The Swedish media group Embracer Group wants to buy the board game publisher Asmodee: The deal for around 2,75 billion euros is expected to take place in the first half of next year. With the acquisition, Embracer is breaking new ground.

The Embracer Group plans to buy board game giant Asmodee from PAI Partners. The total for the deal is 2,75 billion euros, of which 350 million will apparently go as Asmodees shareholders in the event of a successful deal.

Transaction in months?

The transaction could be completed in the first half of the new year. The plan is to run Asmodee as an independent entrepreneur, so the operational business should not be impaired. So far, this has also been the case with other acquisitions by the Swedish media group.

Asmodee would be the first deal of its kind for the Embracer Group, which previously united video game companies under one roof. The best known include THQ Nordic and Koch Media, but also Saber Interactive and Gearbox Entertainment. Asmodee could become the ninth company under Embracer.

The French board game publisher Asmodee was founded in 1995 and is based in Paris. The company, which with its subsidiary Asmodee Germany also operates an offshoot in this country, is now one of the most popular board game companies. Asmodee is best known for licensed board games for brands such as Marvel, The Lord of the Rings and Star Wars.

The acquisition of Asmodee by the Embracer Group, of all places, can be seen as a strategically clever move: The Swedish company is thus putting its feelers into the border area between video games and board games. As a game manufacturer, Asmodee has several hybrid game concepts in its portfolio, some of them with a long-term lifespan. A prominent example is the board game The Lord of the Rings - Journey through Middle-earth by Fantasy Flight Games, which works with extensive app support. The new editions of Descent or Will of Madness are similar. These titles are not the only hybrid concepts in Asmodee's sales portfolio - there are at least optional software solutions for other games. With Board Game Arena, Asmodee also operates a range of digital board games.

Embracer CEO Lars Wingefors confirms that mutual synergies are expected. The deal could make Embracer Europe's largest games marketer.

In the meantime, Asmodee Germany has also published a corresponding announcement: It once again makes it clear that the deal has not yet been concluded. For example, a quote from Wingefors states: “I am delighted that we have made an offer to welcome Asmodee to our growing group. Asmodee would […] ”.

Asmodee CEO Stéphane Carville, who is to continue running the business unit together with the board game manufacturer's top management after the acquisition, puts it similarly cautiously: "I am excited about the prospect of the project to pursue our ambitions with Lars Wingefors and the Embracer Group".


Preview Product Rating Price
Pegasus Games 57318G - Pinball Mania (Frosted Games) Pegasus Games 57318G - Pinball Mania (Frosted Games) * 19,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der schwedische Medienkonzern Embracer Group will den Brettspielverlag Asmodee kaufen: Der Deal über rund 2,75 Milliarden Euro soll in der ersten Hälfte des kommenden Jahres über die Bühne gehen. Mit dem Zukauf betritt Embracer Neuland.

Die Embracer Group plant, den Brettspiel-Riesen Asmodee von PAI Partners zu kaufen. Die Summe für den Deal liegt bei 2,75 Milliarden Euro, davon gehen offenbar im Falle eines erfolgreichen Abschlusses 350 Millionen als Asmodees Shareholder.

Transaktion schon in Monaten?

Bereits in der ersten Hälfte des neuen Jahres könnte die Transaktion abgeschlossen werden. Geplant ist, Asmodee als eigenständiges Unternehmer laufen zu lassen, das operative Geschäft soll somit nicht beeinträchtigt werden. Das war bislang auch bei anderen Zukäufen des schwedischen Medienkonzerns der Fall.

Asmodee wäre der erste Deal seiner Art für die Embracer Group, die bislang Videospielfirmen unter ihrem Dach vereinte. Zu den bekanntesten zählen THQ Nordic und Koch Media, aber auch Saber Interactive oder Gearbox Entertainment. Asmodee könnte das inzwischen neunte Unternehmen unter Embracer werden.

Der französische Brettspielverlag Asmodee wurde 1995 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in Paris. Inzwischen gehört das Unternehmen, das mit der Tochter Asmodee Deutschland auch hierzulande einen Unternehmensableger betreibt, zu den populärsten Brettspielfirmen. Bekannt ist Asmodee insbesondere durch Lizenz-Brettspiele zu Marken wie Marvel, Der Herr der Ringe oder Star Wars.

Der Zukauf von Asmodee ausgerechnet durch die Embracer Group kann als strategisch cleverer Zug gewertet werden: Der schwedische Konzern streckt damit seine Fühler in den Grenzbereich zwischen Videospielen und Brettspielen aus. Asmodee hat als Spielehersteller mehrere hybride Spielkonzepte in seinem Portfolio, einige davon mit einer längerfristig angelegten Lebensdauer. Prominentes Beispiel ist das Brettspiel Der Herr der Ringe – Reise durch Mittelerde von Fantasy Flight Games, das mit einer ausgeprägten App-Unterstützung arbeitet. Ähnlich sind die Neuauflagen von Descent oder Willen des Wahnsinns. Diese Titel sind nicht die einzigen Hybrid-Konzepte, im Vertriebsportfolio von Asmodee – für weitere Spiele gibt es zumindest optionale Softwarelösungen. Zudem betreibt Asmodee mit Board Game Arena ein Angebot für digitale Brettspiele.

Embracer-CEO Lars Wingefors bestätigt, man erwarte wechselseitige Synergien. Embracer könnte durch den Deal zum größten europäischen Spielevermarkter werden.

Inzwischen hat auch Asmodee Deutschland eine entsprechende Mitteilung veröffentlicht: Darin wird erneut deutlich, dass der Deal noch nicht abgeschlossen ist. So heißt es etwa in einem Zitat von Wingefors: „Ich freue mich, dass wir ein Angebot gemacht haben, um Asmodee in unserer wachsenden Gruppe willkommen zu heißen. Asmodee würde […]”.

Ähnlich vorsichtig formuliert Asmodee-CEO Stéphane Carville, der die Unternehmenseinheit nach dem Zukauf zusammen mit dem Top-Management des Brettspielherstellers weiterführen soll: „Ich bin begeistert von der Aussicht auf das Projekt, unsere Ambitionen mit Lars Wingefors und der Embracer Group zu verfolgen”.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 57318G - Flippermania (Frosted Games) Pegasus Spiele 57318G - Flippermania (Frosted Games) * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 21,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 4.12.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API