The cinema is currently not in good order due to the Corona situation: the movie theaters have closed, film releases have been postponed in many cases, as have the productions. Added to this is the strong competition from streaming providers, who not only defy the pandemic situation, but also report record numbers.


To make matters worse, the director of the renowned Oberhausen International Short Film Festival, Lars Henrik Gass, has spoken out and warned of the destruction of the cinema: "If we do not act quickly now, there will be nothing left of the cinema that needs to be preserved" , said Gass to the Berlin daily newspaper “nd.Der Tag”.

Cinema: Audience numbers plummeted over the years

Lars Henrik Gass comments: "Even before the Corona, people tried to save the business models of film at the expense of the cinemas." The number of viewers has plummeted dramatically over the past few years.

Should cinemas open in the spring, the new offshoot of James Bond should have attracted visitors to the cinemas. However, the film launch was postponed again.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Attendance at the cinema has steadily decreased over the past few decades. According to Statista figures, around 180 million visitors per year streamed into German cinemas at the turn of the millennium, in 2019 it was only 113 million and thus significantly fewer.

The distributors are also doing their part in the demise of the cinema: The big film studios such as Disney and Warner have been increasing the rental fee for their films for years, which has the consequence of the big blockbusters that attract the most visitors to the cinemas Profit per ticket is the lowest. After further deductions such as the FFA tax, Gema fees and the operating and administrative costs incurred, the bottom line is that the cinema operator has a profit of around 1,72 euros. That emerges from a Handelsblatt interview with marketing and media professor Detlef Bell. In addition, there is falling advertising income and the increasing competition from Netflix and Co.

The cinemas have been struggling for years with declining visitor numbers and ever smaller profit margins. While cinema chains can often save themselves, the independent film temples are hit hard: In particular, smaller program and art house cinemas fear for their existence in the Corona crisis.

Gass advocates a “museumization” of the cinema, the transfer into public hands. One must separate economic and cultural funding, i.e. decouple the cinema from the film market and make it a good of public culture. Gass also sharply criticized German film funding, which urgently needs reform. In its current form it produces neither economically nor artistically satisfactory results, but only mediocrity.

Um das Kino ist es derzeit aufgrund der Corona-Lage nicht gut bestellt: Die Lichtspielhäuser haben geschlossen, Filmstarts wurden vielfach verschoben, ebenso die Produktionen. Hinzu kommt die starke Konkurrenz durch Streaming-Anbieter, die der pandemischen Lage nicht nur trotzen, sondern Rekordzahlen melden.


Zu allem Übel hat sich nun der Leiter der renommierten Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, Lars Henrik Gass,  zu Wort gemeldet und vor der Zerstörung des Kinos gewarnt: „Wenn wir jetzt nicht zügig handeln, bleibt nichts mehr vom Kino übrig, was es zu bewahren gäbe“, sagte Gass gegenüber der in Berlin erscheinenden Tageszeitung „nd.Der Tag“.

Kino: Zuschauerzahlen über Jahre dramatisch eingebrochen

Lars Henrik Gass kommentiert: „Schon vor Corona versuchte man, die Geschäftsmodelle des Films zu Lasten der Kinos zu retten.“ Die Zuschauerzahlen seien über die vergangenen Jahre dramatisch eingebrochen.

Dürften Kinos im Frühjahr öffnen, hätte der neue Ableger von James Bond Besucher in die Kino locken sollen. Der Filmstart wurde allerdings erneut verschoben.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Kinobesuche hätten in den letzten Jahrzehnten kontinuierlich abgenommen. Nach Zahlen von Statista strömten zur Jahrtausendwende noch rund 180 Millionen Besucher pro Jahr in die deutschen Kinos, 2019 waren es nur noch 113 Millionen und damit deutlich weniger.

Auch auch die Verleiher tragen ihren Teil zum Untergang des Kinos bei: Die großen Filmstudios wie Disney und Warner erhöhen seit Jahren die Verleih-Gebühr für ihre Filme, was zur Folge hat das gerade bei den großen Blockbustern welche die meisten Besucher in die Kinos locken der Gewinn pro Ticket am geringsten ist. Nach weiteren Abzügen wie die FFA-Abgabe, Gema-Gebühren sowie den anfallenden Betriebs- und Verwaltungskosten, bleibt dem Kinobetreiber unterm Strich ein Gewinn von etwa 1,72 Euro. Das geht aus einem Handelsblatt-Interview mit Marketing- und Medienprofessor Detlef Bell hervor. Hinzu kommen sinkende Werbeeinnahmen und die immer größer werdende Konkurrenz durch Netflix und Co.

Die Kinos haben also seit Jahren mit rückläufigen Besucherzahlen bei immer kleiner werdenden Gewinnspannen zu kämpfen. Während Kino-Ketten sich oft retten können, trifft es die unabhängigen Filmtempel hart: Insbesondere kleinere Programm- und Arthouse Kinos fürchten in der Corona-Krise um ihre Existenz.

Gass plädiert für eine „Musealisierung“ des Kinos, die Überführung in öffentliche Hand. Man müsse Wirtschafts- und Kulturförderungen trennen, also das Kino vom Filmmarkt entkoppeln und zu einem Gut der öffentlichen Kultur machen. Scharf kritisierte Gass auch die deutsche Filmförderung, die dringend reformiert gehöre. In der jetzigen Form bringe sie weder wirtschaftlich noch künstlerisch befriedigende Ergebnisse, sondern nur Mittelmaß hervor.