In the past, gaming laptops were - with a few exceptions - only rarely built for “gaming to go”. Acer wants to make mobile gaming a little more socially acceptable again with the new edition of the Predator Triton 300 SE. The electronics manufacturer has literally removed the biggest hurdle: The Predator Triton 300 SE has a 14-inch display, which enables compact dimensions. However, players do not automatically have to forego performance. The new gaming notebook will be available from March at a price of around 1.400 euros.


The compact gaming notebook is one of several models that Acer will bring to market in the spring: In addition to the Predator Triton 300 SE, new versions of the Predator Helios 300 and Nitro 5 will appear - each with different specifications and different areas of application.

Predator Triton 300 SE: 14 inches with i7 and RTX 3060

Acer released three completely different gaming laptops in March and April. However, each of them is equipped with new Intel Core H35 Special Edition processors of the 11th generation and NVIDIA GeForce RTX graphics cards of the 30 series:

  • First 14 inch gaming notebook from Acer: Predator Triton 300 SE makes gaming even more mobile with a weight of only 1,7 kg (1)
  • Update of the Predator Helios 300 up to NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 ensures rapid image changes on the 240 Hz display
  • The Nitro 5 offers gaming performance on either 39,6 cm (15,6 ") or 43,9 cm (17,3") with the new 35th generation Intel Core (TM) H11 processors

The Predator Triton 300 SE should be particularly exciting. With this gaming laptop, gaming should actually become more mobile again. Instead of monster dimensions, a mega display and a giant keyboard, Acer relies on performance and a compact design. According to the manufacturer, the gamer's notebook weighs around 1,7 kilograms. The 14 inch screen can be accommodated in a housing with a height of 17,9 mm.

An Intel Core i7 processor of the 11th generation of the H35 series in a special edition with up to 5 GHz and an NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 in Max-Q design provide the necessary performance. The gaming notebook is also visually impressive at first glance. Instead of ostentation and pomp, an inconspicuous aluminum housing ensures simple elegance.

The components are kept cool by a dual cooling system with Predator AeroBlade fans of the fifth generation. "The blade tips of the fan blades maximize the air intake, while the innovative ventilation minimizes turbulence and directs the airflow to critical components," explains Acer. The cooling system is said to provide up to ten percent more performance than previous generations. The Vortex Flow developed by Acer rounds off the cooling unit: heat pipes, exhaust air openings and strategically placed fans create an aerodynamic flow inside the case and thus optimize the cooling of the CPU, GPU and other important components such as the voltage converters.

The Predator Triton 300 SE is the first gaming notebook from Acer that is equipped with a compact 35,56 cm full HD display and at the same time scores with a refresh rate of 144 Hz. Acer states that the battery lasts around ten hours. The other specifications:

  • Intel KillerTM Wi-Fi 6 AX1650
  • thunderbolt 4,
  • USB 3.2 Gen 2
  • HDMI
  • Backlit 3-zone RGB keyboard
  • DTS: X Ultra Audio

In order to give the players the opportunity to control the fan speed in real time, the Triton 300 SE also has the “PredatorSense” software and a turbo button that can be used to select different modes, depending on the current application for the gaming notebook .

Smooth gameplay on the new Predator Helios 300

The Predator Helios 300 is another completely redesigned model that should provide a smooth gaming experience with an NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 and up to 32 GB DDR41 memory. The Predator Helios 300 is larger than Acer's compact gaming laptop: the 39,6 cm (15,6 inch) 240 Hz IPS3 screen has a full HD resolution. Here, too, there is DTS: X Ultra Audio and 3D simulating surround sound as well as Aeroblade 3D fans. Thanks to CoolBoost technology, the latter are automatically adjusted so that critical areas are optimally cooled.

Acer reports on the availability of all laptops:

    • The Predator Triton 300 SE (PT314-51s) is expected to be available from March at recommended retail prices from 1.399 euros.
    • The Predator Helios 300 (PH315-53) is expected to be available from March at recommended retail prices from 1.499 euros.
    • The Nitro 5 (AN515-56) is expected to be available from April at recommended retail prices from 999 euros.
    • The Nitro 5 (AN517-53) is expected to be available from April at recommended retail prices from 1.099 euros.

New Nitro 5 as an all-rounder

The Nitro 5 has an 35th generation Intel Core H11 processor as well as an NVIDIA GeForce GTX and up to 32 GB DDR4 memory. Two slots for M.2 PCIe or SATA SSDs provide storage space for the game library. The display of the gaming notebook Nitro 5 also wants to score with a refresh rate of 144 Hz and 3 ms4 response time.

The thermal management of the Nitro 5 takes care of the cooling inside the notebook. In addition, the Acer CoolBoost technology increases the fan speed by ten percent and the CPU / GPU cooling by nine percent compared to the auto mode, according to Acer.

For individual needs in the game or work flow, the integrated NitroSense app offers the possibility to adjust the system temperature, fan speeds and other settings according to the respective situation. The charging connection has been relocated to the rear of the housing for convenient use. At the same time, USB Type-C with Thunderbolt 4 support and Intel Wi-Fi 6 (Gig +) ensure connectivity.


Preview Product Rating Price
Acer Gaming Notebook Predator Helios 700 (PH717-72-98YP), 17,3 ', ... Acer Gaming Notebook Predator Helios 700 (PH717-72-98YP), 17,3 ", ... * Currently no reviews

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Gaming-Laptops waren in der Vergangenheit – bis auf wenige Ausnahmen – nur noch selten gebaut für “Gaming to go”. Acer will das mobile Zocken mit der Neuauflage des Predator Triton 300 SE wieder etwas salonfähiger machen. Die größte Hürde hat der Elektronikhersteller wortwörtlich entfernt: Das Predator Triton 300 SE verfügt über einen 14-Zoll-Display, was kompakte Maße ermöglicht. Automatisch auf Leistung verzichten müssen Spieler aber nicht. Ab März soll das neue Gaming-Notebook zum Preis von etwa 1.400 Euro erhältlich sein.


Das kompakte Gaming-Notebook ist eines von mehreren Modellen, die Acer im Frühjahr auf den Markt bringen wird: Neben dem Predator Triton 300 SE erscheinen Neuauflage des Predator Helios 300 sowie Nitro 5 – jeweils mit unterschiedlichen Spezifikationen und verschieden ausgerichteten Einsatzbereichen.

Predator Triton 300 SE: 14 Zoll mit i7 und RTX 3060

Drei völlig unterschiedliche Gaming-Laptops veröffentlicht Acer im März und April. Jedes davon ist allerdings mit neuen Intel Core H35-Special-Edition-Prozessoren der 11. Generation und NVIDIA GeForce RTX Grafikkarten der 30-Serie ausgestattet:

  • Erstes 14 Zoll Gaming-Notebook von Acer: Predator Triton 300 SE macht Gaming mit nur 1,7 kg Gewicht(1) noch mobiler
  • Update des Predator Helios 300 auf bis zu NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 sorgt für rasante Bildwechsel auf dem 240 Hz-Display
  • Das Nitro 5 bietet Gaming-Performance auf wahlweise 39,6 cm (15,6 Zoll) oder 43,9 cm (17,3 Zoll) mit neuen Intel Core(TM) H35-Prozessoren der 11. Generation

Spannend dürfte dabei vor allem das Predator Triton 300 SE sein. Mit diesem Gaming-Laptop soll Zocken tatsächlich wieder mobiler werden. Statt Monster-Maßen, Mega-Display und Riesen-Tastatur setzt Acer auf Leistung und ein kompaktes Design. Nach Herstellerangaben bringt das Zocker-Notebook rund 1,7 Kilogramm auf die Waage. Der 14 Zoll-Bildschirm findet dabei Platz in einem Gehäuse mit einer Bauhöhe von  17,9 mm.

Für die nötige Leistung sorgen ein Intel Core i7 Prozessor der 11. Generation der H35-Serie in einer Special Edition mit bis zu 5 GHz sowie eine NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 im Max-Q Design. Auch optisch überzeugt das Gaming-Notebook auf den ersten Blick. Statt Protz und Prunk sorgt ein unauffälliges Aluminiumgehäuse für schlichte Eleganz.

Die Komponenten werden dabei von einem dualen Kühlsystem mit Predator AeroBlade-Lüftern der fünften Generation kühl gehalten. “Die Flügelspitzen der Lüfterblätter maximieren den Lufteinlass, während die innovative Belüftung Turbulenzen minimiert und den Luftstrom gezielt zu kritischen Komponenten umleitet”, erklärt Acer dazu. Das Kühlsystem soll so bis zu zehn Prozent mehr Leistung als vorherige Generationen bringen. Der von Acer entwickelte Vortex Flow rundet die Kühleinheit ab: Heatpipes, Abluftöffnungen und strategisch platzierte Lüfter erzeugen eine aerodynamische Strömung im Inneren des Gehäuses und optimieren so die Kühlung von CPU, GPU und anderen wichtigen Komponenten wie zum Beispiel den Spannungswandlern.

Das Predator Triton 300 SE ist das erste Gaming-Notebook von Acer, das mit einem kompakten 35,56 cm großen Full HD-Display ausgestattet ist und gleichzeitig mit einer Bildwiederholrate von 144 Hz punkten kann. Die Akkuleistung gibt Acer mit rund zehn Stunden an. Die übrigen Spezifikationen:

  • Intel KillerTM Wi-Fi 6 AX1650
  • Thunderbolt 4,
  • USB 3.2 Gen 2
  • HDMI
  • Hintergrundbeleuchtete 3-Zonen-RGB-Tastatur
  • DTS:X Ultra-Audio

Um den Spielern die Möglichkeit zu geben die Lüftergeschwindigkeit in Echtzeit zu steuern, verfügt das Triton 300 SE zudem über die “PredatorSense”-Software und einer Turbo-Taste, über die unterschiedliche Modi ausgewählt werden können, je nach aktuellem Einsatzbereich für das Gaming-Notebook.

Flüssiges Gameplay auf dem neuen Predator Helios 300

Das Predator Helios 300 ist ein weiteres runderneuertes Modell, das mit einer NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 und bis zu 32 GB DDR41-Speicher für ein flüssiger Spielerlebnis sorgen soll. Das Predator Helios 300 ist größer als Acers Kompakt-Gaming-Laptop: Der 39,6 cm (15,6 Zoll) große 240 Hz-IPS3-Bildschirm löst in Full-HD auf. Auch hier gibt es DTS:X Ultra Audio und 3D simulierenden Surround Sound sowie  Aeroblade 3D-Lüfter. Letztere werden dank CoolBoost-Technologie automatisch so angepasst, dass kritische Bereiche optimal gekühlt werden.

Zu den Verfügbarkeiten aller Laptops teilt Acer mit:

    • Das Predator Triton 300 SE (PT314-51s) ist voraussichtlich ab März zu unverbindlich empfohlenen Endkundenpreisen ab 1.399 Euro verfügbar.
    • Das Predator Helios 300 (PH315-53) ist voraussichtlich ab März zu unverbindlich empfohlenen Endkundenpreisen ab 1.499 Euro verfügbar.
    • Das Nitro 5 (AN515-56) ist voraussichtlich ab April zu unverbindlich empfohlenen Endkundenpreisen ab 999 Euro verfügbar.
    • Das Nitro 5 (AN517-53) ist voraussichtlich ab April zu unverbindlich empfohlenen Endkundenpreisen ab 1.099 Euro verfügbar.

Neues Nitro 5 als Allrounder

Das Nitro 5 verfügt über einen Intel Core H35-Prozessoren der 11. Generation sowie einer NVIDIA GeForce GTX und bis zu 32 GB DDR4-Arbeitsspeicher. Zwei Steckplätze für M.2 PCIe oder SATA SSDs bieten Speicherplatz für die Spielbibliothek. Auch das Display des Gaming-Notebook Nitro 5 will mit  einer Bildwiederholrate von 144 Hz und 3 ms4 Reaktionszeit punkten.

Das Wärmemanagement des Nitro 5 sorgt für die Kühlung im Inneren des Notebooks. Zusätzlich erhöht die Acer CoolBoost-Technologie durch zwei Lüfter sowie vier Abluftöffnungen die Lüftergeschwindigkeit laut Acer um zehn Prozent und die CPU/GPU-Kühlung um neun Prozent im Vergleich zum Auto-Modus.

Für individuelle Bedürfnisse im Spiel- oder Arbeitsflow bietet die integrierte NitroSense-App die Möglichkeit, die Systemtemperatur, Lüftergeschwindigkeiten und weitere Einstellungen entsprechend der jeweiligen Situation anzupassen. Für eine komfortable Nutzung wurde der Ladeanschluss an die Gehäuserückseite verlegt. Gleichzeitig sorgen USB Type-C mit Thunderbolt 4-Unterstützung und Intel Wi-Fi 6 (Gig+) für die Konnektivität.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Acer Gaming Notebook Predator Helios 700 (PH717-72-98YP), 17,3',... Acer Gaming Notebook Predator Helios 700 (PH717-72-98YP), 17,3",... * Aktuell keine Bewertungen

Letzte Aktualisierung am 29.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API