A few days ago, Activision Blizzard announced the mobile game Warcraft Arclight Rumble. A tabletop looking strategy game with action elements. It will be released for both Android and iOS and should ensure exciting tower offense games on mobile phones in the future. But what sounds like a concentrated load of gaming fun seems to cause an uproar among some core gamers even before the release. We wonder: Why is Warcraft Arclight Rumble dividing the fan world?

On Wednesday, May 4th, the time had finally come. Players around the world waited spellbound in front of the Blizzard live stream for the unveiling of the new mobile game. Previously, there was speculation on social media in all directions. Many Warcraft fans would have been looking forward to a pocket-sized MMORPG. But the viewers were rewarded with something completely different, namely a mixture of tower offense, dungeons and raids. Dressed in Warcraft garb. This sounds familiar to most gamers. Tower defense games, which is apparently comparable to Blizzard's new creation of tower offense, are among the most popular games in the app shops.

Tower offense and raids instead of MMORPG

Let's take a look at what Warcraft Arclight Rumble has given us so far according to the trailer. Similar to the popular Moba League of Legends, a number of deployable miniatures await players here. Which are reminiscent of tabletop figures and belong to one of the five well-known Warcraft factions, Alliance, Horde, Blackfield, Wild Animals or Undead. Each of the 65 miniatures offers different special abilities that players can use in-game to take down their opponents. In addition, the miniatures can be leveled and equipped. The announcement stream has already revealed popular characters like Gommash Hellscream and Archmage Jaina Proudmoore. The figures are to be collected as the game progresses.

Warcraft Arclight Rumble is played according to a game principle that is reminiscent of Moba. In the campaigns, the player and his opponent send melee, ranged and flying units into battle in parallel to destroy enemy troops. To do this, both players use predetermined paths that always lead in the direction of the opposing base. Meanwhile, contested control points must be taken. You also have to collect objects and gold from treasure chests and mines. The winner of the game is the one who destroys the opponent's base or defeats their boss. All in all, a variety of different campaigns, as solo or co-op mode, PVP carnage as well as instances and dungeons, are waiting to be discovered in Warcraft Arclight Rumble.

Sounds great? This is where the gamer world splits

Streamer and World of Warcraft player Asmongold commented positively on Blizzard's new mobile game. The gamer, known for his Twitch and YouTube videos, sees Warcraft Arclight Rumble as a money printing machine and a stroke of genius. So he said in a recent stream that mobile games would almost print money. He also commented on the negative votes. The streamer thinks that for every player who says, "Oh, this is so stupid, I hate it," there might as well be other players out there who would spend $150 on the game in the first week.

“Because mobile games print money. For every one of you guys that's like 'Oh, this is so dumb, I hate this,' there's a few other people out there who are gonna spend $150 in the first week of the game."

He would even go so far as to say that Blizzard's mobile game could be hugely popular and a great game. The funny thing, he says, is that Warcraft Arclight Rumble could make more money than World of Warcraft. In fact, he's pretty sure the game will bring in more money than Diablo 3.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

“I actually do think that it could be very popular and that this could be a big game. The funny thing is this game might make more money than World of Warcraft. I'm pretty sure this game will make more money than Diablo 3."

On social media such as YouTube, Twitter and Facebook, the opinions of potential players and some long-established Warcraft fans seem to differ greatly. As a reader of the comments, it seems like there are only two camps: casual gamers and core warriors. One of the proponents and one of those who would most like to tear the game apart with harsh words. A disappointed Facebook user writes in clear words: "No fixes for an unfinished remake of Warcraft 3, but throwing away money for a mobile game. Selling out the soul of Blizzard and brand prostitution. My opinion."

Regular players want a different mobile game

Something that resonates again and again. Rather, regular players would have wished for a revision or completion of the Warcraft video game. You feel betrayed by Blizzard's new Warcraft Arclight Rumble. Some other players compare the game to other mobile fighting and strategy games such as the mobile game Clash of Clans by Finnish game developer Supercell. They underline the indiscriminate replaceability of the topic, which is hidden under the Warcraft cloak. Many commenting Warcraft fans agree on one thing: A tower defense and hero collecting game like Arclight Rumble has nothing in common with Warcraft!

"A hero collection game, is such an oversaturated genre, even with the tower defense elements [...]. Do yourself, your playerbase and your company value a favour, scrap this and make something better [...]."

At least as often, however, one reads neutral and positive posts. This is what many future players say, who think that the trailer and especially the short gameplay video from streamer Towelliee looks colorful and like varied fun. It is also emphasized again and again that it is free to play. Which would be an incentive for many to definitely test the mobile Warcraft extensively in the future.

"Looks fun and free, so I'll give it a go.".

But even regular players respond in a soothing manner and point out that you first have to try a game in order to form an honest opinion. Everything else is unfair nagging.

"According to the motto "What the farmer doesn't know, he doesn't eat"? I also consider myself a core fan. Grew up on Warcraft 1 and 2. In the army then Warcraft 3 wanted and last of course WoW. I imagined something else under a mobile offshoot, but I'm happy to play it and I'm curious how it is. To judge something before you've played it is bullshit!!".

Ultimately, what unites most commentators is the joy, or at least the acknowledgment, that Warcraft is reflected in the artwork and factions. Warcraft Arclight Rumble won't be a pocket Warcraft, but a tower offense game with your favorite heroes can be entertaining, even if it's mainstream. It is not without reason that there is a great demand for this genre in the app stores. Maybe one or the other inexperienced player gets interested in the original Warcraft and thus secures its future together with all other fans of the universe. A user writes: “this eternal whining “Blizzard is doing this wrong, Blizzard is doing that wrong” calm down and play something else. the largest group of gamers are still casual gamers and therefore also the largest target group.”.

The question of why Arclight Rumble is splitting the gamer community seems clear: some regular players were expecting a familiar Warcraft video game on the go, while others were hoping for an MMORPG like World of Warcraft. In addition, the desire for exclusivity shows up again and again in the comments, sometimes between the lines, often written out in big letters: We Warcraft players against the mainstream.

The question that arises: can a video game only exist through a die-hard fan base? One that calls disappointed for a Warcraft 4 and therefore rejects a mobile game. A game that could be attractive to any player, even those who haven't played Blizzard games before? We think: think outside the box more often and have fun.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Vor wenigen Tagen kündigte Activision Blizzard das Mobilspiel Warcraft Arclight Rumble an. Ein nach Tabletop aussehendes Strategiespiel mit Actionelementen. Erscheinen wird es sowohl für Android als auch iOS und soll in Zukunft für spannende Tower-Offense-Partien am Handy sorgen. Doch was hier nach einer geballten Ladung Zockerspaß klingt, scheint vornehmlich bei einigen Core-Gamern bereits vor der Veröffentlichung für Aufruhr zu sorgen. Wir fragen uns: Warum spaltet Warcraft Arclight Rumble die Fanwelt?

Am Mittwoch den 4. Mai war es endlich soweit. Gebannt warteten weltweit Spieler vor dem Blizzard-Livestream auf die Enthüllung des neuen Mobilegames. Zuvor gab es in den sozialen Medien Spekulationen in jegliche Richtung. Viele Warcraft-Fans hätten sich auf ein MMORPG im Taschenformat gefreut. Doch belohnt wurden die Zuschauer mit etwas ganz anderem, nämlich einer Mischung aus Tower-Offense, Dungeons und Raids. Eingekleidet im Warcraft Gewand. Das klingt für die meisten Gamer wohlbekannt. So gehören Tower-Defense-Games, was augenscheinlich mit Blizzards Neuschöpfung der Tower-Offense vergleichbar ist, zu den beliebtesten Spielen in den App-Shops.

Tower-Offense und Raids statt MMORPG

Werfen wir einen Blick auf das, was uns Warcraft Arclight Rumble bisher laut Trailer bietet. Ähnlich wie bei dem beliebten Moba League of Legends warten hier eine Reihe von einsetzbaren Miniaturen auf die Spieler. Die an Tabletop-Figuren erinnern und einer der fünf bekannten Warcraft-Fraktionen, Allianz, Horde, Schwarzfeld, Wildtiere oder Untote, angehören. Jede der 65 Miniaturen bietet andere spezielle Fähigkeiten, die im Spiel von den Spielern eingesetzt werden können, um dem Gegner den Garaus zu machen. Darüberhinaus können die Miniaturen geleveled und ausgerüstet werden. Im Ankündigungs-Stream war bereits zu sehen, dass beliebte Charaktere wie Gommasch Höllschrei und Erzmagierin Jaina Prachtmeer mit von der Partie sind. Gesammelt werden sollen die Figuren im Spielverlauf.

Gespielt wird Warcraft Arclight Rumble nach einem im Ansatz an Mobas erinnerndem Spielprinzip. In den Kampagnen schicken der Spieler und sein Gegner parallel Nah-, Fernkampf- und Flug-Einheiten in den Kampf, um gegnerische Truppen zu zerstören. Dazu nutzen beide Spieler vorgegebene Wege, die immer in Richtung der gegnerischen Basis führen. Währenddessen müssen umkämpfte Kontrollpunkte eingenommen werden. Daneben gilt es Gegenstände sowie Gold aus Schatztruhen und Minen zu sammeln. Als Sieger der Partie geht derjenige hervor, der die Basis des Gegners zerstört oder dessen Boss vernichtet. Insgesamt warten eine Vielzahl verschiedener Kampagnen, als Solo- oder Koop-Modus, PVP-Gemätzel sowie Instanzen und Dungeons, bei Warcraft Arclight Rumble darauf entdeckt zu werden.

Klingt toll? Hier spaltet sich die Gamerwelt

So äußerte sich der Streamer und World of Warcraft Spieler Asmongold positiv zu Blizzards neuem Mobilspiel. Der durch seine Twitch- und Youtube-Videos bekannte Gamer sieht Warcraft Arclight Rumble geradezu als Gelddruckmaschine und Geniestreich. So sagte er in einem aktuellen Stream, dass Handyspiele geradezu Geld drucken würden. Außerdem äußerte er sich zu den negativen Stimmen. Der Streamer denke, dass für jeden Spieler, der sagt: „Oh, das ist so blöd, ich hasse es“, es genau so gut andere Spieler da draußen gäbe, die in der ersten Woche 150 Dollar für das Spiel ausgeben würden.

“Because mobile games print money. For every one of you guys that’s like ‘Oh, this is so dumb, I hate this,’ there’s a few other people out there who are gonna spend $150 in the first week of the game.”

Er ginge sogar so weit, dass er glaube, dass sich Blizzards Mobil-Spiel an großer Beliebtheit erfreuen und ein tolles Spiel werden könnte. Das Lustige daran sei seiner Meinung nach, dass Warcraft Arclight Rumble mehr Geld einbringen könnte als World of Warcraft. Er sei sich sogar ziemlich sicher, dass das Spiel mehr Geld einbringen werde als Diablo 3.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

“I actually do think that it could be very popular and that this could be a big game. The funny thing is this game might make more money than World of Warcraft. I’m pretty sure this game will make more money than Diablo 3.”

Auf den sozialen Medien wie Youtube, Twitter und Facebook gehen die Meinungen der potentiellen Spieler und einiger alteingesessenen Warcraft-Fans scheinbar stark auseinander. Als Leser der Kommentare erscheint es, als gäbe dort nur zwei Lager: Casual-Gamer und Core-Warcrafter. Eines der Befürworter und eines derjenigen, die das Spiel am liebsten mit scharfen Worten zerfleischen würden. So schreibt ein Facebook User enttäuscht und in deutlichen Worten: „Keine Fixes für ein unfertiges Remake von Warcraft 3, aber Geld rauswerfen für ein Mobile-Game. Ausverkauf der Seele Blizzards und Prostitution der Marke. Meine Meinung.“

Stammspieler wünschen sich anderes Mobile-Game

Etwas, das immer wieder durchklingt. Stammspieler hätten sich vielmehr eine Überarbeitung oder Fertigstellung des Videospiels Warcraft gewünscht. Sie fühlen sich von Blizzards neuem Warcraft Arclight Rumble geradezu verraten. Einige andere Spieler vergleichen das Game mit anderen mobilen Kampf- und Strategiespielen wie dem Mobil-Spiel Clash of Clans des finnischen Spielentwicklers Supercell. Dabei unterstreichen sie die wahllose Ersetzbarkeit des Themas, die sich unter dem Warcraft-Mantel verbirgt. In einem sind sich viele kommentierende Warcraft-Fans einig: Ein Tower-Defense und Heldensammelspiel wie Arclight Rumble habe nichts mit Warcraft gemeinsam!

„A hero collection game, is such an oversaturated genre, even with the tower defense elements […]. Do yourself, your playerbase and your company value a favour, scrap this and make something better […].“

Mindestens genau so häufig liest man jedoch auch neutrale und positive Beiträge. So äußern sich viele zukünftige Spieler, die finden, dass der Trailer und insbesondere das kurze Gameplay Video von dem Streamer Towelliee bunt und nach abwechslungsreichem Spaß aussieht. Betont wird auch immer wieder, dass es free to play sei. Was für viele ein Anreiz wäre, das mobile Warcraft zukünftig auf jeden Fall ausgiebig zu testen.

„Looks fun and free, so I’ll give it a go.”.

Doch auch von Stammspielern wird beschwichtigend reagiert und daraufhingewiesen, dass man ein Spiel erst ausprobieren müsse, um sich eine ehrliche Meinung zu bilden. Alles andere sei unfaires rumnörgeln.

“Ganz nach dem Motto „Was der Bauer net kennt frisst er nicht“? Ich bezeichne mich auch als Core-Fan. Bin mit Warcraft 1 und 2 aufgewachsen. Bei der Bundeswehr dann Warcraft 3 gesuchtet und zuletzt natürlich WoW. Ich habe mir zwar unter nem Mobile Ableger auch was anderes vorgestellt freue mich dennoch es zu spielen und bin gespannt wie es ist. Etwas zu verurteilen bevor man es gespielt hat ist Schwachsinn!!“.

Was dann letztendlich die meisten Kommentatoren eint, ist die Freude darüber, oder zumindest die Anerkennung, dass sich Warcraft im Artwork und in den Fraktionen widerspiegelt. Warcraft Arclight Rumble wird kein Warcraft für die Hosentasche, doch ein Tower-Offense-Game, mit den Lieblingshelden, kann kurzweiligen Spaß bringen, auch wenn es Mainstream ist. Nicht ohne Grund herrscht besonders für dieses Genre in den App-Stores eine große Nachfrage. Eventuell bekommt somit der ein oder andere unerfahrene Spieler Lust auf das ursprüngliche Warcraft und sichert somit, gemeinsam mit allen anderen Fans des Universums, dessen Zukunft. Ein User schreibt dazu: “dieses ewige Rumgeheule “Blizzard macht dies falsch, Blizzard macht jenes falsch” beruhigt euch und spielt was anderes. die größte gruppe der Gamer stellen immer noch die Casual-Gamer dar und somit auch die größte Zielgruppe.”.

Die Frage Warum Arclight Rumble die Gamer-Community spaltet scheint damit klar zu sein: Es gab bei einigen Stammspielern die Erwartung an ein gewohntes Warcraft-Videospiel für unterwegs, andere hofften auf ein MMORPG wie World of Warcraft. Zudem zeigt sich in den Kommentaren immer wieder der Wunsch nach Exklusivität, manchmal zwischen den Zeilen, oft auch ausgeschrieben steht dort in großen Lettern: Wir Warcraft-Spieler gegen den Mainstream.

Die Frage, die sich damit stellt: kann ein Videospiel nur durch eine eingefleischte Fanbase bestehen? Eine, die enttäuscht nach einem Warcraft 4 ruft und deshalb ein Mobil-Spiel ablehnt. Ein Game, dass für jeden Spieler, auch denjenigen, der bisher keine Blizzard-Spiele zockte, attraktiv erscheinen könnte? Wir finden: Schaut doch mal öfter über den Tellerrand und habt Spaß.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 26.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API