Game of the Year is a board game that involves designing a video game. With this idea, the Bonn publisher Nice Game Publishing wants to score points with game fans as part of a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter. Wanting to playfully combine two worlds is ambitious and interesting at the same time. In addition, one seems to want to bring the nostalgic charm of some classic games to the home gaming table. The financing campaign will start at the end of June. 


The indie publisher Nice Game Publishing would like to bring a board game onto the market that relies on the video game industry as the setting. The simple idea: up to four players should design the “Game of the Year”, the best video game of the year. You can also choose to play the title in solo mode. The Bonn publisher wants to finance the project via Kickstarter. It starts with the kickstarter campaign for Game of the Year on June 28th.

Board gamers are turning into video game developers

At Game of the Year, board players slip into the roles of game developers to create a video game from various elements. About the basic idea. This should be implemented on the gaming table by combining different game factors, some genre or features, in order to ultimately create a complete work: the game of the year. The board game concept was developed together with experts who are familiar with the history of video games - this is how it should be possible to capture the special charm of some gaming titles.

An intermediate goal: Build a hype. This means that Game of the Year is thematically close to the games industry, whose players are trying to do just that again and again: to make a video game so popular that the marketing campaign is practically a sure-fire success. It is not uncommon for this to succeed, but success in response to a hype is not always sustainable. With Cyberpunk 2077, CD Projekt Red recently demonstrated how fragile fans' enthusiasm for a game can be. Sometimes a positive hype turns into a negative one. 

Players gradually assemble their "video game of the year" from various elements. Image: Nice Game

Players gradually put together their “video game of the year” from various elements. Image: Nice Game

At Game of the Year, players should avoid this and do everything right in solo games or cooperative or competitive processes in order to ultimately create a masterpiece. According to the authors, every round of the game should be unique, this is guaranteed by a wide range of different game elements that make up the best game of the year. 

Last but not least, this board game lives from the nostalgia and the rise of the games industry. This is revealed by the CEO of Nice Publishing, Simon Schwanhäußer: "As children of the 80s and 90s, there is a lot of nostalgia for us." In addition, it is a “fresh topic” - for the scene as a whole, but also for Nice Publishing itself.

"Our last games had post-apocalypse, classic fantasy with orcs and elves, as well as vampires as a theme - terrible monsters, fantasy defense, vampires: Heritage - this time we just wanted something completely different," explains the publisher about the game idea of ​​Game of the Year. “And yet we're kind of geeks. And that's what comes out of it. " But there is more, and that on the meta level. Schwanhäußer: “We also love the creative and the meta-character of the whole thing. So the fact that in Game of the Year we can make games about orcs, elves and vampires again. "

Game of the Year: In development for two years

Developing a board game into a video game takes time - but not nearly as long as developing a video game. "The game has been in development for about two years and has changed a lot", the Nice Publishing CEO tells us. “We started with the topic and gradually developed mechanisms and systems that can carry the thematic feel that we want to convey. We also looked at which comparable games exist in the video game sector - there are also a few - and looked at what works and what doesn't. " 

According to Nice Publishing, the board game game of the year is primarily aimed at fans who also like to play video games - gaming board players or video gamers who want to venture into the analog world of gaming. "People who get big eyes when they see these iconic game covers of the 90s," explains Simon Schwanhäußer about the target group. "And those who like to be creative themselves and have fun thinking up silly game ideas."

However, the publisher also says: "The game is primarily a thematic game, if you are a pure Eurogamer who doesn't want any chance or creative elements in your games, then Game of the Year might not be the right thing."   

Being a video gamer, or at least liking video games, is a good requirement to have fun with Game of the Year. The team behind Nice Game also plays digitally. “Christian, our art director is more of a console player,” says Simon Schwanhäußer. "The last thing he told me was how he annoyed Last of Us 2."

Aliens, Vikings, Dinos and Co: There is a lot in the board game that is also familiar from the digital world. Image: Nice Game

Aliens, Vikings, Dinos and Co: There is a lot in the board game that is also familiar from the digital world. Image: Nice Game

Simon himself, the tough, strong-willed boss, has made the jump: "I used to have consoles too, but from Playstation 4 or so I got out and actually only play on the PC." In the publisher's internal Slack chat, the latest games that someone has played are regularly briefly reviewed.

“Because we are all very busy, these are often games that can be played in small bites, such as roguelite card games like Slay The Spire or Monster Train. Or just games that are “in conversation” at the moment, such as Disco Elyisum or - inevitably - Cyberpunk 2077. " In front of CD Projekt Red's action role-playing game, Schwanhäußer throws himself protectively: "Which, by the way - attention, controversial opinion - I enjoyed playing despite its quirks and which I find the criticism of, at least as a PC player, immensely exaggerated."

Simon Schwanhäußer himself also plays analogue: "For me, board games are incredibly important as a balance and as an“ unplugged ”experience, especially in this increasingly digital age." Even in solo games, it is different to perceive dice and cards haptically. "

And to sit together with friends really physically close and to exchange ideas over the table is simply a completely different experience than playing over the net on the computer ”. Although, of course, both have their raison d'etre, said the publisher.

“From the game maker's point of view, I think board games also have other exciting properties, especially in comparison to video games: On the one hand, there is the creative limitation due to the material: Mechanisms have to be much more sophisticated, often more abstract, because you simply don't 1000 values ​​can be saved or manipulated as variables by a program. This generally leads to better developed and more elegant game ideas and concepts. "

Perhaps also because you can't just “patch” a board game in the way that is common practice with video games, says Schwanhäußer.

Nice Game Publishing?

Nice Publishing? You might have heard the name of the publisher, but maybe not yet. “Dragon Canyon”, “Fantasy Defense” and, most recently, “Vampire the Masquerade-Heritage” are three of the titles from the Bonn-based portfolio. They do not yet see themselves as established in the industry, although they have been active for around a decade. The boss describes it as follows: “We have been in the industry for a good decade now. I started around 2010 with an internship at the Taiwanese board game publisher Swan Panasia ”. Nice Game Publishing sees itself as an indie publisher and thus uses the term that in the games industry now increasingly stands for outstanding game quality. 

“So somehow I still see us as the lovable amateurs who just see what's going on,” said Schwanhäußer. "But of course some employees have joined us in the meantime and we had to and have to become a little more professional and also put a little more emphasis on making money." The main motivation for the publisher, however, is "the joy of trying new things and developing". It started with the Foundation of the online shop for games from Japan, Taiwan and Korea. It then continued with game releases, “where we tried out a wide variety of topics, materials and sales channels,” said the publisher. 

Vampire - The Masquerade: Heritage went over the counter until it was sold out in the meantime. Image: Nice Game

Vampire - The Masquerade: Heritage went over the counter until it was sold out in the meantime. Image: Nice Game

Nice Publishing currently has two bestsellers: “Since we are also trying our hand at distribution, we have bought“ Kluster ”a party game with magnets from our French partners for German distribution. This is a very simple game that is interesting for non-gamers as well, and it is selling very well at the moment. As for our own games, Vampire: The Masquerade - Heritage is our bestseller ”. The game has even sold out at the moment, adds the publisher. The title is a legacy game in the pen & paper role-playing game universe of Vampire: The Masquerade.

crowdfunding?

The board game Game of the Year is now to be crowdfunded via Kickstarter, which is a good way for an indie publisher. Criticism of the platform is growing, however, because large publishers sometimes use Kickstarter as a kind of covert online shop. Not so Nice Publishing, who love crowdfunding: “For us, crowdfunding is an integral part of the business model, especially for a game like Game of the Year. We simply cannot manage the realization of the project without this form of financing. "

That is a clear strength of crowdfunding: Original ideas and small developers get a real chance, says Simon Schwanhäußer. "It is all the more annoying when you then have to compete on Kickstarter with competitors for whom this is certainly not the case and who are ultimately measured by the same standards."

Many popular game genres are available to board gamers to turn their creation into a masterpiece. Image: Nice Game

Many popular game genres are available to board gamers to turn their creation into a masterpiece. Image: Nice Game

Another weak point is often called superficiality. "Visual design, beautiful minis and so on seem to count more than content," explains the CEO. “That's certainly true, somewhere. On the other hand, I keep thinking: There is no other way. How else should people orientate themselves? Therefore it is very important for us to try to work graphically well and to have a good presentation, even if we are not interested in making games with minis, for example. "

The funding amount is not yet final, but Simon Schwanhäußer is currently counting an amount somewhere between ten and twenty thousand euros for the campaign Game of the Year is expected to start on June 28th.


Preview Product Rating Price
V5 Vampire - The Masquerade: Rulebook V5 Vampire - The Masquerade: Rules * 49,95 EUR

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Game of the Year ist ein Brettspiel, bei dem es darum geht, ein Videospiel zu entwerfen. Mit dieser Idee will der Bonner Verlag Nice Game Publishing im Rahmen einer Crowdfunding-Kampagne auf Kickstarter bei den Spiele-Fans punkten. Zwei Welten spielerisch miteinander verbinden zu wollen, ist ambitioniert und gleichzeitig interessant. Zudem scheint man den nostalgischen Charme so mancher Games-Klassiker auf den heimischen Spieltisch bringen zu wollen. Die Finanzierungskampagne startet Ende Juni. 


Der Indie-Verlag Nice Game Publishing möchte ein Brettspiel auf den Markt bringen, das ausgerechnet auf die Videospielbranche als Setting setzt. Die simple Idee: Bis zu vier Spieler sollen das „Game of the Year“, das besten Videospiel des Jahres entwerfen. Wahlweise kann man den Titel übrigens auch im Solomodus spielen. Via Kickstarter will der Bonner Verlag das Projekt finanzieren. Los geht es mit der kickstarter-Kampagne zu Game of the Year am 28. Juni.

Brettspieler werden zu Videospieleentwicklern

Bei Game of the Year schlüpfen Brettspieler in die Rollen von Games-Developern, um ein Videospiel aus verschiedenen Elementen zu kreieren. Das zur grundlegenden Idee. Umgesetzt werden soll das auf dem Spieltisch, indem unterschiedliche Games-Faktoren, etwas Genres oder Features, zusammengesetzt werden, um darauf letztendlich ein Gesamtwerk zu erschaffen: das Spiel des Jahres. Gemeinsam mit Experten, die sich in der Geschichte der Videospiele auskennen, hat man das Brettspielkonzept erarbeitet – so soll es gelingen, den besonderen Charme so mancher Gaming-Titel einzufangen.

Ein Zwischenziel: Einen Hype aufbauen. Damit ist Game of the Year thematisch dicht dran an der Games-Branche, deren Akteure immer wieder aufs Neue genau das versuchen: Ein Videospiel so populär zu machen, dass die Marketingkampagne quasi ein Selbstläufer wird. Nicht selten gelingt das, nicht immer ist der Erfolg auf einen Hype allerdings auch nachhaltig. Mit Cyberpunk 2077 hatte CD Projekt Red jüngst bewiesen, wie zerbrechlich der Enthusiasmus der Fans für ein Spiel sein kann. Manchmal wird aus einem positiven Hype dann ein negativer. 

Aus verschiedenen Elementen setzen Spieler schrittweise ihr "Videospiel des Jahres" zusammen. Bild: Nice Game

Aus verschiedenen Elementen setzen Spieler schrittweise ihr „Videospiel des Jahres“ zusammen. Bild: Nice Game

Bei Game of the Year sollten Spieler das vermeiden und im Rahmen von Solopartien oder kooperativen oder kompetitiven Abläufen möglich alles richtig machen, um letztendlich ein Meisterwerk zu erschaffen. Jeder Spieldurchgang soll nach Angaben der Autoren einzigartig sein, garantieren will man das durch eine breite Palette an verschiedenen Spielelementen, aus denen sich das beste Spiel des Jahres zusammensetzt. 

Nicht zuletzt lebt dieses Brettspiel von der Nostalgie und dem Aufstieg der Games-Branche. Das verrät der CEO von Nice Publishing, Simon Schwanhäußer: „Als Kinder der 80er und 90er ist da ganz viel Nostalgie für uns mit dabei.“ Hinzu komme, dass es sich um ein „frisches Thema“ handele – für die Szene insgesamt, aber auch für Nice Publishing selbst.

„Unsere letzten Spiele hatten ja Post-Apokalypse, klassische Fantasy mit Orks und Elfen, sowie Vampire als Thema – Terrible Monster, Fantasy Defense, Vampire: Heritage – diesmal wollten wir einfach was ganz anderes“ erklärt der Verlagschef zu der Spielidee von Game of the Year. „Und trotzdem sind wir irgendwie Geeks. Und sowas kommt dann halt dabei heraus.“ Doch da ist mehr und zwar auf der Meta-Ebene. Schwanhäußer: „Wir lieben auch das Kreative und den Meta-Charakter des ganzen. Also die Tatsache dass wir in Game of the Year jetzt doch wieder Spiele über Orks, Elfen und Vampire machen können.“

Game of the Year: Seit zwei Jahren in Entwicklung

Ein Brettspiel zu einem Videospiel zu entwickeln, dauert seine Zeit – allerdings längst nicht so lange, wie es Videospiel zu entwickeln. „Das Spiel ist jetzt an die zwei Jahre in Entwicklung und hat sich dabei sehr verändert“, erzählt uns der Nice-Publishing-Geschäftsführer. „Wir haben mit dem Thema angefangen und nach und nach Mechanismen und Systeme erarbeitet, die das thematische Spielgefühl dass wir vermitteln wollen tragen können. Wir haben da durchaus auch geschaut, welche vergleichbaren Spiele im Videospielbereich existieren – da gibt es ja auch ein paar – und geschaut, was da funktioniert und was nicht.“ 

Das Brettspiel game of the Year richtet sich laut Nice Publishing in erster Linie an Fans, die auch gern Videospiele spielen – zockende Brettspieler also oder aber Videospieler, die einen Ausflug in die analoge Welt des Spielens wagen wollen. „Leute die große Augen bekommen, wenn sie diese ikonischen Spielecover der 90er sehen“, erklärt Simon Schwanhäußer zu der Zielgruppe. „Und solche, die gerne selbst kreativ sind und Spaß daran haben sich alberne Spielideen auszudenken.“

Verlagschef meint allerdings auch: „Das Spiel ist in erster Linie ein thematisches Spiel, wenn man jetzt ein reiner Eurogamer ist, der keinen Zufall und keine kreativen Elemente in seinen Spielen haben will, dann ist Game of the Year vielleicht nicht das Richtige.“   

Videospieler zu sein oder Videospiele mindestens zu mögen, ist eine gute Voraussetzung, um Spaß mit Game of the Year zu haben. Auch das Team hinter Nice Game spielt digital. „Christian, unser Art Director ist eher der Konsolenspieler“, meint Simon Schwanhäußer. „Als letztes hat er mir berichtet wie ihn Last of Us 2 geärgert hat.“

Aliens, Wikinger, Dinos und Co: Im Brettspiel findet sich vieles wieder, das man auch aus der digitalen Welt kennt. Bild: Nice Game

Aliens, Wikinger, Dinos und Co: Im Brettspiel findet sich vieles wieder, das man auch aus der digitalen Welt kennt. Bild: Nice Game

Simon selbst, ganz der knallharte, willensstarke Chef, hat den Absprung geschafft: „Ich habe früher auch Konsolen gehabt, aber ab Playstation 4 oder so bin ich ausgestiegen und spiele eigentlich nur noch am PC.“ In verlagsinternen Slack-Chat würden eigentlich regelmäßig die neuesten Spiele, die jemand gespielt hat, kurzrezensiert.

„Weil wir alle viel zu tun haben, sind das oft Spiele, die sich in kleinen Häppchen spielen lassen, also z.b. Roguelite-Kartenspiele wie Slay The Spire oder Monster Train. Oder halt Spiele die grade „im Gespräch“ sind, wie zeitweise Disco Elyisum oder – unvermeidlich – Cyberpunk 2077.“ Vor CD Projekts Reds Action-Rollenspiel wirft Schwanhäußer sich schützend: „Was ich übrigens – Achtung, kontroverse Meinung – trotz seiner Macken sehr gerne gespielt habe und woran ich die Kritik zumindest als PC-Spieler maßlos übertrieben finde.“

Simon Schwanhäußer selbst zockt natürlich auch analog: „Für mich sind Brettspiele als Ausgleich und als „Unplugged“-Erfahrung unglaublich wichtig, gerade in dieser immer digitaler werdenden Zeit.“ Selbst bei Solo-Spielen sei es etwas anderes, Würfel und Karten haptisch wahrzunehmen. „

Und mit Freunden wirklich physisch-nah zusammenzusitzen und sich über den Tisch auszutauschen ist einfach eine ganz andere Erfahrung als das Spielen übers Netz am Computer“. Wobei natürlich beides seine Daseinsberechtigung habe, so der Verlagschef.

„Aus der Sicht des Spiele-Machers gesprochen finde ich, Brettspiele haben auch noch andere spannende Eigenschaften, gerade im Vergleich zu Videospielen: Zum einen ist da die kreative Limitation durchs Material: Mechanismen müssen viel ausgefeilter sein, oft abstrakter, weil man einfach nicht die Möglichkeit hat 1000 Werte abzuspeichern oder als Variablen von einem Programm manipulieren zu lassen. Das führt im Allgemeinen zu besser herausgearbeiteten und eleganteren Spielideen und Konzepten.“

Vielleicht auch weil man ein Brettspiel nicht einfach so „patchen“ könne, wie es bei Videospielen ja gang und gäbe sei, so Schwanhäußer.

Nice Game Publishing?

Nice Publishing? Den Namen des Verlags könnte man gehört haben, vielleicht aber auch noch nicht. „Dragon Canyon“, „Fantasy Defense“ und zuletzt „Vampire the Masquerade- Heritage“ sind drei der Titel aus dem Portfolio der Bonner. Als in der Branche etabliert sehen sie sich noch nicht an, obwohl man bereits seit rund einem Jahrzehnt aktiv ist. Der Chef beschreibt es so: „Wir sind zwar inzwischen schon ein gutes Jahrzehnt in der Branche. Ich bin circa 2010 mit einem Praktikum beim taiwanesischen Brettspielverlag Swan Panasia eingestiegen“. Bei Nice Game Publishing sieht man sich als Indie-Verlag und nutzt damit jenen Begriff, der in der Games-Branche inzwischen immer häufiger für herausragende Spielequalität steht. 

„Ich sehe uns also irgendwie weiterhin als die liebenswerten Amateure die einfach mal schauen was geht“, so Schwanhäußer. „Aber natürlich sind inzwischen einige Mitarbeiter dazugekommen und wir mussten und müssen notgedrungen etwas professioneller werden und auch etwas mehr Augenmerk aufs Geldverdienen legen.“ Die Hauptmotivation des Verlags besteht dennoch darin, „die Freude daran, neue Dinge auszuprobieren und uns weiter zu entwickeln“. Begonnen habe das mit der Gründung des Onlineshops für Spiele aus Japan, Taiwan und Korea. Weiter ging es anschließend mit Spieleveröffentlichungen, „wo wir die verschiedensten Themen, Materialien und auch Vertriebswege ausprobiert haben“, so der Verlagschef. 

Vampire - The Masquerade: Heritage ist bis zum zwischenzeitlichen Ausverkauf über die Ladentheke gegangen. Bild: Nice Game

Vampire – The Masquerade: Heritage ist bis zum zwischenzeitlichen Ausverkauf über die Ladentheke gegangen. Bild: Nice Game

Zwei Bestseller hat Nice Publishing derzeit: „Da wir uns grade auch am Vertrieb versuchen, haben wir „Kluster“ ein Partyspiel mit Magneten von unseren französischen Partnern für den deutschen Vertrieb eingekauft. Das ist ein sehr simples Spiel, das auch für Nichtspieler interessant ist und es verkauft sich im Moment sehr gut. Was unsere eigenen Spiele angeht ist Vampire: The Masquerade – Heritage unser Bestseller“. Das Spiel seit sogar im Moment ausverkauft, fügt der Verlagschef hinzu. Es handelt sich bei dem Titel um ein Legacy-Spiel im Pen&Paper-Rollenspiel-Universum von Vampire: The Masquerade.

Crowdfunding?

Das Brettspiel Game of the Year soll nun via Kickstarter als Crowdfunding finanziert werden, für einen Indie-Verlag ist das ein guter Weg. Die Kritik an der Plattform wächst jedoch, weil mitunter große Verlage Kickstarter als eine Art verdeckten Online-Shop nutzen. Nicht so Nice Publishing, die das Thema Crowdfunding leben: „Für uns ist Crowdfunding ein integraler Bestandteil des Geschäftsmodells, insbesondere für ein Spiel wie Game of the Year. Wir können die Realisation des Projekts ohne diese Form der Finanzierung schlicht nicht stemmen.“

Das sei eine klare Stärke von Crowdfunding: Originelle Ideen und kleine Entwickler bekämen eine echte Chance, freut sich Simon Schwanhäußer. „Umso ärgerlicher ist es, wenn man dann auf Kickstarter mit Wettbewerbern konkurrieren muss, für die das sicherlich nicht der Fall ist und letztlich mit den selben Maßstäben gemessen wird.“

Viele beliebte Games-Genres stehen Brettspielern zur Verfügung, um aus ihrer Kreation ein Meisterwerk zu machen. Bild: Nice Game

Viele beliebte Games-Genres stehen Brettspielern zur Verfügung, um aus ihrer Kreation ein Meisterwerk zu machen. Bild: Nice Game

Als weiterer Schwachpunkt werde oft die Oberflächlichkeit genannt. „Visuelle Gestaltung, schöne Minis und so weiter scheinen mehr zu zählen als Inhalte“, erklärt der CEO. „Das stimmt sicherlich, irgendwo. Andererseits denke ich dann auch immer wieder: Es geht halt nicht anders. Woran sollen sich die Leute denn sonst orientieren? Daher ist es für uns schon auch sehr wichtig zu versuchen grafisch gut zu arbeiten und eine gute Präsentation zu haben, auch wenn wir selbst kein Interesse daran haben z.B. Spiele mit Minis zu machen.“

Die Finanzierungssumme ist noch nicht final, allerdings rechnet Simon Schwanhäußer derzeit mit einem Betrag irgendwo zwischen zehn- und zwanzigtausend Euro Die Kampagne zu Game of the Year startet voraussichtlich am 28. Juni.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
V5 Vampire - Die Maskerade: Regelwerk V5 Vampire - Die Maskerade: Regelwerk * 49,95 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 12.06.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API