The Bloober team has postponed the release of the horror game The Medium. The developers cite the corona situation in Poland as the reasons, but also the month of December. Although no title is explicitly named, it can be assumed that one is referring to CD Projekt Reds Cyberpunk 2077.


It could have been so scary in a short time, now horror fans have to wait a month longer. Like the Bloober Team, responsible for games like Layers of Fear or Observer system Redux, announced the release of The Medium has been postponed.

Covid-19 and “other games on the market” are to blame!

As understandable reasons for the postponement, the developers give on the one hand the current Covid-19 situation in Poland and on the other hand the December schedule for “other games on the market”. In particular, the Bloober team does not name a competitor, but it can still be assumed that they are looking towards Cyberpunk 2077. Last were postponed two more projects with Everspace 2 and a Path of Exile patch.

The "Dual Reality", through which players can explore an environment in two completely different forms, should be of particular interest. Image: Bloober Team

The “dual reality”, through which players can explore an environment in two completely different forms, should be of particular interest. Image: Bloober Team

The reasons for the postponement of the release are also understandable from an economic point of view, after all, The Medium is the Bloober team's most ambitious project to date. Because you rightly hope for good sales, you probably don't want to trip yourself up: competing with what is currently the most anticipated video game Cyberpunk 2077 hardly seems to be a good strategy.

After all, the developers want to use the extra time to work on The Medium. The Bloober team itself speaks of its psychological horror game as a "groundbreaking vision for the genre". It should not be quiet about The Medium after the announcement of the postponement until the release: They want to continue to feed fans with information about the video game. Last appeared a pretty creepy trailer for The Medium.

The game is available for PC-Steam and Xbox Series X or Xbox Series S can already be pre-ordered, but will also be part of the Game Pass. The game should now be released on January 28, 2021.


Preview Product Rating Price
Sony PlayStation 5 Sony Playstation 5* 694,00 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Bloober Team hat den Release des Horror-Spiels The Medium verschoben. Als Gründe nennen die Entwickler die Corona-Lage in Polen, aber auch den Veröffentlichungsmonat Dezember. Zwar wird kein Titel explizit namentlich genannt, es ist jedoch davon auszugehen, dass man sich auf CD Projekt Reds Cyberpunk 2077 bezieht.


Es hätte in Kürze so schön gruselig werden können, nun müssen Horror-Fans sich noch einen Monat länger gedulden. Wie das Bloober Team, unter anderem verantwortlich für Spiele wie Layers of Fear oder Observer- System Redux, bekannt gegeben haben, wurde der Release von The Medium nach hinten verschoben.

Covid-19 und „other Games on the market“ sind schuld!

Als nachvollziehbare Gründe für die Verschiebung geben die Entwickler einerseits die aktuelle Covid-19-Situation in Polen an, andererseits auch den Dezember-Zeitplan für „andere Spiele auf dem Markt“. Namentlich nennt das Bloober Team damit keinen Konkurrenten, dennoch ist stark davon auszugehen, dass man Richtung Cyberpunk 2077 blickt. Zuletzt wurden mit Everspace 2 und einem Path of Exile-Patch zwei weitere Projekte verschoben.

Interessant dürfte vor allem die "Dual Reality" werden, durch die Spieler eine Umgebung in zwei völlig unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen erkunden können. Bild: Bloober Team
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Interessant dürfte vor allem die „Dual Reality“ werden, durch die Spieler eine Umgebung in zwei völlig unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen erkunden können. Bild: Bloober Team

Die Gründe für die Release-Verschiebung sind auch aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht nachvollziehbar, immerhin handelt es sich bei The Medium um das bislang ambitionierteste Projekt des Bloober Teams. Weil man zurecht auf gute Verkaufszahlen hofft, möchte man sich vermutlich ungern selbst ein Bein stellen: mit dem derzeit wahrscheinlich am meisten erwarteten Videospiel Cyberpunk 2077 zu konkurrieren, scheint da kaum eine gute Strategie zu sein.

Immerhin wollen die Entwickler die hinzugewonnene Zeit nutzen, um an The Medium zu arbeiten. Das Bloober Team selbst spricht von seinem Psycho-Horror-Spiel als eine „für das Genre wegweisende Vision“. Ruhig werden soll es um The Medium nach nach Ankündigung der Verschiebung bis zur Veröffentlichung nicht: Man will Fans auch weiterhin mit Informationen zum Videospiel füttern. Zuletzt erschien ein ziemlich grusliger Trailer zu The Medium.

Das Spiel kann für PC-Steam und Xbox Series X bzw. Xbox Series S bereits vorbestellt werden, wird aber auch Bestandteil des Game Pass sein. Erscheinen soll das Spiel nun am 28. Januar 2021.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 19.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API