to control the Microsoft flight simulator with a controller, you can't go wrong. The machines can be steered directly and precisely, even complex flight maneuvers are possible. In addition, the gamepad is one of the cheapest options for taking off from the flight simulator. The original controller from Microsoft is particularly suitable - and this is no surprise. The "bone" works great and can be found in almost every household. With all the abuse and frustration, one thing is also great: The Microsoft flight simulator also supports the Adaptive Controller!

The Microsoft flight simulator is also about keeping an eye on all the instruments in the cockpit at all times. Image rights: Microsoft

The Microsoft flight simulator is also about keeping an eye on all the instruments in the cockpit at all times. Image rights: Microsoft

In any case, you are spoiled for choice when it comes to the new version of the Flight Simulator, because Microsoft explains that almost 30 control units are particularly suitable - from different, well-known manufacturers. On the official website you can always read which controllers, joysticks and yoke systems are particularly recommended by Microsoft. Nevertheless, the Redmond-based company makes it clear: Most control units work.

Here are the controllers that Microsoft particularly emphasizes and thus gives them a high level of suitability:

  • Honeycomb Aeronautical ALPHA FLIGHT CONTROLS - YOKE AND SWITCH PANEL
  • Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick
  • Logitech Flight Rudder Pedals
  • Logitech Flight Throttle Quadrant
  • Logitech Flight Yoke System
  • Logitech X52
  • Logitech X52 Pro
  • Logitech X56 HOTAS
  • Thrustmaster TCA Side Stick Airbus Edition
  • Thrustmaster F / A-18 grip
  • Thrustmaster HOTAS WARTHOG (stick + throttle)
  • Thrustmaster MFD Cougar
  • Thrustmaster Thrustmaster Pendular Rudder
  • Thrustmaster T. Flight Stick X
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS (stick only)
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS Hotas (stick + throttle)
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS Flight Pack (stick + throttle + rudder)
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight HOTAS 4
  • Thrustmaster T. Flight HOTAS One
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight HOTAS X
  • Thrustmaster T-Flight Rudder Pedals
  • Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle
  • Virtual Fly Ruddo +
  • Virtual Fly TQ3 +
  • Virtual Fly TQ6 +
  • Virtual Fly V3rnio TPM
  • Virtual Fly Yoko +
  • Microsoft Xbox controller
  • Microsoft Xbox Adaptive Controller

If you call one of the listed control units your own, you are well equipped for the first flight. If you want, you can still take off with your mouse and keyboard, but you will have real fun when you use the best controllers for the Microsoft flight simulator. Whether a flight stick or a yoke system is actually the better choice in the end also depends on the aircraft models you prefer to fly with. Those who prefer to travel with small, agile machines will find their fulfillment in a flight stick - perhaps enhanced with optional pedals. On the other hand, those who prefer to climb into the gigantic line machines are better off with a yoke system.

Microsoft flight simulator: the best yoke system

The selection of yoke systems is small, and the devices are not always available. For a large aircraft, however, there is hardly a more authentic control unit in the Microsoft flight simulator. The Logitech G Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System is undoubtedly one of the best on the market. With the control horn and the separate throttle controls, you get a real feeling of flight in front of your home screen - not least because the Microsoft flight simulator is visually more impressive than ever before.

The three thrust levers can be adjusted and programmed individually. Overall, there are over 25 buttons and switch positions on the control unit, which can give the amateur pilot a small impression of how complex it must be to fly an airplane, even at home. Drivers and software provide the necessary programming options so that the “feeling” can be individually adapted. And to be able to securely attach the yoke system to the desk or in the cockpit, there is a corresponding bracket. A flight throttle quadrant is included in every flight yoke system, and additional throttle quadrants are available separately for precise control of multi-engine aircraft - so there are a few more options for setting up the domestic cockpit according to your wishes.

The control with a flight stick is a little less complex. It then feels less like jumbo and more like jet planes. Particularly cool, but priced in the high-end segment, is the Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog as the official replica of the joystick, thrust lever and control panel of the US Air Force aircraft “A-10”. For around 400 euros you get a stick made of metal, 19 action buttons and an eight-way switch on the tip of the stick. If you do not buy the flight stick separately, but with the throttle control, you can use the dual thrust lever system for your purposes and accelerate the plane with ease. Fans will also find additional buttons and levers on the throttle. On the other hand, the “HEART Hall Effect AccuRate” technology, which enables particularly precise control, should be particularly impressive.

If you don't want to dig deep into your pocket, you can also buy cheaper controllers for the Microsoft flight simulator, including several medium-priced models from Thrustmaster, but also from Logitech. Regardless of which control device you ultimately choose: You have to practice with the most precise controller, or with it. Because even the smallest steering movements are passed on in the high-priced models, you have to be extremely careful not to maneuver your plane into a stall. A commercially available gamepad shows significantly more errors, but the flight feeling is only half as good. The fact is: Anyone who wants to tease out the optimum flight feeling from the Microsoft flight simulator cannot avoid a special controller.

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die Installation des Microsoft Flugsimulators ist alles andere als ein Kinderspiel. Hat man es dann, trotz hängender Downloads oder eingefrorener Ladebalken, irgendwie oder irgendwann ins Spiel geschafft, kommt die nächste Überraschung: Auch die Steuerung ist alles andere als ein Kinderspiel. Zum Glück, denn es handelt sich um ein reines Simulationsspiel, bei dem das Steuern der Flugzeuge eine der gewollten Herausforderungen ist. Damit Starts, Landungen oder waghalsige Manöver gelingen, sind präzise Steuergeräte Pflicht. Wir verraten euch, welche Controller und Joysticks sind für den Microsoft Flugsimulator am besten eignen.


Hat man die nervige Installation erst hinter sich bringen können und einfrierende Ladebalken beim Microsoft Flugsimulator überstanden, kann man endlich Platz nehmen auf dem Pilotensessel. Und dann kommt es natürlich auf die richtige Peripheriegeräte an.

Microsoft Flugsimulator: Der beste Controller

Schon einmal gesehen, wie ein Pilot seine Boing per Maus und Tastatur steuert? Nein? Genau! Wenn die Profis schon auf diese Methode verzichten, sollten ambitionierte Hobby-Piloten es ihnen gleich tun und mindestens zu einem Gamepad greifen, damit lässt sich der Microsoft Flugsimulator nämlich ganz solide steuern. Wer auf etwas mehr Authentizität aus ist, sollte darüber nachdenken, sich einen Flight-Stick oder noch besser ein Yoke System anzuschaffen. Insbesondere letzteres wertet das Fluggefühl bei Flight Simulator deutlich auf: Dann fühlt sich der luftige Trip fast so schön an, wie echte Fliegerei.

Wer den Microsoft Flugsimulator per Controller steuern möchte, macht nichts falsch. Die Maschinen lassen sich direkt und präzise lenken, selbst komplexe Flugmanöver sind möglich. Zudem ist das Gamepad eine der günstigsten Variante, um beim Flight Simulator abheben zu können. Besonders geeignet ist – und das ist keine Überraschung – der Original-Controller von Microsoft. Der “Knochen” funktioniert hervorragend und ist in nahezu jedem Haushalt zu finden. Bei all dem Schimpf und Frust ist eines zudem toll: Der Microsoft Flugsimulator unterstützt auch den Adaptive Controller!

Beim Microsoft Flugsimulator geht es auch darum, alle Instrumente im Cockpit stets im Blick zu behalten. Bildrechte: Microsoft

Beim Microsoft Flugsimulator geht es auch darum, alle Instrumente im Cockpit stets im Blick zu behalten. Bildrechte: Microsoft

Ohnehin hat man bei der neuen Auflage des Flight Simulators die Qual der Wahl, denn Microsoft erläutert, dass knapp 30 Steuergeräte besonders gut geeignet sind – und zwar von verschiedenen, namhaften Herstellern. Auf der offiziellen Webseite kann man jederzeit nachlesen, welche Controller, Joysticks und Yoke-Systeme von Microsoft besonders empfohlen werden. Dennoch machen die Redmonder deutlich: Die meisten Steuergeräte funktionieren.

Hier jene Controller, die Microsoft besonders hervorhebt und ihnen somit eine hohe Eignung zuspricht:

  • Honeycomb Aeronautical ALPHA FLIGHT CONTROLS – YOKE AND SWITCH PANEL
  • Logitech Extreme 3D Pro Joystick
  • Logitech Flight Rudder Pedals
  • Logitech Flight Throttle Quadrant
  • Logitech Flight Yoke System
  • Logitech X52
  • Logitech X52 Pro
  • Logitech X56 H.O.T.A.S
  • Thrustmaster TCA Sidestick Airbus Edition
  • Thrustmaster F/A-18 Grip
  • Thrustmaster HOTAS WARTHOG (stick + throttle)
  • Thrustmaster MFD Cougar
  • Thrustmaster Thrustmaster Pendular Rudder
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight Stick X
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS (stick only)
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS Hotas (stick + throttle)
  • Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS Flight Pack (stick + throttle + rudder)
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight HOTAS 4
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight HOTAS One
  • Thrustmaster T.Flight HOTAS X
  • Thrustmaster T-Flight Rudder Pedals
  • Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle
  • Virtual Fly Ruddo+
  • Virtual Fly TQ3+
  • Virtual Fly TQ6+
  • Virtual Fly V3rnio TPM
  • Virtual Fly Yoko+
  • Microsoft Xbox Controller
  • Microsoft Xbox Adaptive Controller

Nennt ihr einen der ausgelisteten Steuergeräte euer Eigen, seid ihr gut gerüstet für den ersten Flug. Wer will, kann weiterhin mit Maus und Tastatur abheben, So richtig Spaß kommt allerdings auf, wenn ihr zu den besten Controllern für den Microsoft Flugsimulator greift. Ob am Ende tatsächlich ein Flight-Stick oder ein Yoke-System die bessere Wahl ist, hängt auch von den Flugzeugmodellen ab, mit denen ihr am liebsten fliegt. Wer eher mit kleinen, wendigen Maschinen unterwegs sein möchte, wird seine Erfüllung in einem Flight-Stick – vielleicht aufgewertet durch optionale Pedale – finden. Wer dagegen lieber in die gigantischen Linienmaschinen steigt, ist mit einem Yoke-System besser dran.

Microsoft Flugsimulator: Das beste Yoke System

Die Auswahl an Yoke-Systemen ist gering, zudem sind die Geräte nicht immer erhältlich. Für ein Großflugzeug gibt es beim Microsoft Flugsimulator allerdings kaum eine authentischeres Steuergerät. Zum Besten auf dem Markt gehört zweifellos das Logitech G Saitek Pro Flight Yoke System. Mit dem Steuerhörnchen und den separaten Schubreglern kommt richtiges Fluggefühl vor dem heimischen Bildschirm auf – nicht zuletzt, weil der Microsoft Flugsimulator optisch so eindrucksvoll ist wie niemals zuvor.

Die drei Schubhebel können individuell eingestellt und programmiert werden. Insgesamt finden sich an dem Steuergerät über 25 Tasten und Schalterpositionen, die dem Hobby-Piloten selbst zu Hause einen kleinen Eindruck davon vermitteln können, wie komplex es sein muss, ein Flugzeug zu fliegen. Treiber und Software sorgen für die notwendigen Programmieroptionen, sodass sich das “Feeling” individuell anpassen lässt. Und um das Yoke-System sicher am Schreibtisch bzw. im Cockpit befestigen zu können, ist eine entsprechende Halterung vorhanden. In jedem Flight Yoke System ist ein Flight Throttle Quadrant enthalten, und zur präzisen Steuerung von mehrmotorigen Flugzeugen sind zusätzliche Throttle Quadrants separat erhältlich – es gibt also noch einige weitere Möglichkeiten, sich das heimisch Cockpit nach seinen Wünschen einzurichten.

Etwas weniger komplex fällt die Steuerung mit einem Flight-Stick aus. Das fühlt sich dann weniger nach Jumbo, dafür mehr nach Düsenjet an.  Besonders cool, dafür preislich im High-End-Segment , ist der Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog als offizielle Replik von Joystick, Schubhebel und Steuerpanel des U.S. Air Force-Flugzeugs “A-10”. Für die rund 400 Euro bekommt man dafür einen aus Metall gefertigten Steuerknüppel, 19 Action-Buttons und ein Acht-Wege-Schalten auf der Spitze des Sticks. Wer den Flight-Stick nicht separat, sondern mitsamt des Schubreglers kauft, kann so das duale Schubhebelsystem für deine Zwecke nutzen und den Flieger kinderleicht beschleunigen. Auch am Schubregler finden Fans dann weitere Knöpfe und Hebelchen. Besonders eindrucksvoll dürfte hingegen die “H.E.A.R.T Hall Effect AccuRate”-Technologie sein, die eine besonders präzise Steuerung möglich macht.

Wer nicht ganz so tief in die Tasche greifen möchte, kann sich auch günstigere Controller für den Microsoft Flugsimulator anschaffen, darunter mehrere mittelpreisige Modelle von Thrustmaster, aber auch von Logitech. Egal für welches Steuergerät man sich am Ende entscheidet: Üben muss man selbst mit dem präzisesten Controller bzw. gerade damit. Weil selbst kleinste Lenkbewegungen bei den hochpreisigen Modellen weitergegeben werden, muss man höllisch aufpassen, damit man seinen Flieger nicht in einen Strömungsabriss manövriert. Ein handelsübliches Gamepad verzeichnet da deutlich mehr Fehler, dafür ist das Fluggefühl auch nur halb so gut. Fakt ist: Wer aus dem Microsoft Flugsimulator das optimal Fluggefühl herauskitzeln will, kommt um einen speziellen Controller nicht herum.

Letzte Aktualisierung am 5.12.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API